We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and a quiet location”
Review of Lindenwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lindenwood Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming and a quiet location”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The inn consists of two old sea captains' houses on a quiet street in a subdued Southwest Harbor. We had a small room in the second house; while clean and well-appointed, we probably would have spent a more comfortable night in the main building with a cross breeze. We were made to feel at home, however, and the breakfasts were outstanding, whether taken in the dining room or on the porch. Southwest Harbor and nearby Seal Harbor are great places to relax away from that "other peninsula." We would return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GDK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    37
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
133
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belle Mead, NJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We chose to stay in Southwest Harbor to avoid the tourist throngs in Bar Harbor. Loved the quiet side of MDI. The inn is a great 1904 mansion we stayed in the pool house with our 2 kids. They had a loft with twin beds and we had a separate bedroom. Was great to stay at an inn with great breakfast and still have room for family. The manager could not have been more helpful and the food was truly outstanding. The decor was a bit tired in the pool house but did not phase us a bit because of the other great benefits of the place..pool, hot tub, porch, walk to town......highly recoed!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awk206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
109 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This inn has a nice feel with an excellent breakfast served on the porch in the summer months. The small pool and hot tub are welcome additions that you won't find in this area. The inn is decorated in an modern style with many Asian touches and none of the cutesy kitsch that you find still in too many US B and Bs.

That said the rooms are quite small and don't get that much air circulation. We were in Acadia in early July when they were suffering a heat wave. With no AC and a surprising amount of road noise, it was difficult to sleep. However, this is still probably your best option in this area with limited newer and up to date properties.

Room Tip: Room #4 is cute, less expensive and has as much space as some of the larger rooms. Room #7 has ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatureEnthusiast7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and I just spent 4 nights here and the place exceeded our expectations. We wanted that quiet, off the beaten path place to explore out from and that we did! The property is in a very quiet neighborhood -- no road noise of any kind. Esther is the manager and just a delight -- if you want to talk and get the inside scoop on things to do, just ask. She has excellent suggestions. If you aren't interested in socializing, you can do that to and no one bothers you. What a treat to be in a place where no one locks their doors! They have a variety of sizes an style of rooms -- we originally opted for a small room but upgraded when we saw what else was available Selected Room 12 -- nice view, nice porch/balcony, cute little gas fireplace in the wall and EXTREMELY comfortable bed. Like sleeping late and this made it doubly difficult to get up for breakfast by 9 am, Breakfast every morning was muffins, fresh fruit, coffee, juice plus pancakes, eggs, bacon or sausage. I even asked for oatmeal and they made it for me and another guest. I used the hot tub but not the pool and we were the only guests there -- like having our own house and pool. Everything is clean, run efficiently, and first rate. If you want to stay in Bar Harbor it is much more crowded and like being in a city -- especially when the cruse ships are in town. The drive over is about 20 minutes and it's so much nicer to stay in SW Harbor than in the thick of things. BTW, consult with Esther on places to eat -- she seems to be a foodie like me and was spot on with her suggestions. From this location you and literally walk to town and several great restaurants. Can't speak highly enough about our stay at this B&B,
s

Room Tip: Loved Toom 12 for the king bed and the comfort, the porch and private entrance we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodfoodguy747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

As first time visitors to Maine, the charming Lindenwood Inn nestled in the quaint Southwest Harbor community is certainly one of the best B&Bs experences we've had in our many travels. We arrived late on a rainly evening and felt as if we were coming home as we entered the door on the front porch. The decor nicely maintains the lovely character of the inn with tasteful updates. A cozy fire blazes in the living room hearth with a scented candle lit on nearby table - the perfect spot to a sip a glass of wine and reminisce after a long day of travel or enjoying the outdoor actvities of Acadia National Park. Our pleasant second floor room was clean and bright wth an extra-comfy bed, clawfoot tub, and small balcony from which the high and low tides in the harbor could be observed. Breakfast each day was a gourmet treat, includng a served hot entree complemented by a self-serve bar with fresh mixed fruit, scrumptous baked goods, and beverages. Fred was most accommodating of dietary restrictions (which we hadn't mentioned prior to our visit). What a nice surprise it was on our second day to come to breakfast and find that he had already modifed the main entree and set aside a specal bowl of fruit - the blueberry crepe (wthout an egg) was scrumptious and most appreciated. The owners and other staff members are genuine and friendly - the nicest folks you'll ever meet! Tthe location of the inn makes access to the park easy, as well as travel on and off the island. Southwest Harbor is a delightful town with good local restaurants, a fine bakery, and shops, but not the congestion of the more "touristy" areas - a true treasure. Many thanks to all - we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Advise from the owner about room selection was most helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roctraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Wow; I feel compelled to write a full review after reading a prior one which seems oddly "off."

First, understand (if you don't know MDI/ Acadia) that Southwest Harbor (town) is THE hidden gem of the island. One goes here for "quaint" mixed with ocean, quiet morning strolls, late-night ice cream, and a feel of "real" Maine. There is one of the islands best hikes (FM), one of the island's best views (FM), best freshwater swim spots (EL), best sandwiches (EaP), best bakeries (LN), good bike rental, kayak rental, sail and power rental, a (overpriced yet excellent) French Bakery, best tidal sluice dam with occasional daredevil kayaker, and best wine stores (S) within 5 minutes of this spot. Yes golf. I could stay busy here without car for 4-5 days. A little restaurant nearby (S's) packs bands in with some frequency and has very good eats. There is a charming underlying culture of real tradesmen and real fishermen here- like Nantucket in the 1960's before the investment bankers bought everybody out.

Want tacky t-shirts, Apple Vacations, and packed tour boats? DON'T GO HERE. Go to Bar Harbor. Old people with more money than brains? Go to Northeast Harbor and related club. Have you been to Paia on Maui? SW is the Paia of MDI before the silly Keith Richardson's and "hip" Calif women with Benz's discovered/ruined it. In the summer FREE LL Bean buses take you where you need to go (but a car is preferred).

There are several good-to-very good (one gourmet-RS) restaurants within walking distance- each with it's own charm. Prices are a bit lower here; that's the "hidden" part. (Except remember: these folks have to earn a year's survival $$ in 3 months time)

We visited in May, and our experience was nothing short of fantastic. Owners are indeed casual, amusing Australians (which a prior reviewer seemed to object to). If you seek privacy, they will respect; if they sense you enjoy interaction, they will greet you with a drink when you return at the end of the day. (We found ourselves skipping dinner one evening just to enjoy a folk "jam" session on the front porch.) No, they do not stand at the front desk 19 hours per day, but this is part of the charm. At times you feel like this beautiful old lady is YOUR mansion, as you sit by the welcome fire (in May at least)!

The structure itself is entrancing- an extremely graceful, historic "mini-mansion" (whaling??) which has been restored to perfection inside, and all rooms gutted and upgraded while retaining an old-world flavor. (There was a rebuild project underway on an upper deck- remember, this was preseason) Very clean kitchen. During the day, unoccupied rooms were left open, and I can tell you (from snooping) that each of them were meticulously and beautifully restored and upgraded, while retaining old-world charm (e.g. tubs and old fixtures with shower surround). No "grunge" here! (I am a sensitive sleeper; I would avoid a room on the road side in mid-summer.)

Water pressure great, hot water great, no blow dryers (bring one!), no wide screen TVs (go to a Marriott!), free internet, music playing downstairs. We liked the mattress comfort enough to check the brand. Eclectic Pacific and Polynesian art blends well throughout. Some hand-painted floors in rooms. Room views of harbor, historic home roof-tops, trees. Beautifully decorated small pool and separate hot-tub, well-maintained. (Where can you get those in Maine??) Water landing just behind the Inn where you can catch a charming boatride to several enchanting locations. Brochures in the lobby and free internet make it impossible to NOT figure out boat timings etc. (Hint-hint)

Breakfasts truly ARE near-gourmet (owners are former restauranteers) and Fred even designed one breakfast around our suggestions the 2d morning!) Uses local ingredients where possible. Good snacks left out throughout the day. Daily cleaning of rooms is very thorough and -best- they air each room out so when you return it smells wonderful! (who else does THAT?!)

Whew; I hope that covers it all. Return? You bet. Best deal? Low low off-peak rates. Me? Demanding 55yo Mid-Atl (and some NY) guy who appreciates charm, value, food.

Room Tip: Top floor room is huge and spectacular. I counted small pool/large hot tub as "fitness center...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HungryHoratio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our last stay at the Lindenwood Inn was our third. It gets better each time. This time we stayed a full week. When we arrived we found a note from Fred that we were upgraded to the suite and to make ourselves at home; an easy assignment. Breakfast: you start with the self serve buffet of fresh fruit, juices, cereal, nuts, granola, yogurt, muffins or cake, great coffee, and tea selection. Then you get breakfast; something different each day; eggs, omelets, blueberry pancakes; all done with a special herb, sauce, syrup, or jam.
Jim, Fred, and Mario create a friendly and relaxed accommodation. We love the jacuzzi and heated pool. You are welcome to bring lunch or dinner in and eat on the porch or dining room. We only had one day of bad weather which we spent in front of the fire reading. It was a welcome rest after the 8 mile hike the day before.
Southwest Harbor is our favorite town on the island. Great restaurants, friendly residents, and hometown feel. We are ready to go back for another week.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
9.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
9.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
9.3 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#14 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
2.5 mi away
Asticou Inn
Asticou Inn
#1 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindenwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindenwood Inn

Property: Lindenwood Inn
Address: 118 Clark Point Rd, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4414
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Southwest Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Sea Captain's Home turned into a unique harbor side Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Lindenwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindenwood Hotel Southwest Harbor
Lindenwood Inn Maine/Southwest Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing