We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“what a find!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

we are so happy to have spent some of our time in Maine at The Birches. Everything was perfect. The owner, Susie, made sure all of our needs were met, and that all of our expectations for touring the island were fulfilled. The birches tops our list of favorite B&B's

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    8
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
77
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Freeland, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at The Birches. With two kids, ages 11 and 13, the wonderful screened in "sleeping porch" attached to our room was terrific! They had their own space but were still part of our room. We picked blueberries on the way down to the water where critters can be found when the tide goes out. The breakfasts were delicious and we loved enjoying them with the beautiful view of the water. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: The Garden room is large and best of all it has a wonderful screened in "sleeping porch".
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharyl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Birches is one of those unique inns that has somehow remained a secret. I had researched where the best place on Mount Desert Island would Be to go for peace and to serve as a base for exploring Acadia. When my wife and I arrived for a four night stay last month, we knew we had found it. This is a beautiful old summer house set up on ahill overlooking expansive lawns to the harbor. From our bed we could sit and gaze out on the water. We would have stayed there all morning except for knowing we had a delicious breakfast waiting downstairs. Always started with fresh fruit followed by a sumptuous masterpiece so that we usually didn't have to eat lunch. Also, the inn is a mile off the highway on a small road so is away from all crowds. The only negative we found was that this being an old house, you could hear noise in the hall and downstairs at times. This might bother some, but the overall peace and solitude of the Birches Far outweighed having a little noise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDS5457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Visiting a B&B in Maine was on our bucket list and staying at the Birches was the perfect choice. Being from the Midwest where friendliness is valued, we were charmed by the Down east hospitality and love shown by Susi, Dick, their friends, and staff. The ocean view from our bedroom windows awed us. We loved the spacious, home-like accommodations and the yummy happy hour snacks and hearty breakfasts. Mostly we enjoyed the delightful chats around the table, on the couches, or in the lovely garden area where we were made to feel like valued family members. We highly recommend staying at the Birches and plan to hopefully return some day.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Warm and friendly approach by the proprieters. Delicious and ample breakfasts. Amazing view
and comfortable seating on the lawn. Enjoyed all interactions with other visitors. Many books to
peruse. Lots of helpful visitor brochures.

Room Tip: N/a,all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We arrived at the Birches and felt immediately at home. The welcome from Susie was outstanding and we felt like we had become part of the family for the short time we were there. The situation of the house is stunning and everything in it is designed for comfort and relaxation. Even toys for the children. The room was spacious and had wonderful views to the water. In the morning Susie made the most amazing breakfasts we have ever seen and the menu changed every day. As we only stayed two nights, we asked for advice on what to see. Susie took the time to design a whole itinerary, starting with a walk before breakfast and ending with sunset at Cadillac Mt. She even booked us in locally for dinner! We felt very privileged to share our time in this lovely place with such hospitable people in such a beautiful place. You could not find a better place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gertie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new london, CT usa
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2012

June 17 - 18, 2012 We were the guests of Susi and Dick Homer in their comfortable family home on the water in Southwest Harbor, Maine. We, two couples, arrived to be greeted warmly by Susi Homer, "Welcome to our home!" Our rooms were appointed with everything a guest could ask for and the views from our window to the Cranberry Isles were breathtaking. The morning breakfasts were delicious and Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor only a short distance away. So, if you want to "get away from it all" to relax, to enjoy the natural beauty of Maine and the company of a wonderful family, we know you'll love staying at The Birches!

Room Tip: The 3 guests rooms are large and comfortable. Ask the innkeepers about the room that will best fit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mharmonbowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
1.1 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
184 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,236 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
85 reviews
8.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
8.9 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Birches Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Birches Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Birches Bed and Breakfast
Address: 46 Fernald Point Rd, PO Box 178, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Southwest Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homer family proudly wants to invite interested visitors to stay at their family homestead, which consists of 6 acres of panoramic ocean frontage in beautiful Southwest Harbor, Maine. Enjoy large airy rooms, private baths, ocean views, gardens, and the croquet court. We have 6 acres of grounds, no traffic noise, and it is just 350 yards to the first tee at the golf course. Along with The Birches Bed and Breakfast is The Cottage at The Birches, located a few hundred feet away which is available for weekly rentals. Acadia National Park is beside us and it is a short walk to the start of the trails to Valley Cove and the mountains. We are open year-round, accepting reservations for a two night minimum. When you come to our beautiful bed and breakfast you will not want to leave after seeing what we have to offer. Located in Southwest Harbor, Maine we are right next to mountains, as well as on the waterfront. We have a private beach for our guests to enjoy on the waterfront and you can come by water or land to get to us. If you are coming from farther away and you have a boat, you can bring that along also as we have a dock available. At our bed and breakfast, some specialties of ours are accommodating family reunions and intimate weddings. We also want you to come to relax, enjoy, and unwind, no matter what the occasion is. You will not be disappointed with your choice, as we have a lovely property with extraordinary gardens that have been featured on garden tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Birches Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Birches Bed And Breakfast Maine/Southwest Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing