We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cavendish, Vermont
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We go to Portland quite often and have not stayed here before and even arriving early the front desk accommodated us. The hotel is conveniently located right next to the Maine Mall and a number of restaurants all around the mall area. We had a room with a king size bed and it was very clean. The room amenities were a large flat screen tv, microwave, refrigerator, ironing board w/iron and a hair dryer couldn't of asked for anything better than that. The hotel also offers a very nice breakfast in the morning. I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBG1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    243
    80
    45
    6
See reviews for
241
243
54
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wells, Maine
Level Contributor
225 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed here the night before our flight and they accommodated our car for the 10 days we were gone.The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was emaculate. When we arrived home, we called from the airport, they came and picked us up. When we got back to the hotel, our car was in front, a foot of snow was cleaned off it and it was running to warm it up. What a great thing for them to do. We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The hotel is within walking distance of the mall. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. The lobby is a great place to socialize if staying with a big group. We will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJR30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Maine
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Hampton Inn and would go there again. The breakfast is much better than most continental breakfasts they serve elsewhere. The room was nice -- comfortable bed, nice bathroom, large flat screen tv, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, ironing board and iron, heat and air temp controlled by you, ports for computer and they actually had plug-in ports for devices like tablets, etc. so that you could charge them. Very cool! The staff was great. Check-in and check-out was easy. The pool was a little smaller than I thought it would be but it was okay, just not warm enough. My only problem was with the whirlpool. It was really dirty and I complained to the front desk twice. I don't know if they took care of it or if they were just trying to appease me. They probably need more chlorine in the whirlpool because it looked like an accumulation of dirt from the guests, who should have washed off before they went in there. In any event, I hope this review helps to clean this whirlpool and keep it clean. That is my only complaint.

We would come back here again and again. Loved it! What a great find in South Portland. This was a getaway weekend for us -- we weren't using the airport but we came down from the coast of Maine just for a getaway for two nights. It's convenient to everything and very relaxing. Looks like the place has been remodeled lately -- there's nothing outdated at all as far as we were concerned.

Room Tip: Ask to get a spot away from the elevators unless you want to hear the bell going off. They give AARP...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portia82104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This hotel in Portland near the airport has always been a great choice. It's very clean, quiet, and comfortable. The location is great being so close to the airport and the mall. It is convenient having the free breakfast included. I have never used the pool or workout room. The heater/cooler is a bit loud, but easy to adjust to the temperature you want. There are lots of restaurants and shopping close by and also easy access to the highway for when you want to travel to surrounding towns. I usually go to Freeport to shop at LL Bean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Love to visit Hampton Inn in So Portland. Always go for winter visit to beaches and walks. Always bring our dog to the Hampton. People are very friendly. Hotel is always clean. Close to restaurants and shopping. But more so it's close to the ocean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Location is very close to Portland businesses, the Mall and restaurants. Breakfast staff treat you like family. Fitness center was clean, towels stocked, and equipment update and working. Only issue is the noise from the highway. Will bring a sound machine next time.Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
1.6 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
1.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 13 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#12 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Airport

Property: Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Address: 171 Philbrook Ave, South Portland, ME 04106-3208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Portland
#2 Family Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Airport Hotel South Portland
Hampton Inn South Portland
South Portland Hampton Inn
Portland Airport Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Portland Airport South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing