We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Trip to the Birches B&B...why consider anywhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Trip to the Birches B&B...why consider anywhere else”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I took a long awaited trip to BH with my son's best friend Peach late last month; we stayed 5 nights here and man what a bonus it was for our trip. The place is beautiful, well maintained and Suzi and Mike are extremely knowledgeable and most accommodating. Why would any one consider staying anywhere else is a wonder to me! Agreed, totally, that Suzi is a wealth of knowledge and she knows everybody to get you the best experience in any list of activities that you might consider. We were witness to her managing a wedding on our weekend and she masterfully executed a wonderful and dry wedding experience for all thanks to her savvy weather insights and computer know-how in being able to watch some quickly moving squalls that could have caused major wedding mayhem. Her caretaker Mike is also a unique character and makes enjoying the to-die-for breakfasts all the better with his insights, stories and general know how. We became good friends with both Suzi and Mike and I find myself thinking often about our fabulous trip to The Birches B&B and my thoughts always return to a mental image of the two of them sitting with us in the breakfast room or greeting us in the kitchen at night after returning from a long day in the park. One just doesn't have such a wonderful experience without folks like this taking you in. By the way, the lobster omelette was totally gourmet and yummy, but the bacon was the talk of a good part of our first day's hike....bacon cooked with such evenness and crispiness just doesn't happen like this. The location in this part of BH is quiet and more upscale but still has great access to the airport, Acadia NP and other important spots and activities. I am headed back asap with the rest of the family and a few others for sure. In addition to the main house, Suzi has a separate house on the property that sleeps up to 12 with kitchen, multiple bedrooms and living areas and fireplace...I have my eye on this place for round two!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    8
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
75
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was our third stay and as always it was like coming home. Suzie and Mike are helpful hosts, the property is down home Maine, and we learned a lot from Suzie, making our trip even better. We had stayed there when her parents, Rocky and Dick, were hosts and like her parents Suzie has stories galore to share. Suzie should really write a book about her experiences and life in Acadia. Suzie and Mike were very accommodating when some of our party had to leave very early. A hearty breakfast was on the table giving them a good sendoff. Ask for her blueberry pancakes with home made apple syrup...wonderful. She knows the best places to eat and willingly shares her information with her guests.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both the ocean room and the garden room, and liked them both. The Garden room has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTraveler1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This B & B, so close to Acadia National Park is owned and hosted by Suzie who should be a history professor. Suzie is a wealth of knowledge regarding Acadia and New England as a whole.
Her breakfasts are gourmet, i.e. lobster omelette, and the spacious room she gave us, the "Turret," provided views of the Atlantic Ocean and a wedding garden. If you go to visit Acadia National Park, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqueburden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We recently stayed at Birches during a tour of Maine. It is a lovely old cozy summer home. I would have loved to been a guest there "back in the day". I am a sucker for anything vintage and am grateful to Suzi for sharing her family's home and history with us. She and Mike are warm, welcoming and very knowledgeable about points of interest on MDI, Acadia, Bar Harbor, etc. Suzi really knows the area very well! She has all sorts of maps and books of the area for loan to help you find your way around. The location cant be beat; it is super quiet here. The garden is beautiful as are the views of the harbor.
I was very encouraged by the excellent reviews here on TA and attempted to make reservations several months prior to our actual stay. It took several phone calls to accomplish this and I finally was assisted by a person named Danielle. She stated that we would be put in a room that had recently been redone and then took my VISA number. I later talked to Suzi who confirmed this. I had also looked on the website at the options and knew that any room but the one that had the Victorian sleeping porch would be fine. I called about two weeks before our arrival to confirm reservations and Mike told me we had the Garden room. I thought this must be the name of,the one they had just remodeled/redone and didnt think any more about it. Upon our arrival, Suzi showed me our room while my husband unloaded luggage. She took me to the room with the sleeping porch; the room I never wanted to begin with!! A few minutes later we mentioned this to Mike and he said he had in writing that I wanted the Garden room. Obviously, there was a miscommunication somewhere and I accept that it could have been on my end. Just make sure you are very clear which room you want and get WRITTEN confirmation of it! Either one of the harbor view rooms were much nicer (IMHO) than the Garden room. We were not at liberty to change rooms or "upgrade" as they were booked full for the time we were there. It was an acceptable, very spacious room overlooking a parking area, not the harbor. It is also in need of an overhaul, which apparently Suzi is planning to do soon.
There was an acceptable level of basic cleanliness in our room and throughout the common areas.
Breakfasts were adequate and special requests were cheerfully met by Suzi/Mike. We enjoyed chatting with other guests during breakfast, but an earlier start time with coffee available even earlier would be great!
Despite the little glitch with our room reservation, we had a relaxing, enjoyable time here. It is, indeed, a special place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brodiebirdUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Birches has it all. A knockout view, a beautiful garden setting, great breakfasts, a comfortable bed and Susi and Mike. Susi has been in the area for a long time and knows all the local history and places to see. Mike is quick with a joke and ever-helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for either of them. Mike took me for a round of golf at the nearby course.

Room Tip: We had the garden room. Quite nice. But the front rooms have the best outlook over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, RI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The whole experience from beginning to end was wonderful. Our hosts made us feel very welcome and provided us with fantastic breakfasts. Their knowledge about nature and hiking trails in Acadia NP added an invaluable service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Friends highly recommended this place when we told them we were going to visit Acadia NP. It turned out to be right on the money. Great location on a secluded lane in Bar Harbor's sleepy cousin. The innkeeper, Susi, was very knowledgeable and helpful in restaurant suggestions and in what to do in our limited time at Acadia. She even directed us to a nice place to walk from the inn on to shake off the road rust from our long drive. She asked what kind of food we wanted, and I told her our main interest was a quiet restaurant with good food. She scored with both recommendations -- neither restaurant played recorded music, and we could actually converse over our dinners.

Our friends had hoped that by using their names we would be served the lobster omelet for breakfast, and their hopes were realized. The next morning's breakfast wasn't too shabby either. Overall, everything we could have asked for in a place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
1.1 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
8.5 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
8.9 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Birches Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Birches Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Birches Bed and Breakfast
Address: 46 Fernald Point Rd, PO Box 178, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Southwest Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homer family proudly wants to invite interested visitors to stay at their family homestead, which consists of 6 acres of panoramic ocean frontage in beautiful Southwest Harbor, Maine. Enjoy large airy rooms, private baths, ocean views, gardens, and the croquet court. We have 6 acres of grounds, no traffic noise, and it is just 350 yards to the first tee at the golf course. Along with The Birches Bed and Breakfast is The Cottage at The Birches, located a few hundred feet away which is available for weekly rentals. Acadia National Park is beside us and it is a short walk to the start of the trails to Valley Cove and the mountains. We are open year-round, accepting reservations for a two night minimum. When you come to our beautiful bed and breakfast you will not want to leave after seeing what we have to offer. Located in Southwest Harbor, Maine we are right next to mountains, as well as on the waterfront. We have a private beach for our guests to enjoy on the waterfront and you can come by water or land to get to us. If you are coming from farther away and you have a boat, you can bring that along also as we have a dock available. At our bed and breakfast, some specialties of ours are accommodating family reunions and intimate weddings. We also want you to come to relax, enjoy, and unwind, no matter what the occasion is. You will not be disappointed with your choice, as we have a lovely property with extraordinary gardens that have been featured on garden tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Birches Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Birches Bed And Breakfast Maine/Southwest Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing