We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Fancy, but clean and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Portland, Me
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The staff is friendly and the hotel is close to the airport, shopping and several places to eat. If you are looking for cheap but clean, this fits the bill. Nothing fancy here, but if you want fancy, you should be staying in downtown Portland! I stayed here for a convention.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Portland, Me, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with our property while you were in Portland, Maine. I'm happy to hear that you thought the hotel was clean and comfortable and our staff was helpful to you.

Thank you again for choosing our property. Please think of us again in the future!
Best Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,028)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

804 - 810 of 1,028 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel rather than in the city because it was near the Maine Mall and we wanted to do some shopping while we were in the States. We'd just stayed at the Hilton at Boston Airport and it was quickly clear that it was a lower grade hotel than that one, not that we had any complaints about the building.

We were very pleased we chose this hotel rather than one in Portland as we noticed on our day trip that the city rapidly emptied around 5 p.m. which would have made walking around at night looking for restaurants an uncomfortable experience. There were plenty of restaurants by the Maine Mall, just a few minutes' walk away, which was very handy.

However, the staff did not always impress us with their knowledge. My husband had booked a package which included breakfast. When he asked what the breakfast would be e.g. buffet or a la carte, the receptionist on duty didn't know and made it clear it was difficult for her to find out. Really?

The swimming pool was on the chilly side which didn't stop us going in but would have made swimming a bit more enjoyable.

They had a Happy Hour from 5-6 but I have to say that the Chardonnay that I tried was not very nice, rather sour.

However, when I reported that there was a problem with the bath plug in our bathroom, they did send someone within the hour who fixed the problem. Weirdest bath plugs I've ever seen by the way.

The Irish Bell Captain was very helpful.

Also, they are doing building work around the hotel at the moment, building some sort of annexe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the building work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Portland, Me, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our property. I appreciate you letting us know what went well and more importantly what we can improve on.

You certainly bring up some very valid points, some of which require extra training and attention to detail. I will be sharing your feedback with our management team, so that we can improve in all of these areas.

I will also share your feedback with Carl our bellman. We certainly feel very lucky to have some of the great employees that work at the DoubleTree.

Thank you for staying with us, and please think of us during your next trip to Portland, Maine!

Best Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Like most DoubleTree Hotels, the reception area is open and welcoming. And yes, the cookies are always offered up on check-in. Staff have always been pleasant to us, and very efficient at the check-in/check-out process.

The hotel is built with two round towers connected by a central lobby. The Towers can feel a bit odd, as rooms are forced to be somewhat angled in shape. There's plenty of space in the room and they are comfortable. But our early stays involved some stubbing of toes not adjusting to angled bathroom doors for example.

While somewhat dated the building doesn't look ancient by any means. It is clean and kept well.

The restaurant provides decent service, and if it's not your taste you have plenty of options within a minute or two walk from the hotel.

We have a student attending the University of Southern Maine, and this has become our go to property for stays while visiting her in town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjwcpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Portland, Me, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your go to property while you travel to Portland, Maine. I appreciate you taking the time to evaluate us and let us know what went well as well as what we can improve on.

We are doing continuous updates to our property to make our hotel the best in the market! Please know that we will continue to improve, so you will be seeing a lot in the future.

Thank you again for staying with us.

All the best,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We arrived a little early for check in due to a afternoon weeding and needed to change clothes. Our rooms wre not clean yet due to late check out by prior guests. The front desk staff busted their @## to get at least one of the rooms cleaned so we could change and make our family wedding on time. And after doing that they apolagized for the rooms not being ready. They need to be commended on their above and beyond efforts.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Portland, Me, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were in Portland, Maine. I'm very happy to hear of the outstanding customer service that you received and I will be sure to pass along your feedback to our front office team. Please think of us again in the future!

Best Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

our hotel room was very nice but the toilets were too low. i have arthritis in my knees and i had trouble getting up. the restaurant was very good. the food was excellent. we really liked the chocolate chip cookies. the hotel is very convient to alot of stores. i'm glad you had handicap accessible bathrooms in the lobby. i would stay at doubletree next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Portland, Me, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at our property during your visit to Portland, Maine. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed the full scope of the facilities including our restaurant! I will also share your feedback on our toilets in the guest rooms. Please know that we have future renovations planned to our bathrooms, so stay tuned!

Warmest Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Accommodations were great. Staff was very friendly and willing to assist with directions to local sites. Only thing that would improve the stay would be if the room had portable refrigerators. Would definitely recommend this location to others!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Portland, Me, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with our property while you were in Portland, Maine. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and the staff was extra helpful while you were here. Please think of us again in the future!

Best,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Only 1 elevator worked during our 3 night stay. There were 52 people on our bus tour, another group arrived day 2 then another day 3. People were waiting up to 20 minutes- the average age of our group was over 60 and most couldn't walk up up to 7 flights of stairs. We walked up 5 flight of stairs one night since there were about 35 people ahead of us and it wasn't something we wanted to repeat. Also the hallway on our floor was filthy, the vending machines on our floor were empty and never refilled, and the vending area on our floor smelled foul. Our room was okay -the beds were comfortable and there was a comfortable sitting area but the bathroom could have used a deep cleaning.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank smithr180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Portland, Me, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for giving us your feedback from your recent visit with us. I appreciate you letting us know what areas our hotel can improve on so that we can get better for all of our guests.

I completely understand your concern and frustration with the elevator issue. We addressed this concern with our elevator company, so that we can correct this now and not have any further issues down the line. For safety reasons, we had to make the decision to wait until they fully cleared the issue.

I will also be addressing the cleanliness issues with our housekeeping staff. We certainly hold our standards very high, and I apologize for any issues that you had related with cleanliness.

Finally, I would like to thank you for staying with our property. I hope someday in the future you will choose us again whether with a group our just on a leisure tip of your own.

Warm Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
868 reviews
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0 mi away
Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area
Tru by Hilton Portland Airport A...
#9 of 13 in South Portland
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#7 of 13 in South Portland
617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Portland Airport
Courtyard Portland Airport
#5 of 13 in South Portland
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Portland, Me? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Portland, Me

Address: 363 Maine Mall Rd, South Portland, ME 04106-3214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range: $104 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Portland, Me 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated DoubleTree by Hilton® Portland Maine is ideally located just minutes from Portland's International Jetport, historic downtown Portland, and situated right next door to Maine's largest mall, The Maine Mall. Make yourself comfortable in our newly renovated guestrooms with thoughtful amenities including Sweet Dreams Beds, complimentary high-speed internet, and ergonomic workstations. Enjoy a dip in our refreshing indoor heated pool or get a great work out in our Fitness Room featuring Precor® exercise equipment. Stop by the Blue Wave Grille to enjoy a savory meal for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Unwind after a long day at our bar and lounge. Also, offering 10 versatile meeting spaces, on site catering, AV rental, and a devoted team, the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland Maine is the ideal space for your business meeting or event. We look forward to welcoming you to our property with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Portland, Me reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham South Portland
South Portland Wyndham
DoubleTree By Hilton Portland, Me South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing