We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!”
Review of Harbor Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harbor Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2012

This was a trip with myself and my husband to regroup and enjoy some peace. The was our first stay with Harbor Ridge and we are fully satisfied with our choice! The staff is warm ad friendly, the location is great, our 2 bedroom, 2.5 bath room townhouse with jacuzzi was very cozy! We relaxed, hiked, took some of the most spectacular pictures ever! I even purchased a timeshare week to come back! Truly amazing!! Go and go during the off season. It's a winter wonderland!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ginamarie005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 480 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

We arrived there by chance, actually. We were party of 6 (Incl. Grandma) and needed a large apartment. The apartment we got had everything we needed and more. All very clean, new and the staff were very welcoming. Extras such as Tennis court, Game room, pool etc, make it also OK when its raining or too cold outside. We found the location to be ideal. Far from the crowd yet near enough to anything you may need. Warmly' recomended.

Room Tip: We were told apartments are not much different from each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
7  Thank Ganor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I visit Harbor Rridge Resort every year and just never tire of all the activities that are available from this resort. Located on "The Quiet Side" of Mt Desert Isle where the locals remember me from year to year. (Drop in to The Drydock Cafe and say hello to Marty and John for me. ) Bar Harbor is close enough if one wants to visit, but far enough away that the hustle & bustle (and crowds) do not interfere with the ambience of Southwest Harbor.

The resort itself is ideal! Clean, well appointed (indoor pool, hot tub, tennis courts, Wifi, community rooms, BBQ grills, full kitchen (lobster pot included), etc) and just a short walk through the woods to town. The staff are well able to make recommendations and a great stay is guaranteed..

Room Tip: The best views of the harbor are from the Master Bedroom balconies in buildings 1 & 2, but all a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kitman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We also did an exchange through Interval. I was a bit nervous since the last time we did this to go to a place in North Carolina, I did not like it at all and made my husband take us back home the next day. But was very pleasantly surprised with Harbor Ridge. Very clean and a lot of amenities if you want to take advantage of them. Loved sitting out on one of the two decks. We went in early June so there were not crowds of people or kids. Trail down through the woods takes you past another housing development below to road that takes you to the sidewalks of Southwest Harbor. We only checked out the Main Activity Center the day we were impressed with the facilities. Very helpful staff. Would definitely go back again. A right out of the driveway you'll see a few houses down on the left the Quietside Muffin Lady. She puts out a large cooler on a stand filled with freshly baked muffins (two to a pack). Honor system to leave the money in slot inside the cooler. Good muffins.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TDNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

The place was clean and had all amenities you would need in your home, full kitchen and laundry. The view was good of sommes sound and the mountains as well. Each of the three leveles had a patio ( first floor) or a balcony (second and third). The people at the clubhouse were very helpful. Acadia is within a mile for the western hikes. The eastern and majority of the park is 15 min away. But there is more park here than you can do in a week if you did all the trails. There is a path from the resort here that leads to the main drag which gets you to the "downtown" faster. Overall Harbor Ridge is great, the only negative is that its a drive from Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: June to Sept
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Anthony824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2007

We stayed at Harbor Ridge over Thanksgiving through a timeshare Exchange with Interval. We stayed in unit 46. It was a 2 bedroom 2 and a half bath similar to a townhouse condo. It was 3 levels with a master bedroom on the 3rd floor with king bed, living area with full kitchen and and pull out sofa bed on the entre level. The lower level had another bedroom with 2 twin beds and full bath. It had a Mnt view and partial Harbor view.
The facilities were clean and well maintained. There is no daily maid service and a midweek clean is provided for $50 if you want it. The unit has items such as a vac and washer dryer so you can do it yourself for free. This is done to keep the owner maintenance fees down.
They have a Mon informational continental breakfast, and a Wed. wine and cheese social that are free. There is a workout room, DVD rentals, game room, indoor pool and hot tub, play scape, horseshoe pit, tennis court, and charcoal barbecues on site.
The resort is located a short ride or 30 min walk from the center of town. It is a 20 min drive to Bar Harbor and 30 Min to Ellsworth. If you want to buy groceries get them in Ellsworth on the way to the island. It is 10-15 min form Arcadia National Park. The views are incredible and since it was off season we were able to take them in slowly as we drove through the loop rode barely seeing anyone. An hour away past Winter Harbor is another part of Arcadia with additional views. Well worth the ride. We lucked out and Cadillac Mnt road open our last full day there and were able to ride to the summit.
We dined at Geddy's, The Tan Turtle, Gayln's for Thanksgiving, All were good and with fair pricing. Tan Turtle had good prices on lobster meals. For breakfast and once for lunch we tried a new diner. Brandon's and Laura's Cafe which is newly opened. It was good for the pricing and was busy with locals. Service varied depending on which waitress you had.
We had a great stay and Harbor ridge is a good spot to come home to after a day of taking in the sights. It's spacious rooms and 3 levels can provide privacy for visiting families from each other.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank kenrabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die obere Reihe hat einen noch besseren Blick über die Bucht von Southwest Harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jochen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
9.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
9.7 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 42 in Bar Harbor
390 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 42 in Bar Harbor
1,776 reviews
9.7 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 42 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 42 in Bar Harbor
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Ridge

Address: 39 Freeman Ridge Rd, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Southwest Harbor
Price Range: $117 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbor Ridge is a 40-unit vacation ownership luxury condominium in Southwest Harbor, Maine. Most of our units are two-bedroom, sleep 6 townhouses that span three stories. There are also three one-bedroom, sleep four townhouses that span three stories. Each three-story, two-bedroom townhouse has a fully equipped kitchen, 2 1/2 baths, washer, dryer, and a cozy living room with TV and DVD/VCR. Each story has a private balcony with most of our buildings having an ocean view from the top floor. The resort also has a one-story handicap accessible unit (Unit 51) that has two bedrooms, one bath, a kitchen, and a living room with a balcony. Our clubhouse has an indoor heated pool, hot tub, fitness center, game room, and on-site DVD/VHS video rentals. We have a playground, an outdoor tennis court, horseshoe pits, and charcoal barbecue picnic areas. The resort is affiliated with the exchange company Interval International. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Harbor Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Ridge Hotel Southwest Harbor
Harbor Ridge Maine/Southwest Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing