We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay in the "Quiet Side"”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Drydock & Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cafe Drydock & Inn
Maine, USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in the "Quiet Side"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Mount Desert Island, home of Acadia National Park, is busy, busy, busy in the summer. It's no wonder! Acadia is a beautiful park and should be on everyone's bucket list. The western side of the island, however, is not nearly so overrun with tourists. Hence, its reputation as the "quiet side of the island."

We recently stayed two nights in Southwest Harbor, the least quiet town in the "quiet side." Still, it quiets down in the evenings, so our room at the Cafe Drydock & Inn in the midst of the town of Southwest Harbor was quiet and relaxing. We had a queen bed in an ample-sized room with summery Maine cottage decor. Marty, the owner, welcomed us graciously, took us to our room, even helped us with our luggage. There doesn't seem to be an elevator to the second floor (where the rooms are located), so don't go to the Drydock if you require easy accessibility. There is no on-site parking, but Marty directed us to free around-the-clock parking about half a block away. Unload your luggage, then go park.

The cafe downstairs was filled our first evening, but our friend whom we were visiting in Southwest Harbor had another place in mind, so we didn't eat at the cafe at the Drydock. It certainly was busy enough to suggest that it is popular. Have fun, and take the free shuttle bus to Acadia National Park Visitor Center from right in front of the Drydock Inn.

Room Tip: Room number four is very attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yalahajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    26
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
33
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

we stayed there for 4 nights and enjoyed it very much! we had probably had the smallest room, but ot was well-equipped. especially the microwave oven and the refridgerator werd handy and helped to keep the budget a bit lower.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philipp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swampscott, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is an amazing little jewel in Southwest Harbor. My family has been staying at the Cafe Drydock and Inn for at least a decade. The rooms are always immaculately clean and the recent renovations were very well done. The innkeepers are some of the nicest people you'll find.

Room Tip: If you are staying for a couple of days you might want to ask for a room with a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I stopped here on our way to Canada. We were a little nervous since it was so well priced and we were pleasantly surprised at how wonderful this place was. The room we had was small but wonderfully decorated and clean, the linens were lovely. The owner, Marty, was delightful and actually helped me with an anniversary surprise. We ate in the downstairs cafe and the food was unbelievably good....well priced and good portions. the staff were wonderfully attentive and it was a very enjoyable experience.
I would highly recommend this place, it was one of the best places we stayed at on our trip and would love to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised by the accommodations at this inn. The inn is directly over the restaurant, and located on one of the only streets in Southwest Harbor that people frequent. We liked the "homey" feel of the inn (we stayed in room 3, which is actually a small suite) and the contemporary design and furnishings. The kitchen was well furnished and had everything we needed. The dishes were pretty like what you would buy for your own home--not the generic type you'd find in a timeshare. The bedroom in room 3 was very, very small, so it can only fit a full size bed. This presented a small problem because we are used to sleeping on a king...so my husband slept on the couch for all 3 nights of our anniversary getaway (!). That's why I took off a star on the rating. I'd think that one of the larger accommodations would have a larger bed/bedroom, but for some reason, that is not the case. There are also no closets in room 3, and very little space for luggage, and I think that is also the case with the other rooms from what I could see. Other than that, we have no complaints. It was clean and well lit, and totally adorable. Staff sightings were few and far between, but the staff that I encountered were friendly and helpful. There is a tanning salon right next to room 3 which is available for guests. I've never used a tanning bed and don't intend to, so I can't tell you for sure if it was up to par or not, but it looked nice enough. I used the room briefly because there happened to be a full-length mirror in there.

Room Tip: Room 3 is a small corner apartment with great views of Main Street from the bedroom. Includes fridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristeanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and lab mix for one night to have a night away on the "quiet side" of the island. I loved the room and casual set up of inn and cafe. Room had updated furnishings. New cellular shades didn't block the sunlight in the morning so be sure to close the drapes as well unless you plan to be up with the sunrise to hit the trails. There is only one room available to stay in with dogs but you wouldn't know it's the "dog friendly" room at all. Very clean and no wear shown at all. It's a smaller room but extremely reasonably priced compared to the rest of the island. I personally loved the smallness of SW harbor because I have been to Bar Harbor a ton but could see a first time visitor basing themselves from here and enjoying all there is to see in Acadia. Dinner here was great also. They have a side deck where we could all sit (dog included) and have a nice night out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marybeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh pa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I enjoyed my experience at this bed and breakfast and I would return.

Relative to the other side of Mt. Desert island, the setting was quiet and not nearly as hectic - I'm very grateful that I chose to stay in this region, rather than the other side, close to Bar Harbor.

The food was really good here, and the room was comfortable and clean.

If you prefer being a the center of a lot of action/being close to a lot of people, and getting a lot of attention during your stay at a bed and breakfast, I would not recommend this business. If you're like me, and prefer things quieter, less crowded and you value your privacy then I would highly recommend this business.

Tip: Park in the guest parking lot behind the building once you've gotten your things into your room. Don't stress out, thinking that you need to fight to find a street spot. The parking lot is right in front of a police station :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurasialand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islandlocal90, Owner at Cafe Drydock & Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and also eating here. We are called the quiet side for the reasons that you discovered. It is a little slower paced here and also less traffic. Our town has 1600 year round residences including us. Our inn is always open and it is really quiet in the winter. Fishing activity goes on through the winter months as fishermen head out on the good days. Thank you again for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
9.4 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#30 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
9.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
9.4 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
9.5 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cafe Drydock & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe Drydock & Inn

Property: Cafe Drydock & Inn
Address: 357 Main St, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Southwest Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cafe Drydock & Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience the timeless charm of a coastal Maine village.  A pleasant walk brings you to the docks, boatyards, and Coast Guard Station of this working harbor. On the opposite shore lies Manset, home of the world famous Hinckley Boatyard. There are many beautiful mountain top or seaside walks on the quiet side of Acadia National Park.  Ship Harbor, Wonderland, and Beech Mountain are but a few sights to see.  Cafe Drydock and Inn is located opposite the Village Green in the center of Southwest Harbor.  You will be within a five minute drive to many activities, including sailing, canoeing, golfing, swimming and biking.  Make Cafe Drydock and Inn your comfortable accommodations while experiencing your island adventures.We have 8 rooms and are not a bed and breakfast but a small inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cafe Drydock & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafe Drydock And Inn
Cafe Drydock Hotel Southwest Harbor
Cafe Drydock & Inn Maine/Southwest Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing