We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Choice”
Review of Harbor Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harbor Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed at Harbor Ridge on a timeshare exchange. The unit was immaculate, quite large and looked freshly painted. Great to have a washer/dryer in the unit. My only knock was on the design of the upstairs master bedroom. It is a semi loft so you are exposed to all of the noise from the first floor living room and kitchen. If someone in the living room is watching TV at night or if there is any other sound, you will hear it in the upstairs bedroom. Location of the resort is outstanding...it is about a 20 minute drive from the east side of the island and only a few minutes from some great trails on the west side of the island. We hope to return to Harbor Ridge again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Certiorari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 477 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

Harbor Ridge reflects the reason this is called the Quietside of Mt. Desert Island. The Units (we own one) are well-kept, the view is great with decks on 2 of the 3 levels. We stayed with 6 adults this time and found it adequately roomy, but certainly not spacious. Other times we have stayed with our children or other adults and found it comfortable (except for the pullout sofa which definitely needs an update)! We were glad we had brought an aero bed along for some of our guests. Our trips to Acadia Park and and Bar Harbor, hikes on the carriage trails and lobster on the dock made this a great stay for all of us,

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We also exchanged through Interval International and were not disappointed. It wasn’t the 5 star resorts we were used too but easily a 4 star. The units were very clean and had all the amenities needed. The units were a bit dated but still in great shape. The views were wonderful and the units had a “homey” feel to it. We were close to everything we needed but just far enough away to make it quiet and peaceful. The staff was very nice and helpful. We would definitely stay here again if we ever get back to Southwest Harbor.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BluesSox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The location is great. Staff helpful. Units clean. What more can you ask for. How about an amazing view. Got that too.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Random_Traveler33718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We are owners of interval internation and find it very hard to go anywhere else in March. Its quiet and just enough hiking trails open that we relax in the townhome, hike, shop in Bar Harbor and just relax for as many days as we can spend up there. The staff are always very nice and people are respectful of the resort being 5 stars. We have had our unit for many years passed to us from my parents so I was in it when it first was built. The upstairs bathroom is severly outdated and not welcoming however the rest of the unit was updated and very nice. We will try to travel but it is hard not to return to Southwest Harbor every year!

Room Tip: I would not say there is a spa but the hot tub is so relaxing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveling4FunSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarborRidgeSW, Manager at Harbor Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Thank you for reviewing our property. We are in the process of updating our bathroom and entry level decor in our townhouses. We only wish that we could wave our magic wand and have the painting all done at once! We look forward to serving you for many years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

This was a trip with myself and my husband to regroup and enjoy some peace. The was our first stay with Harbor Ridge and we are fully satisfied with our choice! The staff is warm ad friendly, the location is great, our 2 bedroom, 2.5 bath room townhouse with jacuzzi was very cozy! We relaxed, hiked, took some of the most spectacular pictures ever! I even purchased a timeshare week to come back! Truly amazing!! Go and go during the off season. It's a winter wonderland!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ginamarie005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We arrived there by chance, actually. We were party of 6 (Incl. Grandma) and needed a large apartment. The apartment we got had everything we needed and more. All very clean, new and the staff were very welcoming. Extras such as Tennis court, Game room, pool etc, make it also OK when its raining or too cold outside. We found the location to be ideal. Far from the crowd yet near enough to anything you may need. Warmly' recomended.

Room Tip: We were told apartments are not much different from each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
7  Thank Ganor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
9.7 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
9.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.1 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,775 reviews
9.7 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Ridge

Address: 39 Freeman Ridge Rd, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Southwest Harbor
Price Range: $117 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbor Ridge is a 40-unit vacation ownership luxury condominium in Southwest Harbor, Maine. Most of our units are two-bedroom, sleep 6 townhouses that span three stories. There are also three one-bedroom, sleep four townhouses that span three stories. Each three-story, two-bedroom townhouse has a fully equipped kitchen, 2 1/2 baths, washer, dryer, and a cozy living room with TV and DVD/VCR. Each story has a private balcony with most of our buildings having an ocean view from the top floor. The resort also has a one-story handicap accessible unit (Unit 51) that has two bedrooms, one bath, a kitchen, and a living room with a balcony. Our clubhouse has an indoor heated pool, hot tub, fitness center, game room, and on-site DVD/VHS video rentals. We have a playground, an outdoor tennis court, horseshoe pits, and charcoal barbecue picnic areas. The resort is affiliated with the exchange company Interval International. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Harbor Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Ridge Hotel Southwest Harbor
Harbor Ridge Maine/Southwest Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing