We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice and Relaxing”
Review of Lindenwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lindenwood Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Had been to another B&B in Southwest Harbor before that we had enjoyed in the past, but thought we'd try another. We found the Lindenwood to be very nice as well. The owners and staff were very pleasant and casual. We thought that the breakfast was excellent, the room very nice and comfortable, and we really enjoyed the hot tub and pool after a day of hiking in Acadia. Definitely will try to get back here again. Maybe this fall if we can find the time.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cmax55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Lindenwood Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 193 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

We had a large family event and need a place to accommodate all of us. We booked 13 of the 15 rooms in this lovely three building property. The Innkeepers were more than accommodating with our many special requests. We all had beautiful rooms with comfortable beds and had the run of the house, which we used until well into the night! The penthouse room has a ver large private outdoor deck, ideal for private family time. The pool and hot tub were available but a little cold this year when we were there. The separate cottage was perfect for my nephew and his family with a loft sleeping area and a private bedroom, kitchen and bath. The rates were more than reasonable and Jim was great to work with. Oh, you should know, they serve an elegant, filling breakfast, ( included in the price) and left the coffee pot on all day for us.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room on the property!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Where to begin. We originally came up for one night and ended up staying two. We came on the off season and had only a few other guests who we only bumped into once or twice. Beautiful house with multiple fireplaces, a brand new huge kitchen, lovely international decor. I saw pieces from the south pacific, Australia, Africa- the interior style is quite lovely and warm. Our room was clean, quiet, well lit, well aired, bathroom was spacious&clean complete with an antique claw tub. Breakfast was spectacular both mornings. Honor system fully stocked bar, tea and coffee station all day. Pool and hot tub. Location: excellent food at Red Sky (white table cloth, pricy) and Jay Dubs (down home, very hearty portions, run by the wife in the kitchen and a husband running the tables- they're a riot trading quips back and forth, surprisingly very original food/drinks, my lady had a fresh made habanero bloody mary and I had a jameson and chai, everything including from the bread to the sauce on my meatball sub is made on the spot. Everything. Jay makes his own ice cream and I missed out on his homemade vodka blueberry lemonade. Go there.) Good local store open late with a full deli- Motts. The wine and cheese spot on the corner is good too. Southwest Harbor is only 15 mins or so away from the park and all of its lovely vistas and cubbyholes. Its quieter because of that which we liked. In the season, there are still plenty of lobster shacks nearby. Go for the penthouse suite (the Churchill I call it) if its available- huge deck overlooking the harbor. Easy to find, very affordable, wonderful hosts that didn't breathe down your neck. We're going back in a few months.. See you there!

Room Tip: Go to the top or the one directly below it.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnwhotravelsAlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed only one night but wish it could have been longer. The staff was so friendly and helpful and suggested restaurants and points of interest. Our room on the 2nd floor (#7) was very nice with a little balcony over looking the harbor. Loved the contemporary feeling yet historic charm. Breakfast was so special, blueberry pancakes, egg and bacon plus juice and scones. Loved the cute bar for a glass of wine before dinner. Would recommend this B+B for anyone wanting to stay away from the hubbub of Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan42469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I've stayed at inns around the world & without a doubt The Lindenwood Inn keeps calling me back. Throughout the 15 years that I've frequented the inn, it has never disappointed. From the moment you step through the door beauty and comfort abound. The Innkeepers have created an almost magical environment where your every need is catered to seamlessly. You are instantly at ease in their presence & feel like pampered guests your entire stay. From the gorgeous tiled hot tub, to the exquisitely adorned, unique guest rooms, to the classy bar which operates on the honor system, you will fully enjoy your stay. I guarantee it!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this bed and breakfast. Aside from finding that our hosts were fellow Aussies, all staff were so warm and genuine and keen to make sure everything was to our liking. The atmosphere is charming, and ever care is taken to add to that feeling of comfort and pleasure. The the room we had was their "smallest", and yes, it wasn't huge, but it was beautifully presented, with a private bathroom and luxury details. The brekkies were lovely, and the room rates were really decent for what you get! We drove to Bar Harbour, went hiking in the national park, had a great dinner at the Burning Tree, and finished the day with a beer (from the Inn's own bar) in the jacuzzi. It is no surprise that this Inn has a loyal return-customer base.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have been visiting this charming inn since the late 90's. It so relaxing and inviting. The rooms are comfortable, well furnished and eclectic in their appeal. The innkeepers are terrific fun. The breakfasts are inventive and well prepared. We like rooms 4 and 6, but if you want to swing for a bit more, look at 5 and the penthouse. There is a pool which we haven't used as we are often there when it is too cold. The inn is on the quiet side of Mt Desert Island, home of Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park - reasons for visiting alone. Many lobster pounds, lots of trails to walk or hike, beautiful park to visit. Don't wait! Go and stay at the Lindenwood - quiet and restfull.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
9.1 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
429 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
91 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
9.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Harbour Cottage Inn
The Harbour Cottage Inn
#2 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindenwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindenwood Inn

Address: 118 Clark Point Rd, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4414
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Southwest Harbor
Price Range: $162 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lindenwood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Sea Captain's Home turned into a unique harbor side Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Lindenwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindenwood Hotel Southwest Harbor
Lindenwood Inn Maine/Southwest Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing