We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Good Value”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

July 24 -26 they accepted the room saver coupon $79/night. On the same day mid afternoon Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall would not accept their published coupon and wanted to charge $179.

Room Tip: Check out roomsaver.com or pick up same booklet from any McDonalds Resturant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quinnie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    130
    80
    45
    28
See reviews for
131
103
20
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed here one weekend to get away from the very hot weather.The check-in was good and we got a bag of goodies like candy, trail mix and microwave popcorn. Our room was a suite with a refrigerator and microwave, dishes and silverware, desk, and a nice sitting area. The sink was separate from the shower room. There was just one TV but it was viewable from the beds or the sofa. The room had free WiFi. There was a pretty good breakfast with fruit, cereal, pancakes, juice, coffee, etc. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean in in good repair. It's convenient to shopping and plenty of restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USAMaineTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I have been a Priority Club member since 2003 for frequent business travel. I have also had very good HI Express experiences in this area while lodging in Freeport, ME and Brunswick, ME for over 2 years. This hotel is the worst experience I have had at an IHG property and the customer service to follow my experience has also been non-existent. For starters, this particular HI is a rebadged Amerisuite property with only facade upgrades and a paint job. The rooms are dated and the bathrooms in need of updating. We had issues with the pool on Sat and Sun during our stay with no towels available for the duration. Calls to the front desk were fruitless. Not a huge issue here other than inconvenience and somewhat unprofessional appearance. We stayed one night and had a fire alarm go off at 3 AM with the hotel having to be evacuated. The "night manager" and I will use that term loosely looked as disheveled as the rest of us so I assume he was dead asleep when the alarm was sounded. He provided no guidance as he informed us that a "drunk guy pulled the alarm". My wife, 4 yr old daughter and I were up for an hour before the fire depratment was able to clear the hotel and instruct everyone back to their rooms. There was no attempt to extend breakfast the next morning and there were major backups for the tail end of breakfast with everyone rising late due to the events during the night. I booked the room on my points which happened to be the most costly room category for that weekend (25,000 pts). For the same amount we could have stayed in Portsmouth, NH or Newport, RI and I was disappointed with the value of the room. Multiple calls to the hotel manager have been ignored as he/she must do nothing but attend meetings for 2 straight weeks which is the excuse I am given. We then pursued compensation through Priority Club which at first informed us that the hotel would be in touch with us witihin 48 hours (never happened) and then promised us reimbursement of 5,000 PC points for the stay which we have yet to see. With the number of hotels and reward programs available it is disappointing to know that IHG has no interest in serving its loyal customers. I will not let one bad experience with a subpar property and unprofessional management ruin my opinion of IHG but they and you should be aware that this property is not representative of the quality I have come to expect from this company. Look elsewhere if staying in Portland area or book and hope that you don't need assistance from the staff or managament here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoex3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Portland hotels

Rothesay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Hotel is nice but needs a good cleaning.Hall carpets dirty and not vacuumed during are 3 night stay also pool and pool area dirty so we didn't use pool. Our room was clean and breakfast was very good. I expect cleaner halls and pool area for Holiday inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raydani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed for one night on a weekend at the beach. It was hard to find - can't imagine finding it without a GPS! But a quiet and serene location near a golf course and other hotels. Nothing really "right there" for dinner, drinks etc. but a short 15 min drive to Portland for a night out.
It was also a good location for beach goers. We spent the day at Old Orchard Beach - about a 15 min drive away. So we even got a late check out on Sunday, went to beach for couple of hours, then back to hotel to shower up and hit the road.
The hotel is nice, clean, bright, cheery. Staff were GREAT. Room was great as well with a small kitchenette. The pool was adequate (no hot tub) but good for a quick dip. Might be a bit deep for small children (3 ft at shallow end).
Overall a good spot - I would go back if I was going to hit the beach and head into Portland for a dinner out.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scooter44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This was the worst Holiday Inn ever. The front desk was not nice or helpful. This Holiday Inn has really gone down hill in the last year. The staff at the front desk, named Joe, was asleep standing up at 2:00 P. M.. I will never visit this place again. Too much money for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Turner0225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Checked in around 1:00 in the middle of the week to stay two nights. Got a Luke warm reception from the man at the front desk. Asked for higher level, got 6th floor, the highest. The room was amazing! Never stayed at any Holiday Inn before. Was pleasantly surprised. Got the large suit. Came with two double beds and a pull out couch. There were three of us, so it was perfect. We did notice the bathroom sink just outside the bathroom, which happens to be just in front of your bed. But that was great for us since there were three of us, when the bathroom was being used, we were able to use the sink without disturbing him. Fantastic view, no street or airport noise. Before heading out, noticed there was no bedding for the pull out bed. Called the same fellow and made a request. When we returned, there was no sign of bedding called front desk got a nice female desk person who seemed very pleasant. The bedding came immediately. My son decided to shower before dinner. The shower was backed up about a foot of water even before he entered. I'm certain the fellow knew about this. Called the nice lady downstairs. She said the engineer has gone home for the day and they were completely soldout. Sat for a minute while stairing at my son who couldn't shower. Fuming at this point. Called the front desk again demanding to change the room. She called back 3 minutes later and switched to a different room on the lowers level, which was equally nice. It was so perfect. The service after that was impeccable. The breakfast was pretty nice. The man running the breakfast was very efficient. The grocery store is right down the street. Very convenient location. Must try lobsters at My Three Sons. Overall, this Holiday Inn was very nice. I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veryfussycritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
2.2 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 13 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0.2 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#4 of 13 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
Address: 303 Sable Oaks Dr, South Portland, ME 04106-3279
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express South Portland Hotel at Sable Oaks. Renovated in June of 2006, we are updated to provide you with the best service!Hotel features include free local phone calls, free wireless Internet, pool and fitness center, and a complimentary Express Start Continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, hard boiled eggs, and yogurt. Recently we've introduced hot items such as sausage and eggs! We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Located conveniently next to the Maine Mall and only a short distance from the Freeport and Kittery outlet malls, the South Portland Holiday Inn Express is a great place to stay while you shop. Just two miles away from the Portland Jetport, our free shuttle will be there to pick you up and bring you directly to the hotel. Visit South Portland, Maine, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites South Portland
Holiday Inn Express South Portland
Holiday Inn South Portland
South Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing