We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful place, great innkeepers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week stay at The Birches and had a wonderful time. The property is beautiful, the location is great (we were so happy we stayed at Southwest Harbor), and Suzie and Michael are wonderful hosts. They know the island really well, offer great suggestions, take an interest in their guests, and go out of their way to make sure that your stay is pleasant. Breakfast is great, too. Our stay at The Birches really added to our vacation and we hope to get back there soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 135 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our stay at the birches was wonderful. The rooms themselves were lovely and extremely comfortable, and the location was great - easy walk to Southwest Harbor and close to a lot of great spots in Acadia. However, the proprietors made the entire experience - Susie and Mike treated us like family, made sure we had everything we needed, and kept us happy and extremely well fed. They also helped us get the most out of our stay by recommending some awesome day trips. Their knowledge of the area can't be beat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

There is very little we can say that hasn't been said in these many 5 star reviews. Susi's breakfasts alone are worth the visit! And she will spend as much time with you as you wish discussing restaurants, day trips, points of interest...or just chatting! There are several houses on the property and we and our friends stayed in one of them, an architectural gem with great views of forest and ocean, lovely gardens, a large deck, comfortable amenities, 2 comfortable bedrooms & a bunkroom, study, and a living/dining/kitchen well furnished...could not have been nicer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TZBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Just got home from a New England tour that culminated in a stay at The Birches. It's an open and comfortable home in a quiet location away from vacation traffic but close to all you want to do. Susie and Mike are gracious, helpful, funny as can be, and very knowledgeable about every nook and cranny of Mount Desert Island. So go stay with them and do what they say! You won't regret it! We will visit again for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We went from 3 nights to 5 and then 8 total. Just could not get enough of the clean, the character, the site, the gardens, the view, the tea, the delicious breakfasts, the quiet. You would think that the pouring rain might have put a damper on our trip, but Susi and Mike kept giving us great tips on how to tweak our plans to get the most out of every day here. Thank goodness we listened! We don't like to think of ourselves as demanding, but they did so many nice things for us that we felt completely comfortable here in a way I have never felt in a B&B before. Always there to help but never in your way. Nearly a spiritual experience with so much natural beauty inside and out. You just have to go if you possibly can. The owner innkeeper Susi and staff are super!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chimneyswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

All hail Susie! The owner and inn keeper of The Birches is a perfect hostess whose energy permeates the inn. The décor is eclectic and full of New England history.The rooms are inviting and cozy, with views of the beautiful grounds that lead down to the bay. And the breakfasts are delicious--buckwheat pancakes with maple syrup and sausage was unforgettable.
Susie is a wealth of information about the area and has created a wonderful retreat in a magical setting.
We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Our second visit to the Birches with friends in September was just as good as our first in June. The breakfasts were gourmet and our accommodations, this time in the house, were excellent with a big porch looking out on the water. This friendly, super clean, and beautiful B&B is in quiet Southwest Harbor which is our favorite town in Acadia National Park. We know we'll be back soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet and the Wi-Fi reaches everywhere.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBirchesBB, Owner at The Birches Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Hi Linda,

Was looking through the reviews and saw you'd written about The Birches, not once, but twice. Dick, Mike and I thank you for your kind words, it was such fun having you with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Hope you are weathering the snow. Best regards, Susi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
8.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
8.6 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 42 in Bar Harbor
390 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 42 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B
Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B
#3 of 29 in Bar Harbor
639 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Harbour Cottage Inn
The Harbour Cottage Inn
#2 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
301 reviews
1.6 mi away
Colonel's Suites
Colonel's Suites
#1 of 3 in Northeast Harbor
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Birches Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Birches Bed and Breakfast

Address: 46 Fernald Point Rd, PO Box 178, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Southwest Harbor
Price Range: $204 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homer family proudly wants to invite interested visitors to stay at their family homestead, which consists of 6 acres of panoramic ocean frontage in beautiful Southwest Harbor, Maine. Enjoy large airy rooms, private baths, ocean views, gardens, and the croquet court. We have 6 acres of grounds, no traffic noise, and it is just 350 yards to the first tee at the golf course. Along with The Birches Bed and Breakfast is The Cottage at The Birches, located a few hundred feet away which is available for weekly rentals. Acadia National Park is beside us and it is a short walk to the start of the trails to Valley Cove and the mountains. We are open year-round, accepting reservations for a two night minimum. When you come to our beautiful bed and breakfast you will not want to leave after seeing what we have to offer. Located in Southwest Harbor, Maine we are right next to mountains, as well as on the waterfront. We have a private beach for our guests to enjoy on the waterfront and you can come by water or land to get to us. If you are coming from farther away and you have a boat, you can bring that along also as we have a dock available. At our bed and breakfast, some specialties of ours are accommodating family reunions and intimate weddings. We also want you to come to relax, enjoy, and unwind, no matter what the occasion is. You will not be disappointed with your choice, as we have a lovely property with extraordinary gardens that have been featured on garden tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Birches Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Birches Bed And Breakfast Maine/Southwest Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing