We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local gem”

Quietside Cafe and Ice Cream Shop
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Locally owned Family Run Cafe and Ice Cream shop. 19 Years providing great homemade foods with fast friendly service
Glen Rock, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Local gem”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is 1 busy place in the center of Southwest Harbor. Family owned and operated serving a great selection of lunch and dinner items plus ice cream. We stopped in for dinner after a day exploring Acadia National Park and service and meals were great. The next morning we stopped in to order lunches to go and were quite pleased with our selections. Very popular with the local residents.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank duncan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    161
    35
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A friendly neigborhood cafe”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We loved their simple but delicious home-made sort of meals especially the fish chowder and the pizzas not to mention their ice-cream. You need to get there early to get a table. The staff is very nice and friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AnatolianARtisans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Not so sure why all the excellents.....”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by and let me tell you- the shakes weren't anything special. The soft serve cones were small, the place was crowded and the behind the counter ice cream servers were moving very slow and in no real hurry. Also, they didn't understand orders well and were just very slow. The picnic tables outside were also dirty... the shakes were really thin and not special at all.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeTTer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We planned our trip before they closed!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Yep we actually planned our trip in the Fall before they closed. We go for the blueberry pie and the owners. They are truly joyful and friendly and interesting to talk to. The pie slices are huge and Ice Cream just sets it off. We have never tried anything else, but I'm sure its good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank w2p2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect Park, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Get the Fruit of the Sea Pizza”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We love this pizza. My husband and I made a special trip to Southwest Harbor just for this pizza. Lobster, shrimp and scallops. You can tell when it's cooking by the smell of garlic, OMG, yummy! I'm also partial to the soft serve ice cream. They have around 25 flavors. So far I've had the egg nog and the mango, both yummy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eileen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quietside Cafe and Ice Cream Shop also viewed

Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Quietside Cafe and Ice Cream Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing