We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Breakfast and excellent service”
Review of sea biscuit - CLOSED

sea biscuit
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout
Description: Breakfast Only Resturant
Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast and excellent service”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stopped there for breakfast on the recommendation of the front desk personnel at our hotel. The meal was wonderful and plentiful at a reasonable price. Our server was very friendly, efficient, and actually very funny. She really seemed to enjoy her job. We wanted to go back for dinner, but they only serve breakfast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarleneIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    17
    3
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
400 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Must not miss!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Hands down Awesome! The wait staff (and owners) are beyond friendly. They make you feel like family. The blueberry pancakes are more blueberry than cake. Lots of good coffee. Breakfast cooked perfectly. We were treated to the homemade rhubarb jam and oatmeal toast (grandmas recipe). You must go here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
205 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Its ok”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

It was a long wait to be served, the price was high for the basic breakfast-nothing special about the place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thekansaspyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
120 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best breakfast on our vacation”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day so I'm pretty picky when it comes to judging the food. Well Sea Biscuit blew my expectations out of the park. It was a pleasant surprise as we almost didn't stop, but glad we did. I had the gluten free blueberry pancakes with a side of crispy bacon and one scrambled egg. All great. I love that they had a gluten free option. They also brought out a homemade rhubarb and strawberry jam. I stole a piece of toast from my hubby to try. It was fabulous! The ladies working were very friendly and I felt like a local as it was definately a plan where they gathered for their Sunday family gatherings as everyone seemed to know each other.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ustravelgirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pa.
Level Contributor
190 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Average and Expensive”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

South West Harbor is a great little village on Mount Desert Island. We stopped at Sea Biscuits Café for a late breakfast. Overall, I would have to say it was average, almost disappointing and very expensive. I had the blueberry pancakes. Maybe my expectations were too high, but there were hardly any blueberries in them. What was there was small and dry. We also had an egg sandwich that came with home fries, it was average and certainly not worth the $10.00 price tag. Orange juice was $4.00. The oatmeal bread and strawberry jam were very good. The ambience was nice, and I appreciated the family fun atmosphere. The service was OK. When we return, we will skip this place. There are many other places around that are better and more reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelfamily1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed sea biscuit also viewed

Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing