We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great value, pleasant venue”

Eat-A-Pita & Cafe 2
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food, great value, pleasant venue”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

My wife and I shared a crab cake entree, each with 1-1/2 delicious crab cakes that had very little filler, nicely done inside with a crispy crust. They were accompanied by a root vegetable puree of carrots, radishes, turnips, onions, and (most likely) cream. Also spears of asparagus. Preceding the entree was a crispy green salad and some yummy herbed breadsticks with herbed olive dipping oil. Topping all this off was a wonderful blueberry bread pudding with a whiskey-maple syrup sauce. The only downside was the decaf coffee which tasted like it was made from some kind of syrup. They should at least get a K-cup machine for those who like decaf!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mhhrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    121
    35
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view - really good food”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

The staff was very helpful in making a selection of both a good regional beer and food to go with. The view of the harbor from the deck is the best in town.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!!!!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We were going to the grocery store and we were passing this charming little restaurant on the street and we decided to go in and have breakfast. To start with we wanted everything on the menu, it just sounded so good. My husband had the eggs with pancakes and I had the huevos rancheros... ah and we added french bread with blueberry stuffing! OMG! everything was delicious. We went back another day for lunch and we liked it as well. I love veggie burgers, unfortunately 90% of the time they are not good. Here, it was good :) We will be back for another breakfast with friends :)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oswelia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, service Painfully Slow”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

We had a great lunch here on our first day in town. Local relative warned us about slow service, and while quite slow, it wasn't a problem, as we had lots of time and had been warned. Sandwiches and salads were all delicious. Tried to go back for a 9:30 breakfast later in the week, and it was a nightmare. Not crowded, but only one server and he was not going to move any faster than he wanted to. We watched several tables ahead of us leave without being served, and quickly did the same. High season--can't imagine the owner wants people walking out.

Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food, strange name. I'd go back!”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Despite the incongruous name, this small cafe serves more than pita sandwiches. We wandered in with a group of friends (5 total) mid-morning on a weekday in August and were seated immediately. (Indoors, as it had just finished raining.) The brunch was excellent, down to the Maine blueberries in the pancakes. The service was friendly and prompt. Definitely will return next time we find ourselves in Southwest Harbor.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhatKindOfDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat-A-Pita & Cafe 2 also viewed

Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Eat-A-Pita & Cafe 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing