We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Reviewed September 10, 2013

In Portland for a wedding, I was looking for a place to sleep that was cheap. No frills, just a clean place to lay my head. Well, I was quite surprised when I arrived! Was I expecting to walk into a room with a seperate kitchenette, a fully-equiped work desk and ergonomic chair, a deliciously fluffy bed, a flat-screen television, and a sparking and polished bathroom?

Ummm...no.

Simply put, this hotel is an amazing value with everything you need to make your visit comfortable, be it one night or many. Well done, Holiday Inn! You really threw me for a loop here!

(Actual Travel Date: May 2009)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 390 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

We saw this motel listing on my smart phone search and it was a good price and the location was good for us as it was right off the highway and it was time to stop for the day.. Holiday Inn Express are very consistently good places to stay. This was certainly was and the price was good so we stayed an extra night so we could go sightseeing in Maine.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LasVegasSylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It is a great location for shopping (the Maine Mall and Target) and if you want to do to Portland you just have to take the highway.( ~10 min.) We stayed 2 nights. WiFI signal not very got. (Not all bars depending which room you are in) Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Line L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a typical mid-range hotel. It was clean, comfortable stay for what you pay. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient. There is an Egg and I Restaurant adjacent to this hotel, something that made us stay here rather than other like-hotels in the area. Just fine for a night or two.

Room Tip: The room faces a main thoroughfare in the front and a highway in the back - I don't think it rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I'm not wild about chain hotels but this Holiday Inn surpassed all expectations. Online reservations were easy; front desk staff was efficient and pleasant; the entire facility was spotless; and the room ($170) was exactly as advertised: non-smoking and clean, right down to the bathroom that looked brand new. The room wasn't huge but comfortable and divided into five spaces: a sitting area with sofa and desk and a view of the TV; a mini-kitchen with small refrigerator; a bedroom alcove with king bed, ample pillows, and a view of the TV; a sink and vanity next to a large closet; and a two-piece bathroom. Park at the back entrance, it's a short walk to the elevator, past the pool and exercise room. And be sure to make time for the complimentary breakfast in the lobby - eggs, bacon, cereal, oatmeal, fruit, coffee. Located near the malls, it's easy to find, and we only heard two planes from the nearby airport. Definitely recommend this one!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanC106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Great location for shopping. We stayed 2 nights but feel it's a bit overpriced for what you get. The rooms were average, nothing special. The furniture in our room was run down, needs to be replaced. We were given a room on the 5th floor but had no wifi so they moved us so the 1st floor which was a run down room. The breakfast was included but very crowded and no seats and the food was so so, nothing special. The pool was closed due to electrical issues so we had to go across the street to the Marriott which was a HUGE inconvenience since this is one of the reasons we picked this hotel, for a pool. This is fine for a night or two but wouldn't plan an extended stay.

Room Tip: No wifi on 5th and 6th floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Cheryl N,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am happy you found our location convenient for your needs. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. However, We are regret you were not satisfied with the conditions of the room and internet service you received. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

We value you as a guest and we hope this incident will not deter from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had booked this hotel for our summer holidays. We were planning on staying there for 2 nights in August 2013. We have made our reservation more than 3 weeks prior to the stay. The day following the reservation we had a change of plans and had to cancel. We were refunded for 1 of the 2 nights only. After getting only half the refund I investigated to discover that the policy from this hotel was that you would be charged 1 night if you had to cancel no matter how long before the stay it was. As soon as you confirm the reservation you are in for a 1 night charge either you actually stay there or not.

I understand that cancelling a reservation may cause some problems and therefore incur some fees if it is cancelled very close to the actual stay date. As I mentionned previously, in our case we cancelled less than 24 hours after making the reservation and more than 3 weeks prior to the actual stay. I don't see how this could be of any problem for this hotel. We have made our reservation through www.reservationcounter.com

I have brought the issue to reservation counter as well as the management at the hotel. It has been 2 weeks since my contact and so far the hotel as yet adressed my concern and reservation counter as only sent me an email to aknowledge reception of my initial email.

Clearly, all of this is unacceptable. I feel like I'm being robbed. Why should I pay for something I do not use? If we would have cancelled with a very short delay I would 100% understand and would not make a fuss about it but in this case I feel strongly that it makes no sense.

I always felt like Holiday Inn was a respectable hotel chain but now I am really wondering where they are going with such business practices.

Do yourself some good and avoid this hotel at all cost!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Jonathan P,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our guest services.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you had with your reservation. Reservations made through third party sources have certain restrictions that can only be managed by the office where the reservation was made, as such, our hotel is unable to issue refunds or make modifications. We deeply regret the poor experience and service issues you have encountered.

Your experience is not reflective of the high standards that we pride ourselves with. We always aim to deliver world class service and with this in mind, your comments will certainly be looked into and improvements will be made where possible. We hope that despite your dissatisfaction, you will still give us a chance and allow us to redeem your faith in our award winning service.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#4 of 13 in South Portland
458 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
819 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#5 of 13 in South Portland
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
2.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#15 of 20 in Portland
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland

Address: 303 Sable Oaks Dr, South Portland, ME 04106-3279
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Price Range: $103 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express South Portland Hotel at Sable Oaks. Renovated in June of 2006, we are updated to provide you with the best service!Hotel features include free local phone calls, free wireless Internet, pool and fitness center, and a complimentary Express Start Continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, hard boiled eggs, and yogurt. Recently we've introduced hot items such as sausage and eggs! We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Located conveniently next to the Maine Mall and only a short distance from the Freeport and Kittery outlet malls, the South Portland Holiday Inn Express is a great place to stay while you shop. Just two miles away from the Portland Jetport, our free shuttle will be there to pick you up and bring you directly to the hotel. Visit South Portland, Maine, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites South Portland
Holiday Inn Express South Portland
Holiday Inn South Portland
South Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing