We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here for our Maine Marathon weekend. It was important to be able to relax before and after the race. At reception the staff were very friendly and opliging. Room was clean and comfortable so we had a great nights sleep before the big run and after the hot tub was sooooooo relaxing. With the price, location and comfort I recomend this hotel to any traveler looking for some quite time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 390 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Hotel sits up on a hill above route 95, convenient to the Maine Mall, the airport and routes into downtown Portland. We had a room on the top floor which was very quiet even though the hotel was full. The room had a fridge, microwave, dining table, dishes and a sofa. There was a 32" flat screen TV and the 2 double beds were very comfortable. The continental breakfast was served in the large lobby and was pretty standard, except for a pancake machine which spit out pancakes in about a minute. Mediocre pancakes, but the technology was interesting. The only problem was the smell. When we got off of the elevator, the hall smelled very stale, as if it had been a smoking floor at one time and they were trying to cover it up. (The hotel is non-smoking now.) The room had a similar smell, but not as strong. It was, however, strong enough to trigger my smoking allergies. When I mentioned this to the desk staff, they offered to send someone up to spray Fabreeze, but they did not offer a room transfer. The Fabreeze helped enough to get me through the night, but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jqpjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear jqpjr,

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you liked our hotel location and your room accommodation. We are always happy to provide consistently clean, comfortable and courteous place for our guest to stay. I am sorry to hear your experience was negatively affected by the stale smell you encountered. I apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort it may have caused you. Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Basic Holiday Inn Express. We had a clean and bright room. Free breakfast was good. Hotel was clean. Close to Maine Mall and jetport, not far from Cape Elizabeth beaches. Indoor pool could use some improvement, but overall, hotel is good..

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HartfordOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Group of us stayed here because of its convenient location after a wedding. The rooms were nice and spacious. Seemed clean. Tiny bathroom but not a big deal. I'd recommend this to anyone. However the continental breakfast was AWFUL... Don't count on it. Nothing was filled... Waited and waited for food to. Be restocked.. Juices were empty, cereals empty, no hot food just dishes. People were everywhere, soon crowded. Even if we had gotten food there's no where to sit. Very few tables. Luckily I snagged a bagel and headed home.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovethesea724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Lovethesea724,

Thank you for you review. I'm truly delighted you liked our convenient location and your room accommodations. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry that your stay was negatively affected by the breakfast service. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this Holiday Inn Express. Although it was nice, it was below normal Holiday Inn Express standards. The room was spacious and clean with a small refrigerator and a microwave and a sofa, chair and king bed. The breakfast was good and offered a variety of breakfast foods in a nice room. Several items were not replaced in the room and that's why I felt the service was below HIE standards.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGrandma10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This was a great stopover for us while visiting Maine. the room was spacious, clean and inviting. The breakfast was very good and served in a light and airy room! Would definitely stay here again since thelocation was so convenient to many of the places to visit in Maine.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank infla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We went there at the end of July with our 2 boys. We had a two bed suite and it consist in 2 double bed, a wet bar with microwave and fridge, a pull out couch and a table and chairs. The size of the bed was ridiculous and they don't offer queen size bed for their 2 bed roome. We ask for a crib and got a very disgusting play pen, it looked very dirty , there was no way I would let my baby sleep in that. The room itself is all right, clean but nothing special. The ac was really close to one of the bed and was pretty noisy. People at the front desk are friendly and the location is great, very close to restaurants and the South Portland mall. That was not our first time there and we will for sure go again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marine30606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#5 of 13 in South Portland
458 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
823 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#6 of 13 in South Portland
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
2.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#15 of 21 in Portland
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland

Address: 303 Sable Oaks Dr, South Portland, ME 04106-3279
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Price Range: $100 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express South Portland Hotel at Sable Oaks. Renovated in June of 2006, we are updated to provide you with the best service!Hotel features include free local phone calls, free wireless Internet, pool and fitness center, and a complimentary Express Start Continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, hard boiled eggs, and yogurt. Recently we've introduced hot items such as sausage and eggs! We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Located conveniently next to the Maine Mall and only a short distance from the Freeport and Kittery outlet malls, the South Portland Holiday Inn Express is a great place to stay while you shop. Just two miles away from the Portland Jetport, our free shuttle will be there to pick you up and bring you directly to the hotel. Visit South Portland, Maine, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites South Portland
Holiday Inn Express South Portland
Holiday Inn South Portland
South Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing