We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kudos to all that work in this place!”

Common Good Kitchen Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
New Jersey, USA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Kudos to all that work in this place!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Common Good is run by Larry and Laurie and all their extraordinary volunteers. During the summer months they serve popovers, oatmeal and tea & coffee. The popovers were scrumptious. A volunteer brought them out for me – hot and fresh.
My husband and I also ate dinner during the Night Sky Festival as we attended Astronomy 101 Exploring the Night Sky- Celebrating the starlit skies of Downeast Maine, Ron Thompson presented everything you wanted to know about the night sky but were afraid to ask. The food and service was great.
Best view of the harbor!
And the best part is that the proceeds then go to feed the elderly and economically stressed residents during the winter months.
Kudos to all that work in this place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Queen56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ossining, New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fill your belly and their's”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

MDI is a magical island to visit during the summer months...hoards of tourists, lots of seasonal work. But I can imagine how hard things must be during the winter months. Common Good serves two purposes. First and foremost, they feed the elderly and economically stressed residents of MDI. To do so, they raise money by serving delicious popovers, oatmeal and coffee during the summer months...and kindly ask for a donation. The food was great! The popovers were hot and fresh, practically made to order. The coffee was spot on. But the best part of the entire experience is that the money we left in the drop box, however much we decided to leave, would go to feeding people during the long hard Maine winter.

In 10-years do coming to Acadia, this was the MOST fulfilling meal we have ever eaten, for our stomachs and our souls.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joshua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Rhode Island, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best atmosphere & value & breakfast - I'm going every day.”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

It's a soup kitchen that serves an excellent breakfast to tourists in the summer to fund all their winter activities. Come in, stuff yourself on the oatmeal bar, coffee, tea, & juice, (& wifi since there's no cell reception) and of course their signature fresh hot popovers. (amazing) likely as not you'll be treated to live music too. All this for whatever you can donate. I wish breakfast was always this good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scoutout8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great popovers, great atmosphere”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stopped by here after biking by and seeing the "popovers, 7:30 to 11:30" sign outside. Delicious popovers with butter and jam, and nice view over the seawall in Manset. Everything is free, and then people donate, and they use the money to sponsor a soup kitchen and community meals in the winter. Very friendly people -- loved being there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best popovers in Acadia”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

...and more importantly you can actually do something to give back to an area that offered you such a beautiful vacation. In the summer this place serves up excellent popovers (best in the park area), fresh and local wild blueberry and strawberry jam, good coffee, juice, oatmeal with lots of fixings, and friendly company. The folks who volunteer and run the place keep everything stocked with hot popovers constantly coming out of the oven. This place works on donations and hopefully people are generous since they use this money to fund community programs and serve hot meals in the winter. Strongly recommend and hope folks will support their wonderful work!!! Oh, and the view is really breathtaking. Check it out!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ttaylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Common Good Kitchen Cafe also viewed

Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Common Good Kitchen Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing