We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Frills, None Needed”

Beal's Lobster Pier
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Eat, drink and be messy. A visit to Beal's Lobster Pier is always a highlight - a restaurant that's on the water, with an atmosphere that's down to earth. At our working lobster pier in Southwest Harbor, Maine, you and your family will have a blast watching the boasts coming in and the lobstermen unloading their fresh catch. Hear the creak of rope on the moorings. Catch the scent of saltwater on the breeze and enjoy the waterfront view while chowing down on the freshest lobster you can eat. (Don't worry, the napkins are on us!) Restaurant is closed for the winter season and will be re-opening in May. See you soon!
Merrillville, Indiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“No Frills, None Needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Found this place by accident on a recent trip to Bar Harbor, and so glad we did. You walk into a basic building that reminds you of a concession stand, pick your live lobster from the tank, and whatever sides you want such as steamed clams, mussels, scallops, corn, cole slaw, etc. You pay at the end of the line, take a seat at the outdoor picnic tables on the pier and wait for your number to be called. You go to the window and pick up your meal, served in paper boats on a plastic cafeteria tray. From this point, the rest is sheer seafood delight! The lobster was the best I have ever had, steamed clams delicious, and they serve beer, another bonus! Lobster was about $7.50 a pound. What a bargain. If you want to be waited on, this is not the place for you. If you want an excellent, affordable, delicious lobster pig out, this is the place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank umfoofoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    211
    65
    32
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Search for a great lobster roll!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Beal's was recommended to us and we headed there last Saturday from Bar Harbor -- not around the corner but worth the ride. The lobster roll was generously sized with chunks of meat. We ordered it with onion rings which were pretty good too . The setting was a letdown after Five Islands Lobster Co in Georgetown, ME, but that setting probably cannot be marched nor can the lobster roll, onion rings, and onion rings there!

We waited and waited for our number to be called only to discover someone else had picked up our meals. They replaced them but that took a while too.

Still, a great lobster roll. Worth the trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachesForFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
244 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Lobster Pound”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

A wide range of selections in addition to Lobster. While we didn't have it, many were getting the blue berry pie with vanilla ice cream. Can't imagine how crowed this might be during peak season though. But Sept. has been great!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, TN
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good lobster but disappointing view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

It was great lobster but the patio just has view of other buildings not the ocean. That was very disappointing. We sat inside the plasic room in order to see the ocean a little bit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pngbushmeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Level Contributor
535 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Just good ole' lobsta'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

If you want authentic, come to the Pier in Southwest Harbor. You pick your lobster, and then it gets weighed and priced by the pound. They call your check number and you come up to find your feast awaiting you, in a cardboard container with butter and two little wooden picks. Order an ear of corn and some cole slaw and just go to it! Just good old fashioned lobster; sit on the pier and enjoy. Nothing special, but the lobster: yummy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmEs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beal's Lobster Pier also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Beal's Lobster Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing