We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Southwest Harbor
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveler rating
92
65
23
15
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
92
65
23
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews croquet courts boat house somes sound phillips house dockside bar classic new england back porch cold buffet water view wonderful porch air conditioning year after year living room acadia national park minute drive quiet side rowboat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 205 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2019

Great historic hotel, exceptional staff and location. Wonderful porch to enjoy watching the water and boats. Restruant in the hotel is very good and your room includes a full breakfast. Very comfortable rooms with the fireplace in the lobby providing a great place to relax.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2019

My husband and I spent two nights at the Claremont -- reserving a king bed room on the 2nd floor with a lovely view out over the harbor. It was a lovely setting-- the bed was comfortable and the room was nice and clean. The bath room was tiny, but adequate. We enjoyed strolling around the hotel and seeing that this is a place where people come year after year-- to play in croquet tournaments, to do puzzles in the large rooms downstairs, and rock in the chairs on the wide verandahs. We did not do any of these activities, other than rocking on the verandah. We did eat once at the restaurant down by the water-- a nice lunch there. We were struck by how people line up to eat-- hurry down to the bar kind of thing. If anything, we felt a little out of place because we were just kind of there to relax. One woman even stopped me and told me that we were staying in her favorite room, so then I felt guilty.

Nevertheless we found this a great spot to plant ourselves as we soaked in the Acadia NP sights. There are some lovely walks nearby (driving to get there), also part of the NP, plus the lighthouse farther along. We were a mere 20 minutes from Bar Harbor but away from the bustle of the tourists there. Downtown Southwest Harbor was bustling, though-- had a nice luncheon downtown at a cafe that had a sensational blueberry pie for dessert.

We tried the breakfast one morning-- we missed one morning because we wanted to get to Acadia early and breakfast wasn't served until 8 am. We were in Bar Harbor by then. But we had breakfast the next morning -- and it was ok, but nothing exceptional.

We enjoyed staying in a big old Inn, but not sure that we'd go back there again.

Room tip: a corner king room was a good sized room
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SueBirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2019

You feel like you've stepped back in time as you approach this historic hotel. There are three croquet courts in the back yard, a tennis court in the front, wicker rocking chairs on the deep porch overlooking the water, partially solved jigsaw puzzles waiting on tables in the comfortable common area and a fire crackling in the fireplace. Rooms were very comfortably furnished with antiques, and the water pressure in the showers was fantastic! The breakfasts were good and in a very nice dining room, but the servers were having a hard time keeping up and seemed a bit unorganized. Loved that they had their own personalized china.

Room tip: There is no traffic. We had a second floor corner room, so we only had one neighbor.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank connieherringdine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2019 via mobile

We had two nights here in late September. I’ve never been more disappointed and I’m so annoyed for not reading the reviews of previous guests on TA. This hotel has seen better days and if the owners continue to ignore issues being raised by guests, there wont be many more days. The fact there’s been no response to TA reviews since July 2017 speaks volumes. Management isn’t listening.

It’s true, you couldn’t get a more perfect setting for a hotel and from the outside, looking in, it’s fabulous. But once inside, disappointed sets in.

With 2 weeks until the end of season, it felt like the staff had already clocked off for the season. And I literally mean clocked off. The staff still have to “clock on and off” at the start and end of a shift. This is so old school but in the words of one of the staff “the owners” love it. Well I’m sorry, get with the times. That is no way to motivate staff and goes a long way to explaining staff attitudes. Similarly, having a policy that automatically adds 18% “gratuity” on all drinks and food also takes away the motivation for staff to actually provide a service.

We booked a king bed room with harbour view and had room 105. The room was actually very nice. Quite spacious and room for our two large suitcases. The bed was very comfortable and the view was stunning. The staff were helpful in getting our luggage up in the elevator. It’s a really old fashioned elevator that needs to be operated by staff so if you can’t do stairs ask for a room on the 1st floor. You know when you’re booking a hotel of this vintage, you’re not getting all the mod cons. Its actually part of the beauty of staying at an historic building.

There is beautifully decorated public lounge space on the ground floor but it was disappointing that the two fire places didn’t have roaring, welcoming fires.

There’s no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms. Coffee is put out at 6.30am and taken away at 10.00am. When we asked for an afternoon coffee after being out and about these times were reiterated to us before finally being told she’d have to get permission. Seriously- $300 a night and you can’t get coffee.

Lovely bar area, sitting rooms and porch but the bar doesn’t open until 6.00pm and you can’t have your own purchased alcohol except in your room because, quote “we are licensed”. We even had to sign a form agreeing to this. If you’re going to put these rigorous rules in place at least open the bar at 4.00 or 5.00pm so guests can relax and enjoy a drink. Everything is designed to encourage social integration but without a drink!

The restaurant was a major disappointment. The menu options very limited, the service poor. Our server was a European student on a working visa. She had no professionalism and even told us it was her last day. And we had to tip her 18% for the pleasure. Worse still, it’s closed on Monday night and we weren’t told this.

The breakfast set up was odd. Cold buffet set out but hot dishes ordered. Very limited options. No toast available, no black tea, just camomile and all the condiments, including milk, was kept up front. The napkins actually looked like folded up paper towel. Again the waitress attitude was “icey”. Second morning we could have eggs but only if you like them over easy.

It is really quite sad because the building is iconic and the location spectacular but you can’t keep taking $300 a night and not providing the appropriate service.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ElizabethDonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2019

What an absolute delight and wonderful eight-night stay. This location was recommended by a friend who is a repeat visitor and we cannot say enough about The Claremont Hotel. We stayed in the Phillips House part of the property and loved having the community room adjacent to our room with the wonderful fireplace and comfy seating to wind up our our daily adventures. The property is on the Sommes Sound and offers beautiful views while dining in the restaurant and walking around the property. We had several dinners in the restaurant - highly recommend! Being in Southwest Harbor at The Claremont meant we didn't have to deal with elbow-to-elbow crowds of tourists yet still had that "relaxing vacation" vibe we were looking for, convenient in-town dining options and we were only about 30 minutes from the part of Acadia National Park we wanted to visit. The Claremont Hotel is definitely a jewel!

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank DallasNewTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews