We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sweet tender lobster”

Beal's Lobster Pier
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery
Description: Eat, drink and be messy. A visit to Beal's Lobster Pier is always a highlight - a restaurant that's on the water, with an atmosphere that's down to earth. At our working lobster pier in Southwest Harbor, Maine, you and your family will have a blast watching the boasts coming in and the lobstermen unloading their fresh catch. Hear the creak of rope on the moorings. Catch the scent of saltwater on the breeze and enjoy the waterfront view while chowing down on the freshest lobster you can eat. (Don't worry, the napkins are on us!)
chicago
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“sweet tender lobster”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

picked up 4 live lobsters that we steamed at home. after eating fresh, live lobsters all week in maine I don't understand why some can be sweeter and more tender than others but these 4 were the best of our trip. we were sorry it was our last night because we definitely would have gone back. delish!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mich711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    227
    69
    32
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lobster night”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

A short walk from our hotel, the Claremont, This is a tourist favorite. Hand pick a lobster and it is cooked for you while you enjoy the indoor or outdoor patio. Food was great but took about 40 minutes to be served. Don't be in a hurry. Good sides and beer and wine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Lobster Stew!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were in the area for a week, Beal's had the best lobster stew of any of the places we went (and we ate lobster and lobster stew daily). We returned for seconds during our trip. Seating is outside, the view is decent, on the water with some building blockage. Very nice people, excellent french fries as well! Fish sandwich was an excellent value.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank rlb1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lived up to my husband's memory.”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

As a child, my husband would vacation in Southwest Harbor eating at Beal's. I've spent 30 years hearing how good these lobsters were. Better than any we'd get in Houston. Blah blah blah. We get to our inn and are told Beal's is under new mgmt so we were a bit worried. Get there and the place is just what he remembered, and better. My husband has been telling the truth all these years! The lobsters and steamers were outstanding. Even met the new owner, Stu. He bought the place because he loved it when he was younger. Stu is out there greeting guests, checking things, doing whatever is needed. We went back twice. Even hit another lobster joint but all.agreed Beal's was best. Thanks Stu and employees. Thank you lobstermen.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbcrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Lobster but there are issues”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Other than the lobster they have some real issues with the food and service. We ordered mussels, seafood chowder and a salad. After waiting 10 minutes they said they were out of mussels. Why would it take 10 minutes to tell us. They were very apologetic about it and took it off our bill. When we got the chowder it was the classic milk/butter blend. The problem was there were loads of potatoes and 2 pieces of chopped clams. When I showed it to them they said that's how it comes. $8.00? Then they back pedaled and said they would add some more seafood. Instead they made a new batch which took 10 more minutes so we took it to go. When we opened the container it was the same as before except there was no seafood at all. I guess they have new owners. They need to work on some things before the summer crowds show up.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beal's Lobster Pier also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Beal's Lobster Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing