We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite on the MDI” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of XYZ Restaurant

XYZ Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
east coast
Level Contributor
185 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Favorite on the MDI”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I make it a point to get here whenever we are in Bar Harbor. This place is a great time. We have never been disappointed by the food and the margaritas are awesome! The prices have gone up over the years, but this hasn't deterred us yet. I'd recommend sitting outside and just enjoying the slower pace of life and savoring your food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank climberchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    24
    11
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southwest Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Margaritas=amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

XYZ is a favorite place for an amazing margarita (the especial) and dinner at the bar! Unfortunately for us, only a couple of a times a summer as we also have a seasonal business.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JustaMEgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So good we came back again in the same week.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The good:
- very friendly service
- incredible flavor in the food, unique and delicious
- great selection of wine, beer and tequila
- gluten free options which are delicious!!!
- great atmosphere

The bad:
- they are so popular that a reservation is a must, so call ahead.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, CT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our new favorite restaraunt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had two amazing meals here on a trip to Southwest Harbor in July. It was so good that it was a highlight of our trip. It stands so far apart from any other mexican restaurant that we've been to...amazingly unique flavors. We both wish it was closer to home!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Flavors!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had heard such great things about XYZ that when we couldn't get a table, we sat at the bar. Delicious and loads of fun chatting with other patrons. This is not chips and salsa, gloppy Mexican food. This is high end, layers of flavors, delicious food. Each meal comes with a small salad made with organic greens. My husband and I shared a grilled shrimp dish and one of the chicken mole meals. Both were fresh, flavorful, and I'll use this word again -- delicious. So glad we ate at XYZ during this trip. Next summer, we'll make reservations in advance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LaTrivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed XYZ Restaurant also viewed

Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to XYZ Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing