We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice - As Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Loudonville, New York
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice - As Expected”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were here for the night since we were attending a function near by. The hotel was as expected which is what we like about them. They are predictable. You usually get a nice clean room, good service from the staff you encounter, a decent free breakfast, and they are located near the things you need. While traveling we prefer a place like this one.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    132
    82
    46
    28
See reviews for
135
107
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2013

For a VERY reasonable price, this room was incredibly comfortable and spacious. With a separate living room and sleeping area, I could sit up and read for awhile while my poor tuckered out sweetie crashed right after dinner. It was much nicer to eat at an actual table, rather than in front of the TV hunched over an ottoman for once. My traveling companion had to be up very early for a meeting and was concerned because the washing up/sink area was positioned so that the light shone on the bed early in the morning. However, I can sleep through almost anything, so no problems for me. If you or your partner are a light sleeper though, and once gets up earlier than the other, it might be an issue. The TV was programmed to not allow me to connect my computer up, which was my only disappointment. Especially since there was nothing on TV the night we were there! Other than that, one of the nicer travel nights I've had recently.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quispamsis, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have stayed at this location on and off over the years. It has always been consistent, large comfortable rooms and a great hot breakfast. The pool is fairly typical and all that you need to keep the kids happy. Great location for the mall or the jet port.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlandBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here on our way home from NYC, and were not expecting such a large room. It was very comfortable and quiet, with a nice "sitting room" and kitchenette off the sleeping area. The breakfast contained many items and was very good. The breakfast area was more like a restaurant with very high ceilings. This is a very well kept hotel. If I must note something out of the ordinary, I did find it strange that the sink is not in the bathroom, but instead it's in the sleeping area, so anyone getting ready early in the morning would awaken those who want to sleep in. But other than that, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Rochester, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The exterior of the hotel and common areas appear to have been updated more recently. The room we stayed in was a bit tired and worn. There was lots of furniture in the room - sofa, club chair, another chair, desk and office chair, coffee table, etc. Fridge and microwave, old looking coffee maker as well as basic kitchenware - plates and utensils. Fairly clean tub. Newer vanity / sink area. Only real complaint was that the bed was very very firm and I didn't sleep very well on it (and neither did two other people staying at the hotel with us). A/C worked great. It was quiet inside and outside, as it is off a golf course. Never heard noises from other rooms or the hallway.

Staff was perfectly friendly and helpful. We didn't partake in the pool or hot breakfast, but both looked very standard. Parking lot fills up fast. Location is an easy drive from Portland and seconds away from the Maine mall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnkrkgrl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed overnight for business and I have to say it was wonderful. I was greeted by the front desk associate who was so friendly and efficient it just started my stay off great. The room was very clean, and didn't have any funny smells. Bed was nice and comfortable, room was very quiet. I couldn't figure how to turn the fan off in the morning ...operator error or broken who knows. I didn't have breakfast but it smelled good as I was walking thru the lobby to check out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mainegirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed here on the way to the airport. It was clean, but had a funny smell, like covered-up mildew. There were several cracks and dings in doors and counters, but nothing that got in the way. The bed was comfortable enough, not fantastic, but OK. it was quiet and huge. For anyone that wanted to stay longer, there was a nice kitchenette area with a counter, microwave and mini-fridge, and a sitting area with a couch and a couple of armchairs.

They provide bath soap, shampoo, and conditioner, and you can ask for a few other essentials, such as toothpaste.

Parking was good, and it's just five minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travveller95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear travveller95,

Thanks for your feedback about our property. It is nice to know that you found our location and parking convenient. However, I regret the dissatisfaction you may have had with the unusual scent in your room. Be confident that your notes will be shared with the staff involved in the processes for taking the appropriate actions to rectify this instance.

I sincerely hope the next time you are in the area you give our hotel another try.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 13 in South Portland
438 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
793 reviews
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#4 of 13 in South Portland
598 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
2.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 20 in Portland
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
Address: 303 Sable Oaks Dr, South Portland, ME 04106-3279
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express South Portland Hotel at Sable Oaks. Renovated in June of 2006, we are updated to provide you with the best service!Hotel features include free local phone calls, free wireless Internet, pool and fitness center, and a complimentary Express Start Continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, hard boiled eggs, and yogurt. Recently we've introduced hot items such as sausage and eggs! We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Located conveniently next to the Maine Mall and only a short distance from the Freeport and Kittery outlet malls, the South Portland Holiday Inn Express is a great place to stay while you shop. Just two miles away from the Portland Jetport, our free shuttle will be there to pick you up and bring you directly to the hotel. Visit South Portland, Maine, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites South Portland
Holiday Inn Express South Portland
Holiday Inn South Portland
South Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing