We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We booked here as we flew in late and planned to leave next morning to drive up the coast. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, spacious, and quite nice. The fitness room was beautifully equipped with new and excellent machines, good free weights, stability ball, mats, and other equipment. Well supplied with towels and water. The front desk will even give you headphones for the personal tv monitors on the cardio machines. A large indoor swimming pool is right next door.
The breakfast area is spacious and pleasant, and the breakfast variety is excellent and plentiful.
The inn even has a covered porch area in the back where you could have breakfast (or cocktails) if the weather is nice.
All in all, more than your basic motel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CamdenVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

662 - 668 of 843 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had an early flight out the following morning and found the Hampton Inn to be conveniently located. It is quite close to a large mall if you need to shop.
They graciously picked us up at the airport as we returned our rental car the night before we left.
Our room was clean, spacious and had more than adequate plug-ins for our phones, ipads, etc.
The shower was great.
We'd go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at this Hampton Inn for one night on June 21, 2013 after a very late arrival due to delayed flights. When we finally left the Portland Airport, we tried to find this hotel in the dark after midnight. We took a wrong turn and upon trying to get back called and spoke with the night front desk worker (I believe his name was Sergae). He was super helpful and stayed on the phone with us, giving us turn by turn directions until we walked in the front door. Sergae even found us a place to park even though the parking lot was extremely full. The hotel was very clean, quiet and restful. The continental breakfast was good although a little hard to find a seat due to being so busy. The beds were very comfortable and the room size was fine. We would definitely stay here again. It was very convenient to the airport and to Len & Libbey's Chocolatier in Scarborough, Maine. It was also easy to find the river front area of Portland. Had we not been tired and so late in arriving, it would not have been as hard to find. I hope we didn't get Sergae's name incorrect as he was very nice and extremely helpful and we appreciated him very much.

Room Tip: Very convenient to airport after seeing area in daylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The4travelersnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I got a room with two queens. They were pretty small looking queens, maybe they were standards? Even with the small beds, the room was pretty cramped. A bit dated. But clean. And ultimately comfortable. It's Maine in the summer, so the price was high for the room, but the Hampton downtown Portland was over $300 (with parking) a night, so it was a compromise. Location was good. Lobby and staff were helpful. All in all, a pretty good stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quicksilver99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have been coming to this Hampton Inn for the last five years and request the same room. We have never been disappointed. The room has always been well maintained and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast is great. Staff is friendly and professional. Great location, close to Portland. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank gardenrose15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for the Shipyard Old Port Half Marathon. The hotel is just minutes from the airport, and they offer a free shuttle. The hotel is also located across the parking lot from the Mall of Maine, a large shopping center, and several restaurants. It's about 10-15 minutes from the marina/downtown area. Not in a scenic locale, but convenient.

Free wifi in rooms, room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included - not extensive, but your usual hotel breakfast and plenty to get you started for the day. Fruit was left out all day for a snack, and there were fresh-baked cookies in the evening. Parking was free.

Staff was friendly and accommodating, including the shuttle driver.

Room was a bit expensive, though it is high season and there was high demand for the weekend of the race.

The only hitch was on the last day as I left for breakfast I discovered my room did not lock. I happened to try the handle after I closed the door and it opened right up. I was checking out after breakfast, so I was unaware that for the 2 days I was there, someone could have entered my room at any time. I told the front desk and they said they would take care of it right away, but if you are in room 312 - double check!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3RedDoxies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Spent another worthwhile overnight stay at a Hampton Inn. My wife and I are beginning to lean towards staying at Hampton Inns because of their proven track record of comfortable rooms, convenience, amenities, and substantial breakfast offerings. This one was pricier than most, but at the height of a busy summer season on the Maine coast, it has to be expected. What made this Hampton Inn a delight, was the added attraction of blueberries at breakfast. A great addition. Guests were using them on cold cereal, hot cereal, waffle batter and a host of other options. Kudos to the staff at this Hampton Inn! Other inns around the country should adapt this idea of showcasing a local product for which the state is famous.

Room Tip: Any room will do. There is ample sound-proofing throughout the building. We stayed next to the ven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FJDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#6 of 13 in South Portland
463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Portland Airport
Courtyard Portland Airport
#4 of 13 in South Portland
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,409 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
0.8 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#7 of 13 in South Portland
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Airport

Address: 171 Philbrook Ave, South Portland, ME 04106-3208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Portland
#2 Family Hotel in South Portland
Price Range: $82 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Airport Hotel South Portland
Hampton Inn South Portland
South Portland Hampton Inn
Portland Airport Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Portland Airport South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing