We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Southwest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Jim and I stayed here for 4 nights and were totally pleased with our experience. Sandy & Esther were a great team and prepared delicious breakfasts each day. It was ideal to be on the "quiet side" rather than in Bar Harbor. We totally enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to anyone who looks for a quiet, but friendly, place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolandjim733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 290 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed two nights at this beautiful B&B. Sandy and Ester were great! The food was delicious and the atmosphere relaxing. Nice place away from the business of Bar Harbor but close enough to go for the day once or twice, like we did. Beal's is a great easy place to walk too. We would go back again! Thank you both.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banksbanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was wonderful and different each morning, we enjoyed eating on the porch. Sandy and Esther were so helpful--they went above and beyond during our stay and made us feel at home. The room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. Fresh baked cookies in the afternoon was a plus! Overall, a great experience, would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palmtrees16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The breakfasts were wonderful. Sandy and Ester were so nice and provided good suggestions. The additional amenities--walking sticks, wine glasses, continual coffee--were a pleasant addition. We would certainly go again.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank car0lyn95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

You can go anywhere or do anything once and think it is terrific, but how many times have you tried to duplicate the experience and been disappointed? You will love this Inn more each time you visit. Sandy and Esther are the heart and soul of the experience. They are the friendliest and nicest people you will ever meet. The Inn is clean and filled with eclectic antiques. The invisible Blanca somehow kept out room clean no matter how messy we were. Their breakfasts are a highlight of our visit, and will become yours as well! We bike almost everyday at Acadia, and the gourmet breakfasts are exactly what we need to carry us through a long hard ride. The Inn's wrap-around porch is perfect for an evening glass of wine. Esther's advice on local eateries, events and places of interest is invaluable.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank BubbaMo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband and I spent 6 nights at the Inn at Southwest in early August - we were there 3 nights for a business meeting and then stayed on for 3 nights to have fun. The Inn is lovely with a beautiful covered porch that's perfect for reading, having morning coffee, or an evening glass of wine. The breakfasts were delicious and generous and the menu was never the same. We had a room on the third floor which was fine for us but if you have bad knees, you might want to ask for the 2nd floor. Sandy and Esther are Excellent hosts and are sensative to any special food requests and are always ready to answer questions about the area or make suggestions. The Inn is on the main street but is very quiet - only once were we woken up by traffic noise and that was the once weekly street cleaner, driving what sounded like a tank. If we should be in Maine again - and I hope we are - we would happily stay at the Inn at Southwest.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at The Inn at Southwest 4 or 5 times now, and it is hard to think of going to Acadia without staying there. Sandy and Esther make every part of the experience wonderful. First, they are gracious and helpful in answering questions about the area, providing many good suggestions. Second, the breakfasts are varied, and unbelievably good--served in warm and elegant surroundings. Third, we have stayed in several of the rooms, and each is beautifully decorated, are exceedingly comfortable, and the only way to describe the level of cleanliness is "pristine." The little touches--24-hour availbility of coffee/tea, cookies in the afternoon, a comfortable place to sit and read, a wide collection of books to be read--add to the enjoyment of the place. Everything about the experience is first-rate. Again, we can't think of going to Acadia without staying with Esther and Sandy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike and Jeanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
0.4 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
197 reviews
9.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
9.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Harbour Cottage Inn
The Harbour Cottage Inn
#2 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
301 reviews
1 mi away
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbor Ridge
Harbor Ridge
#2 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Southwest

Address: 371 Main St, PO Box 593, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4404
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Southwest Harbor
Price Range: $125 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed properties on Mt Desert Island and overlooking beautiful Southwest Harbor, the Inn at Southwest combines elegant Victorian charm and gracious hospitality. The inn is within walking distance of restaurants, shopping, the marina, and lobster wharves. The inn is located only 5 minutes from Acadia National Park and 20 minutes from Bar Harbor. Enjoy gourmet breakfasts, afternoon tea and beautiful Acadia National Park on the quiet side of Mt. Desert Island soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Southwest Maine/Southwest Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing