We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional view and value!”
Review of Seawall Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seawall Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional view and value!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Dave and Vicki, owners of the Seawall, have a warm, friendly, and wonderfully humorous approach to their guests at the Seawall. We always look forward to the morning gatherings for continental breakfast, where folks share stories about themselves and advice about what to do in the area. If you love the sound of the ocean waves breaking, crack your window open; if you love walking along state forest trails, just start strolling because the Seawall borders Acadia Park. It's a perfectly wonderful, no hassle, relaxing place to stay and return to every year!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annafuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    83
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
138
149
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Casco, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

I hate to write this review because I would like to keep this place all to myself, but I will be nice and share! This place is on the quiet side of the island--my favorite side! It's a hop, skip, and a safe jump across the road to the ocean. Spectacular views! I was nervous , at first, because there wasn't any AC, but the ocean breeze at night kept the room a comfortable temperature. The rooms were basic, but great! Comfortable and VERY clean. Dave, Vickie, and Mindy owners/managers??? were extremely friendly and accommodating. They were also knowledgable and helpful when it came to hiking, eating, playing, etc... on the island. The breakfast was great too! You can tell they put a lot of care into the prep. of the breakfast! Great price! Great place! Great people! Sold!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jurassika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We love this motel. This is the second time we've stayed there and Dave and Vicki make it feel like you're staying at a friend's home. They sit and talk to you, and when we had some car trouble, they talked it over with us and found a car dealer we could call on the land line. Don't expect to have good cell service, though. Many places on Mount Desert Island (pronounced like "deserted," not the sandy place) offer poor cell reception. The breakfast was better this time, with cereal, yogurt, toast, hard boiled eggs, etc., and the opened-up lobby is little more spacious for breakfast. We loved talking to Frank, a local retired lobsterman who joined us in the morning and filled us in on the local color and his experiences. The room is spacious and clean (we had the two bed room) and the seawall is something to see and explore. It is right across the road from the motel. The view of the ocean can be seen from the window and the balcony. There is no air conditioning (and it can get warm), elevator, or refrigerators in the rooms. There is a heater for cool nights, which we did have this time. Dave will give you a cooler, if you need one, and there is an ice machine. We brought our own cooler, so it worked fine. Bring your mosquito spray! The mosquito is both the State bird and the Maine welcoming committee and they had a bumper crop this year (June 2012).

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor for a better ocean view. Bring a cooler to keep drinks cold. Prices...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

What a find the Seawall Motel was for us. We have travelled to Acadia several times, but this was our first time staying here--we will not stay anywhere else from now on.

The Motel is locate right at the natural seawall on the "quiet side" of the island. Our room on the 2nd floor gave us an amazing view of the ocean. My wife and I jogged along the ocean and into the national park every morning. We walked along the seawll as the sun set with our children. Watched a summer thunder storm roll in at night from our chairs on the second floor deck. Beautiful. The room itself was comfortable and immaculate. Everything was spotless, and we passed four very restful nights there. The people are also great. The owners, Dave and Vicki, are friendly, welcoming, and helpful. Every morning over breakfast, Dave gave us some helpful tips on places to visit or hikes to take. We were also travelling with our three younger kids (7, 9, 10), and they were made to feel very welcomed. In fact, when were leaving it was like leaving friends that we have known for years. I would also be remiss if I fail to mention one of the Motel's other attractions--Speed Bump the cat. He was a major celebrity with our kids, and they looked forward to seeing him every morning and evening.

We could not have asked for a better base camp to explore the park from for the five days we were in Acadia. The Seawall Motel is truly on the quiet side, away from the touristy bustle of Bar Harbor with its cruise ships and t-shirt shops. Yet, it's only a 25 minute drive along beautiful roads to get there. I can certainly see why the Seawall Motel has so many return visitors. We are already looking forward to going back next year.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms, but rooms on the second floor have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My wife and I have been traveling up and down the coast of Maine since 2005. One of our "must stop places to be is at the Sea Wall Motel on the "quite side" of Mt Desert Island. Nestled along the natural seawall in Southwest Harbor ME its become our home away from home. Dave and Vicki Lloyd our hosts, have created one of the most unique dynamics for the traveler in all of Maine. The hospitality of your hosts, the cleanliness of the room and remarkable view is something that I would highly recommend to anyone traveling in the Bar Harbor/ Mt Desert Island area.

Room Tip: The cozy atmosphere and wonderful continental breakfast each morning is a great way to start each da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Brookfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Dave & Vickie are the most genuine hosts along with their Daughter Morgan. We have been coming to the Seawall Motel for a dozen years and are never let down with the friendlyness and real interest they give you. The area is beautiful and coming once is not enough time to see everything.But Dave & Vickie will help you at anytime.Forget about hotels with pools and spas. Dave & Vickie will more than make your stay a genuine experience. The rooms are big and clean and reasonally priced. Oh don't forget to see and say hi to Speedbump the Cat.

Room Tip: top floor has the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mainecoastlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The positives for us: very nice owners, location is walking distance from the ocean, room is big, and breakfast is nice.

Things to be aware of: the walls are thin, while it is close to the ocean, it is a drive to Bar Harbor and the park loop in Acadia, bed isn't that comfortable.

We had a few other issues with our room, but I have a feeling they were not common to the property and the owner was very accomodating.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diswish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
3.4 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
90 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
191 reviews
10.8 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#28 of 41 in Bar Harbor
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
651 reviews
11.0 mi away
Highbrook Motel
Highbrook Motel
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
813 reviews
4.2 mi away
Asticou Inn
Asticou Inn
#1 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seawall Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seawall Motel

Property: Seawall Motel
Address: 566 Seawall Rd, Route 102A, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Southwest Harbor
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seawall Motel is located on the quietside of Mount Desert Island in the Southwest Harbor area. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Motel borders the Seawall entrance to Acadia National Park. It adjoins a pine forest and a fresh water pond which provides ample opportunities for birdwatching and scenic photography. The Seawall is a naturally occurring granite, loose boulder and rock seawall with easy shore walks and tide pools to explore. There is a picnic area to watch the waves crash on the rugged shoreline and a spot to watch the sunrise over the Great Cranberry Island. On a clear night, it is one of the best places in the country for stargazing. Just beyond the scenic areas, you'll approach two of the many walking trails of Acadia National Park: Ship Harbor and Wonderland. Each is less than a two-mile hike along the ocean and nature trails. A short drive from these trails is the Bass Harbor Lighthouse that has been guiding mariners with its light since 1858. The dramatic setting, especially at sunset, is a photographer's dream. The Seawall Motel sits directly across from the famed seawall and close proximity to many activities of what the park has to offer. It is a two-story Motel with free Wi-Fi, in-room phones, cable TV and complimentary continental breakfast. These budget-friendly motels has twenty spacious, comfortable, and exquisitely clean rooms with a choice of two-queens or king size beds. A community room is available for all guests to use which includes the vending and ice machine, refrigerator, microwave, and coin-operated laundry machines. The free Island Explorer Shuttle can be accessed from our parking lot for easy travel to restaurants and shops in downtown Southwest Harbor, and to many other locations on the island. Top-rated in TripAdvisor, the Seawall Motel is the perfect place for your Maine vacation! Enjoy the beautiful scenery, the wonderful staff, and freshly brewed coffee ready for you every morning! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seawall Hotel Southwest Harbor
Seawall Motel Maine/Southwest Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing