We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, United States
1 review
“Room”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I found the room to be very nice. The desk chair was worn and needed to be replaced. The bed linen needed to be checked better. There where blood stains on the duvet. I would say the duvet was clean it was stains that didn't wash out.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rocky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were in Portland, Maine. While it was difficult to hear about the issues that arose in your room, I do appreciate you taking the time to evaluate us on what we can improve on. I will be sure to pass along your feedback to our housekeeping staff, so that we can make sure this type of situation does not happen in the future.

Thank you again for staying with us. Please know that our hotel values your feedback and your business and we look forward to seeing you again someday soon.

Warm Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    298
    188
    85
    41
See reviews for
259
265
59
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, ME, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Place is very old-looking and needs refurbishing badly - not nearly as nice as other Doubletrees but price just as high. Stayed here due to flight cancellation. We got an incorrect wake-up call at 4AM + at 8AM there was someone outside the door trying to get in multiple times. Ends up the hotel thought we had checked out (in the middle of the night??) and was trying to get in. They did give us free breakfast but too little, too late. What a bad experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our property from your most recent visit. I appreciate your feedback so we can learn what went well and more importantly what we can improve on.

I truly apologize for the missteps in our safety and security. I assure you though that your feedback provides us with tools that our property can use to provide a better experience for all of our guests.

Thank you again for staying with us. Please think of us again someday in the future.

All the best,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest
2 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2013

As a distressed passenger r/t winter storm, I needed to find a decent place to stay through the night. I am pleased that with the multiple options available I chose Doubletree. I had a room with 2 double beds and a great view of the surrounding area (did I mention it was snowing). The front desk was very helpful and both check in and out were very easy. The bathroom appeared to be a bit dated however everything worked properly and the lighting was adequate for my needs. I was very surprised to find that the hotel shuttle would transport me to different stores/places which worked out great for me to fit in some much needed Christmas shopping. I went from being distressed to de-stressed. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback from your most recent stay at our property. I'm happy to hear that during the stressful travel situation that you had, you were able to enjoy your time with us. Please think of our hotel in the future when you are in the Portland area!

All the best,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The staff were friendly, the facility was very clean. They provided a wake up call on time - 3AM, and the shuttle to the air port was warm and ready to go at 4AM. Upon arriving back in Maine, the shuttle arrived within 10 minutes of our call after picking up our baggage.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Portland, Maine and beyond! I'd be lying if I said I wasn't jealous about where you were going, but I'm happy to hear that everything went well while you were here with us. I will be sure to pass along your feedback to our entire staff. Thank you again for staying with us and think of us again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorndike, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Doubletree in Portland was great! We went on business and I had an issue that wasn't the fault of the hotel. The people behind the desk, especially Nicholas S., made the experience stress-free for me.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback from your most recent business trip to our hotel. I certainly appreciate you letting us know how everything went, and I'm always willing to assist with anything that I can. Hopefully in the future you won't encounter such an issue and you will think of us the next time you are in the area.

All the best,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This hotel on the outskirts of Portland is set opposite the Maine Mall and convenient for the Interstate. The hotel and rooms themselves feel a little tired, but it's good value and a cheap cab into Portland gives you the benefits of some great restaurants. Would definitely return but could do with a little attention from the Hilton brand.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with our property and for taking the time to evaluate us on what went well, and just as importantly what we can improve on.

With our building not being brand new as some others are in the area, our hotel has to continuously do renovations to upgrade the property. Our owner is committed to do this, which is great for our guests! We are currently working on our parking area and landscaping and we have future renovations planned to our guestrooms! Please continue to think of us while you are in the Portland area.

Warmest Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade Lakes, Maine
2 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Great place to stay prior to flying on vacation...Shuttle service is great and on time. Meals in the restaurant were very good and at reasonable prices. No need to wander around South Portland for a place to eat prior to your trip to the airport, this Double Tree has it all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jamesa761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us prior to your trip out of Portland, Maine. I'll happily pass along your comments to us van staff. With our hotel being less than two miles away from the airport, park and fly packages are always a popular option! I'm glad it worked for you, and I hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
779 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#6 of 13 in South Portland
427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#4 of 13 in South Portland
590 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Address: 363 Maine Mall Rd, South Portland, ME 04106-3214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated DoubleTree by Hilton® Portland Maine is ideally located just minutes from Portland's International Jetport, historic downtown Portland, and situated right next door to Maine's largest mall, The Maine Mall. Make yourself comfortable in our newly renovated guestrooms with thoughtful amenities including Sweet Dreams Beds, complimentary high-speed internet, and ergonomic workstations. Enjoy a dip in our refreshing indoor heated pool or get a great work out in our Fitness Room featuring Precor® exercise equipment. Stop by the Blue Wave Grille to enjoy a savory meal for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Unwind after a long day at our bar and lounge. Also, offering 10 versatile meeting spaces, on site catering, AV rental, and a devoted team, the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland Maine is the ideal space for your business meeting or event. We look forward to welcoming you to our property with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham South Portland
South Portland Wyndham
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Portland South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing