We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a perfect honeymoon in a beautiful hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Claremont Hotel
Reviewed October 1, 2009

we loved our stay at the claremont hotel!
the staff was so helpful, the ambiance relaxing and elegant in an old-world kind of way.
we so enjoyed not having a computer, tv and radio!! the food was excellent, and my husband is Italian and certainly picky about his food---he gave the claremont a big thumbs up!
and besides all that, this part of maine is just gorgeous!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamieak73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 171 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2009

Our stay at the Claremont Hotel in Southwest Harbor was nearly perfect. We knew going in that this is an old-style hotel and not a modern chain. That's why we picked it. I don't know if you could find a more perfect location. We spent our afternoons sitting on the back porch in rockers or on the lawn in adirondack chairs sipping wine and watching the boats in the sound. The same view awaits all guests for breakfast. It's stunning. We were also treated to a croquet tournament while we were there, so we watched the matches as we ate. (The Claremount's croquet courts and equipment are open to guests. They also have a private dock and rowboats for guest use.)

The rooms were small and simple, but very comfortable. We had a beautiful sleigh bed with exceedingly comfortable linens. Our windows caught the cool breezes at night. On cool nights and days, the staff keeps a fire burning in the lobby. The fireplace is flanked by comfortable reading chairs.

The staff at the Claremont is wonderful. The level of service is quite high and they go out of their way to ensure guests' comfort.

My only complaint/concern about the Claremont is the level of maintenance. The grounds are BEAUTIFULLY maintained, but our room and a few other spots inside the hotel could use some work. There were obvious signs of water damage in our room (patches, open holes in the bathroom ceiling, staining on the ceiling) and while we were there, there was one active leak. We reported this to the staff and hope that it's a case of needing to wait until the off season to undertake major repairs. Other small items, like a broken spindle on the stair rail, caught our attention, too. Even with these issues, I'd stay at the Claremont again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lshane68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

We simply love the Claremont and have been coming here for years. There just aren't many hotels left like it. The working elevator is 19th century! There isn't a more gorgeous view from any hotel in New England and the relaxed, personal and historic feel of the place just can't be matched. To our amazement, the food -- which for many years was only okay -- is suddenly a highlight -- the new chef is terrific and the view from the dining room is as beautiful as Maine gets. This is a special place.

The accomodations are simple but mostly charming and vary greatly -- it is worth asking lots of questions when you book .

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbeque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

We stayed at the Claremont for 3 nights recently, and I can't wait to go back! What a wonderful, old-style New England hotel. If you are looking for something plush and luxurious, go elsewhere, but that is not what the Claremont is about.

The setting of the Claremont is gorgeous, right on the water, with pretty lawns leading right down to the harbor. There is a fire burning in the lobby fireplace at all times (or at least there was when we were there, even in late July), which lends a welcoming and cozy air from the moment you walk in the door. The common rooms are quiet and comfortable, and the ample porches a great place to read a book or enjoy a drink.

Our room was plenty large with a nice bathroom. Only the basics are there--comfortable bed, two wicker armchairs, and a dresser. No TV or radio--it's just not part of the experience at the Claremont. Wireless internet access was pretty reliable in our room and is free of charge. There is no A/C, but a fan was provided in our room.

Our first night we had a lovely dinner in Xanthus, the hotel's restaurant. It is a lovely room with views of the water, and the food was very good. A little expensive, but not out of line for the area or for the quality of the food. Breakfast is served in this same room, and it is warm and bright even when the weather is grey outside.

The hotel is impeccably clean and the service is easygoing yet attentive.

I had only two gripes--neither of which would keep me from going back. The first is not within the hotel's control: the noise from room to room is a little disruptive, and makes things feel a little less than private. Our last morning there our neighbors (couldn't tell if they were upstairs or next door) took showers at 5:30 am and the sound of the water in the pipes was so loud it woke us both. This is an old hotel so this kind of thing comes with the territory, but you should be aware that it isn't a soundproof place by any stretch.

The other matter IS within the hotel's control. Breakfasts were not up to snuff, in my opinion. The buffet includes fruit, cereal, and pastries, and is utterly forgettable. There are two hot choices each morning. The first morning I had blueberry pancakes which were excellent, but the second morning I had eggs which were below average. My boyfriend didn't think his breakfast was great either morning. Orange juice tasted like it was from concentrate. At a place like this (and with this price-tag), I expected a bit more.

Still, these problems aside, the Claremont is a very special place to which I hope to return again and again. For a wonderful Mt. Desert getaway, it's hard to imagine something better than this.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripsPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Grab a good book (either your own or one from the extensive hotel library) and enjoy one of the most peaceful and beautiful settings you can find in northern New England.
The website really does not do it justice.

While the hotel has changed little in 100+ years, the restaurant chef offered fresh modern cuisine and all the meals we had were fantastic.

Traveling with our 2 year old was a bit challenging here, but there are plenty of outdoor amenities for families with older children.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillDFarmingdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We have been going to the Claremont for 7 years. My spirits lift every year when we round the bend on Claremont Rd. and the hotel comes in to view. The hotel is so special and this year it is celebrating it's 125 anniversary, I hope it goes another 125 years! The view is spectacular from the back porch, the croquet courts are so timeless you can almost picture men and women in their white suits and long dresses from the late 1800's playing. The boathouse is the place for cocktails late in the day, to sit there you'd think you died and went to heaven, really!!! We can't say enough good stuff about the Claremont, the staff are very friendly and helpful. Southwest Harbor is a great little town. WE Love It.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southenderBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

The Claremont is one of those hotels that stay in your memory long after your trip. I almost debated writing a review to keep this place a secret - it is that amazing. But not amazing in a 5 star hotel type of way - the rooms are sparsely decorated but classy, there are no tv's, and the bathrooms are pretty standard. The room is basically a bed with some antique furniture and lamps....but somehow that's all you need here. The whole experience feels like a step back in time. The hotel and its gorgeous location allow the STUNNING Maine coastline to be the highlight. The wrap around porch with wicker rocking chairs and chess boards, the croquet courts on the lawn overlooking Somes Sound (the only fjord in the US), and the rowboats on the dock all beckon you to spend time relaxing the way people did a very long time ago. You just cant help but feel transported at this hotel. The hotel's restaurant, on the other hand, belongs in a 5 star hotel. The food is delicious and innovative, and I would have a hard time naming a more beautiful restaurant in New England (top 10 in the US for location).
The Claremont is located in Southwest Harbor, about 20 minutes from the tourist haven of Bar Harbor, and about 15 minutes from all the glory that is Acadia National Park.
If you are looking for a quiet getaway, this is the place. I will come back here for the rest of my life - again and again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aspen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
0.2 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
196 reviews
9.0 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
444 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
717 reviews
9.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,191 reviews
2.3 mi away
Asticou Inn
Asticou Inn
#1 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Address: PO Box 137, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-0137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Southwest Harbor
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Southwest Harbor
The Claremont Hotel Maine/Southwest Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing