We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return to your childhood home or grandmother's house.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penury Hall Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Penury Hall Bed & Breakfast
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Return to your childhood home or grandmother's house.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

The website very well represents this property, but it should be noted that the private baths are not en suite. Now that cruise ships abound during the season, it is so pleasant to retreat to the quiet side of this beautiful island. Your hostess Gretchen has a wealth of historical information and dependable recommendations. The scrumptious breakfasts start your day off right at this genuine bed and breakfast experience. Welcome home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    15
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pittsfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Everything was lovely, from pre-trip arrangements to arrival, king bedroom, private bath, delicious breakfasts with homemade muffins, biscuits, egg soufflé, engaging and helpful hostess, and wonderful location in Southwest Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skierstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewartstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at Penury Hall for a week of rest and relaxation. Penury Hall was the perfect accommodation for achieving our goal. We wanted to get away from it all and the limited electronic invasion of our senses was put on hold for the week, allowing us to rediscover the joys of quietude and nature's beauty. There was a TV available in the common room, if we had wanted to reconnect. Gretchen was the perfect host, providing delicious breakfasts, interesting conversation and a clean welcoming environment. Penury Hall in centrally located in SW Harbor, allowing for an easy walk to some very nice restaurants, antiques and shopping. Binders of information pertaining to MDI Points of Interest and Restaurants as-well-as maps were available. We'll stay there again when we visit MDI.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I would recommend Penury Hall who those who are looking for a inexpensive no frills B & B. Gretchen, the host, is helpful and caring. Her breakfast was good as well. No TV, unstable wi-fi and no bathroom toilteries were minuses

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just had a great stay at the Penury! Gretchen was a perfect host and she made us feel very welcome. Relaxing and casual environment. Would recommend and would definitely return in the future. Great base to explore all sides of Acadia.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Hook, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Penury Hall, on the quiet side of Mount Desert Island, is a wonderfully quaint property conveniently located right in the village of Southwest Harbor. Everything one needs is within walking distance of this well kept and well managed B & B. Gretchen, the proprietor, is friendly and well-versed in all the local history, not to mention points of interest. She also makes the best breakfasts in Southwest Harbor! We stayed for five nights and quickly attached ourselves to her and truly felt right at home here. I would highly recommend this B & B over any in Bar Harbor, especially if you are looking for more local flavor and less of a tourist experience. Don't miss Thurston's Restaurant in Bass Harbor for lunch. From this venue, you can watch the lobster boats come into harbor and offload the fresh catch right under your nose. Not to be missed!

Room Tip: The Crew's room has twin beds that can convert to a king or remain separated for two. The other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
131 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We spent six nights at Penury Hall, using it as a base for our tour of Acadia National Park, and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. From the moment we arrived we felt welcome - our hostess Gretchen wasn't home when we arrived but she had put a note on the door letting us know what room we were in and where to find the essentials - no fuss no bother, all very relaxed, which set the tone for our stay.
The House is right on Main Street, easy to find and couldn't be closer to the 'hotspots' of Southwest Harbor. If you are looking for the bustle of a busy town you won't find it here - Southwest Harbor is on the quiet side of MDI and all the better for it. If you want excitement go to Bar Harbor, but if you want peace and quiet Southwest Harbor is definitely the place to stay.
The house itself is old and quirky, lots of interesting art work and ornaments, but you feel this is a real home not a museum. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with thoughtful touches provided - the African 'cover alls' are terrific for that short hop across the hall to the bathroom. We stayed in the Admiral's Room, which looks over the Main Street, there was some traffic noise in the morning but nothing that was too intrusive and it served as our wake up call! Our private bathroom had a great shower and a powereful hairdryer which is something I struggle to find some times in the States.
Gretchen is a wonderful host -she does everything she can to make your stay memorable - and is a wealth of knowledge on the local area, places to visit, eat, drink and - very importantly to us - good hikes to do. We really enjoyed arriving 'home' in the evenings and sharing our adventures with her. She always had time to stop and chat to us which made us feel very welcome. We made a point of joining her in the lounge each evening just to have a chat - we were the only guests there at the time who used the lounge, the others didn't know what they were missing! Our evening chats soon became a highlight of our stay.
Gretchen's breakfasts are great - lots of variety with a different cooked dish each day. She makes an awesome blueberry pancake and her Popovers were the stuff of legends - once we had accepted the concept of a giant Yorkshire Pudding for breakfast! Plenty of choice of cereals and enough varieties of tea to make your head swim!
By the end of our stay we felt more like family than guests in a B & B - the hospitality is warm and genuine and the whole experience was a total delight. Thanks a million Gretchen.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front of the house so there was a little traffic noise, other rooms may be quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McPidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
0.4 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
9.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Harbour Cottage Inn
The Harbour Cottage Inn
#2 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
10.7 mi away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penury Hall Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penury Hall Bed & Breakfast

Property: Penury Hall Bed & Breakfast
Address: 374 Main St, Box 68, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4245
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Southwest Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable, rambling village home on the quiet side of Mt. Desert Island with three guest rooms, all with private baths. Walking distance to a variety of restaurants and close to Acadia National Park and all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Penury Hall Bed & Breakfast Maine/Southwest Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing