We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfront Eats”

McLoons Lobster Shack
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Soups
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Couldn’t ask for more waterfront Maine dining than this. Off the beaten path but worth the trip! Saw this listed on a few sites so decided to try it out. Beautiful waterfront location and great food and nice staff. Really felt like an authentic Maine lobster meal. Good prices and great food. Glad we travelled down to try it out.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank kristen902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We bicycled to this destination after seeing a road sign showing it was seven miles away. Wow, are we glad we did!
Spectacular setting right on the shore with a Ricky Maine coastline behind it and a bay full of lobster boats in front of it.
The limited menu had just the right options. The lobster roll was the most inexpensive one we had seen and was delicious. Many folks were eating whole lobsters that were picked from a holding crate hoisted up from the bay by the kitchen staff. Fresh! The crab roll was delicious as was the snickerdoodle Whoopi pie. Food, price, ambience—- all perfect. We’d definitely go back. Wish we lived closer. Don’t miss this off-the-beaten-path gem!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank K9852IJpaulm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

a super great place to eat mine lobster!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! a little out of the way but worth the drive. food so good.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Food
Thank tangoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

At the end of Island Rd on Spruce Head Island south of Rockland, this is a very popular place for tourists from all over. It's right next to a lobster wharf on a working lobster harbor, a great place for photos of a beautiful area. Lobster's are great too!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped here for chance to eat fresh lobster on the coast of Maine and we were not disappointed! Outdoor seating only and your looking out over the bay. We ordered steamed clams, lobster roll and a steamed lobster. We watched him pull my lobster out of the water from a container on the side of the dock. The food was fresh, absolutely delicious and reasonably priced.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank 607allisons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McLoons Lobster Shack also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Northport, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to McLoons Lobster Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing