We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Discovery!!!”
Review of Fiddlers' Green - CLOSED

Fiddlers' Green
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Fiddlers' Green provides: - outstanding quality of food and service in a warm, casual and fun atmosphere overlooking the ocean in Southwest Harbor, ME The cuisine is prepared daily using: - the finest seasonal ingredients - local and organic produce - farm raised meats - the very best fish the oceans have to offerThe culinary style: - celebrates New England traditions without being bound by them. - Influences of Italy, Spain, France, Austria, Asia and the Southwest can be found throughout new menu items introduced dailyWe offer: - a wide range of classic cocktails, specialty martinis, wines by the glass, aperitifs and a complete wine list with over 100 selections as well as cognacs, single malt scotches and digestives - Online Ordering for "ToGo" ordersOur goal: - is to make you feel welcome. We look forward to your visit! NOW OFFERING GLUTEN FREE OPTIONS!
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a Discovery!!!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We went to Fiddlers' Green at the recommendation of a local and will be eternally grateful to her for that! The atmosphere is great, the service professional yet very friendly, and the food is some of the best we have enjoyed anywhere! Yes, it's pricey, but no regrets here - It all comes down to value for the dollar spent and the joy it adds to your weekend and your life. We went back our second night and enjoyed it every bit as much as the first.

When we came in the second night, Sarah, the owner, welcomed us as if we were old friends she hadn't seen in years. Her passion for the business and the food is obvious and she married very well - Her husband Derek is the gifted chef.

Who would expect to flind this geaming little gem in a small town on an Island in Maine when it's clearly a seasonal business?

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank macatguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    63
    27
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
735 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,311 helpful votes
“Desserts galore.”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We came in for desserts after a dinner in Bar Harbor. Decadent selections of sweet served by topnotch staff. Relaxed atmosphere provided a conducive spot for tete-a-tete.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ebbtide123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

An anniversary dinner needs to be special, and this was. Small, quaint, excellent service and fine food. Worth at trip to Southwest from Bar Harbor.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SREMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Meal and wonderful atmosphere!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I spent 6 days in Southwest Harbor, beatiful place. We were looking for a great place to have a nice meal for our 25th Anniversary and decided on the Fiddlers' Green after receiving two recommendations. The atmosphere was romantic and the staff was very friendly and very helpful when chosing our meal. I wanted to try lobster, but didn't want a whole lobster, so she recommended the Maine Lobster Strozzapretti Pasta, which I believe to be the best meal I've ever had. Absolutely delicious! My husband ordered the filet, which was cooked perfect and was very tender. It was a little pricey, but we expected that. If we ever make it back to Maine again, we will definatley plan to have dinner at the Fiddlers' Green agian.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
488 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Upscale restaurant in quite Southwest Harbor”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

If you're in Southwest Harbor at dinner time and looking for something more than basic fare, drive about a half mile south and give Fiddlers' Green a try! Food was fresh, imaginative, and very tasty!

I had the Maine Lobster Strozzapretti Pasta (lobster meat, fire roasted tomato, fresh basil, caramelized shallots, and roasted pecans, tossed with pasta, all in a cream sauce, for $28) ... it was very different from your typical lobster dish ... and it was excellent!

We probably should have called for a reservation, since it was Sunday night on Labor Day Weekend, but we had no problem getting a table.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MassCouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiddlers' Green also viewed

Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing