We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the quiet side of MDI”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Penury Hall Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Lovely house, great food, excellent hospitality from Gretchen. Thank you for letting us watch the baseball! We are now safe back in the UK and are missing the lobster and the friendly people of Maine. Thanks you for a great stay, we hope to be back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizHoward_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Penury Hall Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 43 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2011

Penury Hall is a wonderfully Maine-like place full of mementos and antiques, with comfy beds, private baths and hearty breakfasts. It's convenient to restaurants, a wonderful museum (Wendell Gilley), and of course the spectacular natural beauty of Acadia.

Gretchen is warm and kind.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sydneyp30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Lovely Room, Delightful Hostess. The BnB is quiet, but located near restaurants. Our Hostess, Gretchen Strong, was wonderful. She had wonderful sightseeing suggestions. It is away from the crowds of Bar Harbor. We loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Attractive family like atmosphere, delicious breakfasts, and a charming friendly owner. A really top notch B&B.

Room Tip: Make your reservation well in advance.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Penury Hall is the best B&B to stay! It's situated in the middle of Southwest Harbor, at 1 minute walk of different restaurants and Sawyer's Market, a cute and old style market.
Gretchen is a wonderful hostess, she will help you plan your trip through all of the best activities and place you should go.
The rooms are quiet, clean and cozy and they all got their private bathroom. You'll even found some chocolate in your room, over the dresser!
It you plan to go to Bar Harbor in a cozy and friendly place, choose Penury Hall!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FF B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Penury Hall is comfortable, convenient, affordable, and extremely pleasant. Gretchen Strong is a great host -- friendly but never intrusive. We've stayed there twice, and felt both times like we were guests in a friend's home. Rooms are comfortable, although bathrooms are across the hall. Breakfasts are great, different each day, and the house is right in the center of town, close to restaurants and other amenities.

I f you're seeking luxury or cutesiness, Penury Hall is not likely to charm you. But if you're looking for a place where you can feel comfortable and at home, it's perfect. One of the reviews on this website is extremely negative. I feel like we stayed at an entirely different place than that reviewer did...twice. I would happily recommend Penury Hall to any friends and family, and have in fact done so. I expect to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prabinow45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

My husband and I have visited several times over the past few years and Gretchen's hospitality has been impeccable every time. This is the kind of B&B that we happen to like--not overly fussy and precious, but with the right amount of handholding for the well-informed traveler. We usually spend our days in MDI hiking, biking, etc. and Gretchen is great about late night returns, which is a problem at some B&Bs. If you don't care for the tourist trap that is Bar Harbor and have a car (which is a must), Southwest Harbor is the much nicer place to stay and the best lobster pound in the country (Thurston's) is a hop and a skip away (okay 10 min. by car) nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D0g_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
0.4 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
193 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
91 reviews
9.3 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
690 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
134 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Harbour Cottage Inn
The Harbour Cottage Inn
#2 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penury Hall Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penury Hall Bed & Breakfast

Address: 374 Main St, Box 68, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4245
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Southwest Harbor
Price Range: $65 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable, rambling village home on the quiet side of Mt. Desert Island with three guest rooms, all with private baths. Walking distance to a variety of restaurants and close to Acadia National Park and all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Penury Hall Bed & Breakfast Maine/Southwest Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing