We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service in years”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Reviewed July 13, 2007

Will this was my second time staying at this hotel and my i say it was so wroth the 139 +tax i paid. i come to maine to see my family. this hotel has had some bad reviews in the past but since it become a Holiday Inn Express it has become so much better. The staff are so nice and the Frontdesk people were so nice and went and got me sheets when i needed some. they also get me some milk from the kitchen for my friends baby. they are the first hotel that i try to stay at. they has a nice little pool but and fitness center that could still use some work but other than that its better than the marriott next door to it. i got to meet the GM of the hotel and he was very friendly. this is a nice place for a family trip!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank madlatino2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 403 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2007

We stayed here for one night, 6-16-07. We had stayed at two other Holiday Inn Express properties on this trip and this one was definitely a rung or two below the other two.

The first negative was when we pulled up there were two police cars with their lights flashing. Never a good sign. It wasn't actually actually too bad- there had been some noisy, obnoxious young guests but they seemed to calm down after the visit from the police.

The main effect for us was a less than efficent check-in process. These things can't be helped at times, though.

The hotel was in basically good shape- although the elevators wee very slow the hallways need some maintenance as did our room.

It wasn't really bad but there were some noticeable wear on the carpets, etc. I found no holes in the wall or missing tiles as others have mentioned.

The biggest flaw in the room was the lack of any local phone books, booklet with the infornation on the hotel- times for breakfast, tv stations, etc- or any other information that you usually find in your hotel room.

The design of the room meant that the area where the desk and kitchenette area were did not get the full benefit of the air conditioner so it was a bit warmer there than where the bed was.

We did not eat breakfast there in the morning- but it looked like it was a well stocked breakfast room with many choices.

I spoke with the desk clerk as I checked out- no Express checkout as at the other holiday Inn Express motels we stayed at- and he explained that they had just recently changed over from an amerisuites and things were still being changed.

I'd say it's probably a good choice if they get their act together just a bit more.

Dennis

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wheland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2007

We stayed at this hotel on 6-18-07 and 6-20-07 and had two completely different experiences.
The hotel is about 3 minutes from the airport and has a free airport shuttle. Our flight to Portland on the 18th was delayed by 6 hours, so we didn't get in until 1:30am. We called for the shuttle and it didn't arrive until close to 2:00am, after we called three times.
We (literally) got the last room in the hotel and it was a King Suite that was on the 6th floor right next to the elevator. The room was disappointing, with a large hole directly above the headboard and several large scratches and dents in the furniture that caught on clothing and ripped it.
The worst part was that the bed looked as if the sheets hadn't been changed! There were visible small dark curly hairs on the sheets and the sheets were rumpled like they had been slept in. There was no mattress pad on the bed and there were large blood stains on the mattress.
We were so tired after flying from the west coast, that we just brushed off the bed and slept, trying not to think about what may be crawling in the bed.

We did complain in the morning and the front desk staff was shocked by our description of the room. They gave us a substantial discount on the room as well as three thousand priority reward points.

Our second stay was the night before our flight home and we had a much different experience. The room was on the third floor and while it still had a round hole in the wall, the room was clean, the sheets fresh with a pillowtop mattress pad. We felt much better about this stay.

During both visits, the front desk staff was very nice, always available and super helpful. Breakfast was good and food items were restocked frequently. Coffee was hot, strong and often replaced.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Iggipolka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2007

The Holiday Inn Express, South Portland is a newer property that is already showing wear and tear. Reasonably priced, and convenient to 95 and the airport.

Room was not as clean as I would have liked, but more spacious than many in its price range. Bathroom had a hole in the wall, missing a tile, and had crack in wall in tub. Remote was missing from the room, and I am still waiting for the replacement. You could do worse, but if you are expecting a new, clean property, you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2007

Everything was very high quality and clean. A step above the generic "suites/inns." We booked this because we needed a suite for us and two kids, and it was one of the cheapest in town. Pleasantly surprised to find everything business-travel quality.

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank NH-Traveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2007

Have stayed here twice. This hotel was pretty standard for an Amerisuites but has since renovated to Holiday Inn Express. Before the renovation (as Sable Oaks Suites) it still felt just like your standard Amerisuites, same breakfast offerings (eggs, donuts, bagels,fruit) and same amenities (fitness room, indoor pool)....nothing fancy, but decent. Now it looks much better, so this is a solid choice for outside Portland.

Stayed: May 2006
1  Thank fjnovak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2006

I stayed at the hotel using points before heading to Boston for a flight to Europe. I waited at the check in counter for 2-3 minutes before someone came out from the office to check me in. I am Platinum Elite and was given a room by the elevator which was extremely noisy until 11:00 P.M. so stay away from the elevators and ice machines. The rooms were very comfortable offering a workdesk, small sofa, & refrigerator. The bed was stiff but comfortable enough. The bathroom was small and dark but the shower spray volume was excellent. A/C was quiet and efficient. The hotel offered a good breakfast of all types of breads, cereals, hard boiled eggs, waffles, juices,whole fruits, coffee, tea and milk.If you don't like the breakfast offerings you can walk to the Marriott across the road for some serious breakfast offerings averiging $14.00 for the breakfast buffet. There is an indoor pool and fitness center. The hotel offers lots of free parking. Free shuttle service is offered to the mall and airport. The hotel is very convenient to the Portland Mall and Downtown Portland and the waterfront.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank spudpicker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
868 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#6 of 13 in South Portland
467 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Portland, Me
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
2.2 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,435 reviews
2.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland

Address: 303 Sable Oaks Dr, South Portland, ME 04106-3279
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Price Range: $98 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express South Portland Hotel at Sable Oaks. Renovated in June of 2006, we are updated to provide you with the best service!Hotel features include free local phone calls, free wireless Internet, pool and fitness center, and a complimentary Express Start Continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, hard boiled eggs, and yogurt. Recently we've introduced hot items such as sausage and eggs! We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Located conveniently next to the Maine Mall and only a short distance from the Freeport and Kittery outlet malls, the South Portland Holiday Inn Express is a great place to stay while you shop. Just two miles away from the Portland Jetport, our free shuttle will be there to pick you up and bring you directly to the hotel. Visit South Portland, Maine, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites South Portland
Holiday Inn Express South Portland
Holiday Inn South Portland
South Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing