We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Florida Bound”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The staff were friendly, the facility was very clean. They provided a wake up call on time - 3AM, and the shuttle to the air port was warm and ready to go at 4AM. Upon arriving back in Maine, the shuttle arrived within 10 minutes of our call after picking up our baggage.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Portland, Maine and beyond! I'd be lying if I said I wasn't jealous about where you were going, but I'm happy to hear that everything went well while you were here with us. I will be sure to pass along your feedback to our entire staff. Thank you again for staying with us and think of us again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,009)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

766 - 772 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

Doubletree in Portland was great! We went on business and I had an issue that wasn't the fault of the hotel. The people behind the desk, especially Nicholas S., made the experience stress-free for me.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback from your most recent business trip to our hotel. I certainly appreciate you letting us know how everything went, and I'm always willing to assist with anything that I can. Hopefully in the future you won't encounter such an issue and you will think of us the next time you are in the area.

All the best,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This hotel on the outskirts of Portland is set opposite the Maine Mall and convenient for the Interstate. The hotel and rooms themselves feel a little tired, but it's good value and a cheap cab into Portland gives you the benefits of some great restaurants. Would definitely return but could do with a little attention from the Hilton brand.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with our property and for taking the time to evaluate us on what went well, and just as importantly what we can improve on.

With our building not being brand new as some others are in the area, our hotel has to continuously do renovations to upgrade the property. Our owner is committed to do this, which is great for our guests! We are currently working on our parking area and landscaping and we have future renovations planned to our guestrooms! Please continue to think of us while you are in the Portland area.

Warmest Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Great place to stay prior to flying on vacation...Shuttle service is great and on time. Meals in the restaurant were very good and at reasonable prices. No need to wander around South Portland for a place to eat prior to your trip to the airport, this Double Tree has it all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jamesa761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us prior to your trip out of Portland, Maine. I'll happily pass along your comments to us van staff. With our hotel being less than two miles away from the airport, park and fly packages are always a popular option! I'm glad it worked for you, and I hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Had to stay in the hotel for an insurance class - my room was very close to the class so very convenient, for the most part clean, and very comfortable. There was a loud family next to me on the second and third nights who constantly slammed the door, as they had two room so their kids and the parents were shouting back and forth and their baby was crying. Made it a little hard to study.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our property during your most recent visit. I'm glad to hear that your conference and stay with us went well. I certainly apologize for the noise level that was caused by other guests. In the future, don't hesitate to give the front desk a call to see if we can make it better!

All the best,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

People were very friendly and went out of their way to tend to needs and answer any questions. Staff were great - food was very good. I was there for a meeting and meeting rooms were very good - temperature control was a little problematic from time to time. Extras such as hot cider in the lobby and a welcoming cookie was a very nice touch!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Ingrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our property. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and most importantly that you received excellent service, I will be sure to make note to our banquets and maintenance staff to re-look at the thermostats in all of our meeting rooms. Especially with the upcoming season, this is always to review.
Thanks again for staying with us!

Best Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here on a Park and Fly. The shuttle to and from the airport was great! We stayed on our return from Costa Rica. When we arrived the staff was very helpful. The warm cookies were a nice treat. Hilton has purchased this hotel. They have done most of what they can easily do to update and make your stay comfortable. The building is of circular construction so the rooms are nice and large. The furnishings were very nice. The TV was the best I have had in a hotel to date. The bed was luxurious, clean and comfortable!!! The hotel shares parking lots with Cracker Barrel, great for breakfast and Chipotle's Mexican Grill. It is also a short walk to the Bangor Mall complete with Best Buy, Apple store and more....

The only negative is that the original construction, which is not easy to change is not Hilton standard. For example, the bathroom door is not wide, the baseboard and trim are older and not in keeping with their efforts to furnish the rooms. This is the nitty-gritty and wouldn't stop me from using this place again. Oddly there was an small appliance in the hallway to the elevator both at night when we arrived and in the morning. As the hallways are in the center of the circle and a little narrow this was awkward to step around. This is a neglect in their attention to detail.


Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisangeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for using our park and fly program during your recent visit to Portland. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and you found the hotel to be very service oriented and very clean.

I'd like to also let you know that we have future plans to our bathroom that will eliminate some of what you experienced. As we are with our parking lot right now, we are always looking for ways to improve.

Thank you again for choosing us. Please think of us again in the near future!

All the best,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
843 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,409 reviews
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#7 of 13 in South Portland
612 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland

Address: 363 Maine Mall Rd, South Portland, ME 04106-3214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range: $110 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated DoubleTree by Hilton® Portland Maine is ideally located just minutes from Portland's International Jetport, historic downtown Portland, and situated right next door to Maine's largest mall, The Maine Mall. Make yourself comfortable in our newly renovated guestrooms with thoughtful amenities including Sweet Dreams Beds, complimentary high-speed internet, and ergonomic workstations. Enjoy a dip in our refreshing indoor heated pool or get a great work out in our Fitness Room featuring Precor® exercise equipment. Stop by the Blue Wave Grille to enjoy a savory meal for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Unwind after a long day at our bar and lounge. Also, offering 10 versatile meeting spaces, on site catering, AV rental, and a devoted team, the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland Maine is the ideal space for your business meeting or event. We look forward to welcoming you to our property with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham South Portland
South Portland Wyndham
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Portland South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing