We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We can hardly wait to go back every year!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Claremont Hotel
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We can hardly wait to go back every year!”
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We have been going to the Claremont for 7 years. My spirits lift every year when we round the bend on Claremont Rd. and the hotel comes in to view. The hotel is so special and this year it is celebrating it's 125 anniversary, I hope it goes another 125 years! The view is spectacular from the back porch, the croquet courts are so timeless you can almost picture men and women in their white suits and long dresses from the late 1800's playing. The boathouse is the place for cocktails late in the day, to sit there you'd think you died and went to heaven, really!!! We can't say enough good stuff about the Claremont, the staff are very friendly and helpful. Southwest Harbor is a great little town. WE Love It.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southenderBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    51
    16
    11
    5
See reviews for
31
103
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2009

The Claremont is one of those hotels that stay in your memory long after your trip. I almost debated writing a review to keep this place a secret - it is that amazing. But not amazing in a 5 star hotel type of way - the rooms are sparsely decorated but classy, there are no tv's, and the bathrooms are pretty standard. The room is basically a bed with some antique furniture and lamps....but somehow that's all you need here. The whole experience feels like a step back in time. The hotel and its gorgeous location allow the STUNNING Maine coastline to be the highlight. The wrap around porch with wicker rocking chairs and chess boards, the croquet courts on the lawn overlooking Somes Sound (the only fjord in the US), and the rowboats on the dock all beckon you to spend time relaxing the way people did a very long time ago. You just cant help but feel transported at this hotel. The hotel's restaurant, on the other hand, belongs in a 5 star hotel. The food is delicious and innovative, and I would have a hard time naming a more beautiful restaurant in New England (top 10 in the US for location).
The Claremont is located in Southwest Harbor, about 20 minutes from the tourist haven of Bar Harbor, and about 15 minutes from all the glory that is Acadia National Park.
If you are looking for a quiet getaway, this is the place. I will come back here for the rest of my life - again and again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aspen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2009

I just loved this place, and plan to return whenever possible. It's completely unpretentious, but brings you back to an era before bland corporate chain hotels. The inn is absolutely the real thing -- everything you'd imaging on the Maine coast: slightly spare, New England Yankee decor, but everything spic and span, fresh, and lovely. There's a huge porch with rockers; you can borrow oars to go into the harbor for a row; the green lawn spills down to the dock front; there's a croquet green. It's a board games and Cheever novels kind of place... but not at all obnoxious in a yacht club way. Our room was big, and extremely comfortable, with a giant four-poster bed, and separate room where our baby slept in a crib. The bathroom was sparkling and old-fashioned (in a good way). Everything here is solid, well-built, and done with plain good taste that will last for many more decades to come. The bar tender also made us each a great champagne cocktail that we took back to drink on the porch ... so swell. And the breakfast was also quite outrageous in its variety of choice and lavishness; the dining room is slightly formal, with white tablecloths, etc., but they welcomed our toddler in a super-friendly manner and we never felt uncomfortable. it's just a timeless summer place with unbeatable atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaRipCurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
101 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2008

What a very special place to spend a couple of days! Historic Hotel with a perfect view of the bay from rocking chairs on the veranda overlooking the lush green grounds and blooming flowers.

Rooms are not spacious, but adequate. Bathroom is more than adequate. The entire hotel is clean, comfortable and is a step back in time, which makes it the perfect place to be. Large lobby and sitting rooms with fireplaces and TV.

The dining room overlooks the water and serves excelent food by an attentative staff. Morning breakfast is substantial with both a cold buffet and made to order hot items. The evening menu is exciting and the quality is excellent.

This is the place to come to be away from the crowds and noise of Bar Harbor, yet close enough to allow an easy trip into Bar Harbor. The entire staff is very attentative, well trained and friendly.

We will be back again.

  • Liked — Quiet location
  • Disliked — Bar opening after 5:00 PM
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Prof Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
little rock arkansas
Level Contributor
290 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2008

It is hard to write a review of the Claremont Hotel, as the place is like none other. My family arrived at this 100+ year old hotel on the gorgeous Maine coast on a family vacation after previously staying at a 5-star Marriott hotel on the sea in New Hampshire. The Marriott had three pools and a spa and housed us in a two-story condo with full kitchen, washer-dryer, marble bath, two TV's and many other amenities. By contrast the Claremont did not even have a TV in the room, nor air conditioning, nor even a hair dryer, - no business center, no hot tub, no fitness center, and the rooms were small and sparsely furnished. Upon arrival, my family rolled their eyes and wondered what we were doing in this quirky place. To make a long story short, after 4 nights at the Claremont, my family did not want to leave and was busy quizzing the staff on how we can make reservations for a longer stay next summer! They had forgotten about the 5-star place altogether! Claremont is about as unique a place as you can dream up. It is amazing that it even exists. Dramatically sited on the Maine coast, the Hotel is fairly small with 4 stories of freshly painted and simply furnished rooms. We stayed for a night in a large adjacent old house called Phillips which was a little on the musty side but we then were able to move into the main hotel's "3rd floor" (which is actually the old attic) and we had two connecting rooms with a bath and a gorgeous view of the water and islands beyond. There are also cottages scattered about the property. We found plenty to do. We played croquet on one of three courts (they were actually having a very serious croquet tournament and the pros taught my daughter the fine points of the game on the kids' court). We used the hotel's one-speed bikes and pedaled all around Southwest Harbor. We played chess on their oversized lobby board, and used the hotel's little rowboats (after bailing out the previous night's rainwater). We walked the rocky shore at low tide and walked into the small but lively nearby Southwest Harbor town center. We never made it to the hotel tennis court but will do so next time. They had a jazz concert and a lecture on Winslow Homer by a curator at Smith College in their little garden room while we were there, mainly oriented to the adults. The breakfasts came with the room and were good. (We also took a great guided kayak trip elsewhere on the Island). It was a trip back in time. We totally loved it. and are hopeful to spend more of our 09 summer at the Claremont. If you go there with an attitude that things will be in perfect condition or that the staff will be corporately trained (although the assistant manager is a delightful chap who once worked for Marriott), you will be disappointed. If you want to try to get a feel for the quirkyness of 'old Maine" and walk the shore at low tide and enjoy a simple holiday, give the Claremont a try.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimjade3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Just returned from the long July Fourth weekend at The Claremont. We stayed in one of the Wentworth cottages for three nights, moving to a room at Phillips House for the fourth night . The studio held a very comfy queen bed, sitting area with gas fireplace, dining table and chairs, galley kitchen, and skylit bath. Our small deck opened to pine trees and a view of the Sound. The Phillips Hosue room (P-3) was charmingly furnished with a lovely water view, but the bath was too small for our comfort.

Rocking chairs on the hotel's long porch face the pristine lawn and an unforgettable view of Somes Sound. Two croquet courts offer a chance to play, relax, and slow down--which about sums up the experience at the Claremont. We watched fireworks on the Fourth from the hotel lawn.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and the service is friendly but not intrusive. The decor is coast-of-Maine simple (tastefully so), and the overall goal seems to be to allow guests to enjoy the spectacular setting in peace, quiet, and simple comfort.

Five stars!

  • Liked — Studio was very well designed, comfortable, perfect view
  • Disliked — Bath in Phillips House room was too small for two people to share comfortably
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nannarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
litchfield me
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2008

The Claremont has an old fashion cottagey coastal feel to it. The view from the room was spectacular. There is no tv in the room which was a relaxing change of pace from the manic channel-surfing I tend to do when there is one. The dinner was so-so but the breakfast was great. All coffee on Mount Desert Island is toilet water weak and the Claremont was some of the weakest. I am going back this summer,planning on making my own coffee. I found the staff to be very helpful and friendly, not at all pretentious.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — restaurant
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maineperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
9.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
9.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
9.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
9.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Property: The Claremont Hotel
Address: PO Box 137, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-0137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Southwest Harbor
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Claremont Hotel Southwest Harbor
The Claremont Hotel Maine/Southwest Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing