We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deck House at Pier One----Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pier One Vacation Rentals
Holden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Deck House at Pier One----Fabulous”
Reviewed September 10, 2009

My husband and I spent three wonderful nights over Labor Day weekend at the Deck House at Pier One. As previously stated it is a studio cottage with a huge deck. This is not a fancy place but had everything necessary for a great vacation. The deck is out over the water and just sitting there looking at the working harbor was extremely relaxing.
We had arranged for three nights there and three in Boothbay Harbor in a lovely B&B, but we really wished that we had spent the entire time at the Deck House. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Thank you! The two bedroom condo that we rented was fantastic and very accomindating. We had guest come and sty and we never flet like we were on top of each other. Beautiful views of Southwest Harbor and Arcadi Natioal Park. We could not have picked a better week for our vaction.

We look forward to coming back to Southwest Harbor agin soon.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackiemcbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

My husband and I loved our six nights at the "Deck House" at Pier One. The one-room cabin is next to Pier One suites but has its own private deck. It is lovely and comfortable for two persons, away from the tourist centers of the island. Staying there, however, we had the advantage of being close to Acadia National Park, the tidepools of Seawall, rental sails, and good coffee shops and lunch spots (Sips and Pita-to-Go) and restaurants (be sure to try the Red Sky Restaurant--and, of course, Beal's Lobster Pound nearby). We also very much enjoyed watching the tides come and go as we ate breakfasts, lunch, and dinners on our deck. The furnished kitchenette had a full stove with oven, refrigerator, and microwave for "self-catering". The Pier One wireless internet connection is available at the Deck House, although you need to be on the deck to pick up a strong signal. The hosts Don and Javier are welcoming and helpful, while allowing an appropriate level of privacy during the stay. I have difficulty adequately describing the restful beauty of this quiet spot on Southwest Harbor. We highly recommend the Deck House or, if you have a larger party and need more room, one of the Pier One Suites.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JL45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

We were looking for a place to celebrate our 41st wedding anniversary. We always wanted to see the Maine coastline and feast on "lobster". This was the place. It's location allowed us to spend many exiciting hours in Acadia National Park. Pier One was also centrally located to other interesting sites such as Bass Harbor, Wonderland, Ships Harbor and others.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank nona46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.C.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2009

We stayed at the Harbour Cottage Inn (HCI) previously and were completely overwhelmed by the graciousness of our hosts, the quality of the service, the room, the five star breakfasts and the overall attention to the small details which truly made our stay a memorable experience. On our return trip we decided to stay at Pier One, the sister property to HCI. Pier One offers more seclusion than HCI and the breakfasts are not included in the room rate, however if you are looking to have some privacy for an extended stay and all the amenities of home, you will enjoy Pier one. And if you are inclined, you can take a short stroll to HCI where for a modest price, you can have a truly superb gourmet breakfast to start your day. We stayed in the Topside which had two bedrooms, a living room, kitchen and a full bath. It did have a small balcony however we did not utilize it due to its size and an obstructed view of the water. I suggest that if you are looking for a place with common space and more interactions with fellow travelers, HCI would be a better choice. In fact, we did use the expansive HCI lawn to play tag with the kids on several occasions. All said, Don and Javier are excellent hosts and we would stay with them again..

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shakazito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meallen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2008

My girlfriend and I spent a week at Pier One at the beginning of August. We stayed in the Fok Sul suite, and upon our arrival, we knew we had made the right choice. The room was very comfy and cozy. The kitchen was well equipped and the deck was the place for many an evening cocktail as well as coffee every morning. It was great to watch the boats go out in the morning as well.

We can't say enough about Don and Javier. They were incredible hosts...and really had some great recommendations for sites to see as well as restaurants we wanted to try out. We had breakfast one morning at the Inn...and it was a real treat!

The location is so convenient. We walked to Southwest Harbor several days...and Bar Harbor, Acadia and Northeast Harbor are a mere stones throw away.

We would stay at Pier One again...without hesitation!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank meallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Mass
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2008

Was planning to vacation with a group of people (friends and family) and one of them actually selected this place - she has family in the area so I trusted her judgement. We stayed in a suite at Pier One and we were really impressed with the cleanliness of the place as well as the rustic decor. Bathroom was a bit small for 4 of us (3 females!!) but everything else was great.
Service provided by owners over at Harbor Cottage Inn was very good - helpful and personable employees as well. We were invited to breakfast at the Inn one day and really enjoyed a beautiful morning on the deck.
Location is a convenient walk into the town of Southwest Harbor with quaint little shops and several good restaurants.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Liked — Nice location with easy walk to town and nice view of harbor.
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PandDWesternMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
9.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
9.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
9.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier One Vacation Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Vacation Rentals

Property: Pier One Vacation Rentals
Address: 164 Clark Point Rd, PO Box 258, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679-4414
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Southwest Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pier One Vacation Rentals 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than a mile from Acadia National, Park Pier One combines the finest of Maine waterfront lodging with the beauty of a real working harbor location. Manicured grounds and private sundecks on a sheltered cove offer a unique Maine coastal setting. Come and enjoy the breathtaking views of Southwest Harbor from your beautifully appointed suite complete with kitchens or from our private 150-foot pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pier One Vacation Rentals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier One Vacation Rentals Maine/Southwest Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing