We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay food, very poor value”
Review of XYZ Restaurant

XYZ Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Okay food, very poor value”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I reside in Chicago and am thus spoiled with good Mexican fare. My principal complaint is not with the food per se, but with value. Indeed, if the prices at this little Mexican joint were a bit more reasonable, it would likely garner a more positive review. That said, the food does not justify the $25 that you will pay for each main dish. I ordered the chile relleno and was underwhelmed. The dish was a bit too bland and the ingredients simple; I would happily pay $10 for a dish of this quality. My other principal complaint is that they served bread before our courses. I expect chips or tortillas or something a bit more traditional at a place serving Mexican fare. On the bright side, I did not have a problem with mosquitoes as other reviewers noted and the ambiance was nice (though the dining room was a bit dark). The desserts were also good. Still, these redeeming qualities in no way justify the $35-45 you will pay per person for two dishes and a drink.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank posttranslational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexveritas, Owner at XYZ Restaurant, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
The perception of value is always interesting. In Mexico one can buy an order of chile rellenos at a stall in the market or go to a happening restaurant overlooking the plaza where you will pay considerably more for basically the same dish. Which is the better value? And while a bowl of fried tortilla chips has become ubiquitous at many eateries serving mexican food in the united states such is not the case in Mexico. At our favorite restaurants in San Luis Potosi dinner service always begins with crusty bread rolls not tortilla chips. It is unfortunate that many Americans equate dining in Mexico with a Super Bowl party.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    28
    11
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food But Expensive”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The night we were there--a Friday--brought excellent service and very little sign of the mosquitos that other have experienced. The food was good but not great. All of the main courses were priced at 25 dollars and I thought that this was expensive especially since comparable restaurants in and about Chicago are considerably less in particular for the vegetarian dish and these restaurants provide chips. All in all if you are tired of seafood or fish food this is a decent alternative. I would prefer to pay the same amount and eat at Red Sky.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ishtar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Delicious, hidden spot!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Though we initially drove past this hidden spot, once we found it we felt like we were part of the family. The owner greeted us and was very friendly to us and our son. The restaurant filled up quickly (make sure you make reservations!). Menu is small, but authentic and very good. We started with a chilled avocado soup then I had the chili rellenos (not deep fried like at the chains, but baked to gooey, bubbly perfection) and my husband had a mole dish. My only disappointment was that I didn’t have my basket of chips and guacamole to munch on while we were waiting (they serve bread and salsa instead), but the food was good enough to make up for that. That, and it was incredibly buggy so come armed with your bug spray if you plan on stepping outside at all!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BostonMAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Truly authentic Mexican food, Hard to believe we went to Maine for lobsters and the best meal we had was Mexican!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dwipeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Run for the border...or the exit!”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

OMG, what a train wreck! Apparently this place was closed for two years. The tragedy is that it re-opened. The proprietress, a self-satisfied pseudo-elite, is so full of herself I wanted to smack her. Dear friends took us to dinner as their guests (they had been a few times prior) and they and we were aghast at the entire experience. We each ordered something different and all four of us thought the food was crap...overcooked, overseasoned and resultantly, overpriced. The margaritas? Pass. Bland, ice-overwhelmed and also overpriced. The highlight, sadly, was our snotty, vacuous, disengaged young female server, whose time would have been better spent stocking shelves at K Mart. She was so rude that it was almost amusing. We travel extensively and et out five or more nights a week. Our friends were mortified and apologetic. We were just stunned. My wife and I agreed that this was the worst restaurant experience we've had in at least ten years. Avoid, avoid, avoid. Go to Taco Bell...you'll thank me.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ALKAcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexveritas, Owner at XYZ Restaurant, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We see thousands of people every summer and while most of our clientele leave telling us that they enjoyed the experience we do occasionally receive a patient whose needs excede the scope of our capabilities and resources. If this reviewer had talked to us directly we may have been able to recomend a more suitable facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed XYZ Restaurant also viewed

Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to XYZ Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing