We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and Enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harbor Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbor Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
Sidney, Maine
1 review
“Relaxing and Enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We had a lovely week at Harbor Ridge. It is located convieniently around many of the Acadia area attractions to hike, bike and shop. The amenities and onsite activities were enjoyable, they were clean and provided needed facilities in the Condo to cook. Great Place, hope to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kristy1238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    118
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
175
145
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

For a timeshare this place is pretty nice. Spacious unit, helpful staff, lots of fluffy towels. Although clean, furniture needed some repair. Great for families and would recommend. Loved being on the "quiet side" of the island and only 20 minutes from Bar Harbor.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GFC1430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
160 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

I traded a timeshare week for a week at Harbor Ridge based on what I saw on the Interval International website and Harbor Ridge's website. Both proved to be misleading. This is a timeshare that really needs some refurbishments - stained sofa, outdated kitchen and baths, really old TVs, etc. Interesting that I read the management prides itself on low maintenance fees, when it's a portion of those fees that are used for updating in the resorts I have ownership in! I don't think that's something to brag about? It was the first time I've ever gone into a unit and had to unload the dishwasher? The other big problem for me was no curtains/drapes on the bedroom windows in a place where daylight begins around 4am! I know I'll be going back to Acadia, but I doubt that I'll be staying at Harbor Ridge when I do.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdadtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborRidgeSW, Manager at Harbor Ridge, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. This month our resort has been replacing our televisions with flat screen televisions. We do apologize for your dishwasher not being emptied upon your arrival. We do hope that you give Harbor Ridge another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a great tranquil place with beautiful surroundings! I would have given it four stars but through the years I have seen many not-for-the-better changes; such as, landscaping (flowers, shrubs, etc) not as beautiful and arranged like in the past. Plus the units need updating, they are drab. They should either be decorated according to the themes of the state or updated with today’s color schemes and patterns (not the old fashioned taste that is currently present). The staff is helpful, and I have to say that I enjoyed chatting with one of the employees because she was knowledgeable and shared facts about her families livelihood of making a career on catching lobsters; her facts and information was extremely interesting. I found that I enjoyed catching her during the breakfast or on the grounds because she was always extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnonymousForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborRidgeSW, Manager at Harbor Ridge, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for submitting a review of our property. Due to our long severe winter, our landscaping was not at its best in April. We have been doing interior improvements over the past two years, and many owners have embraced the improvements. We'll let Belinda know how much you enjoyed the customer service that she provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We go back to Harbor Ridge every year! Perfect place for rest, relaxation and Acadia National Park adventures. Great hiking, walking and scenic drive opportunities. Plenty to do on rainy days also! Staff is wonderful, location is perfect, units are clean, quiet and comfortable.

Room Tip: All buildings have decks on the main floor and master bedroom loft in the rear of the buildings. Gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank vacationgirl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanticoke, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Well maintained unit. Staff was very friendly and answered many questions about places to eat and things to do. Only "surprise" was that the unit had 3 levels, which I was not expecting. As the steps were a little bit of a challenge for me.
It is in a good location. Mount Desert Island is about 1/2 hour away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank maja1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborRidgeSW, Manager at Harbor Ridge, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
It was a pleasure having you stay with us. It is unfortunate that you did not realize that our units were three-stories. The three levels make it feel very spacious, but the stairs are a bit challenging for some of our guests. Harbor Ridge is located in Southwest Harbor on the beautiful island of Mount Desert Island. Bar Harbor and the main entrance of Acadia National Park are just 25 - 30 minutes away. We do hope that you visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We come every 2 years; staff is friendly, helpful. Units are quiet and comfortable and clean. First week of June is ahead of the crowds, but we can walk to excellent restaurant. Short drive to Acadia carriage trails and hiking trails. Local ferry to Cranberry Islands is fun, even on a rainy day.

Room Tip: Most rooms are 2 br townhouses, so there are stairs. All rooms face the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 675Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
1.1 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
9.7 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
2.7 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
10.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Ridge

Property: Harbor Ridge
Address: 39 Freeman Ridge Rd, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Southwest Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbor Ridge is a 40-unit vacation ownership luxury condominium in Southwest Harbor, Maine. Most of our units are two-bedroom, sleep 6 townhouses that span three stories. There are also three one-bedroom, sleep four townhouses that span three stories. Each three-story, two-bedroom townhouse has a fully equipped kitchen, 2 1/2 baths, washer, dryer, and a cozy living room with TV and DVD/VCR. Each story has a private balcony with most of our buildings having an ocean view from the top floor. The resort also has a one-story handicap accessible unit (Unit 51) that has two bedrooms, one bath, a kitchen, and a living room with a balcony. Our clubhouse has an indoor heated pool, hot tub, fitness center, game room, and on-site DVD/VHS video rentals. We have a playground, an outdoor tennis court, horseshoe pits, and charcoal barbecue picnic areas. The resort is affiliated with the exchange company Interval International. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Harbor Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Ridge Hotel Southwest Harbor
Harbor Ridge Maine/Southwest Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing