We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very family friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Their non-smoking rooms smell like there is someone chain smoking in them 24hours a day. They post that they are family friendly but then they charge per night for cribs. I find this very off putting as a mom of a 9month old and 2 year old.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank SpringsSheehans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback from your most recent visit to our property. I appreciate you evaluating us to let us know where we can improve.

Our hotel looks to be the top in the market for both family and business travelers. We provide great options for both, with everything from an indoor pool and family friendly restaurant on site, to free internet/parking and business center services. I would also like to inform you that we do not charge for cribs, so if you think you were charged, please contact me directly to let me know.

I apologize for the experience that you had. Please feel free to reach out to me, so that I can make the next experience a better one.

Best,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,017)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

801 - 807 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have made a lot of mac and cheese in my day. The mac and cheese at the hotel was soooo good. i wish i could eat it every day. the hotel staff was also great and the room were surprisingly nice. the warm chocolate chip cookies were a nice touch

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank sarah4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you for choosing our property during your trip to Portland, Maine. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience and I've shared your thoughts with our Executive Chef. Perhaps the next time you come in you can meet him personally and he can share his secrets on the Mac and Cheese!

Thank you again for staying with us.

Warm Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Had reserved a King nonsmoking room, but when we arrived we were given a King smoking room which reeked of stale smoke. They said they had no more kings but would give us two doubles nonsmoking...and coupons for breakfast. This reservation was made more than 30 days inadvance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for your feedback from your recent visit to our property. I truly apologize for the experience that you had with us and I assure you that we will use your feedback as a tool to get better.

Our hotel is 100% non smoking. That being said there are times where guests choose to ignore that policy and unfortunately other guests and our property suffer as a result.

Once again I appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback. Please contact me directly in the future if there is anything else that I can do for you!

Warm Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The hotel accommodations were convenient since the conference was at this hotel but service was not that great and the rooms were not very clean, bathrooms had mildew in the grout and around the tops of the sink. Bar staff was helpful in getting us reservations outside of the hotel for dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your most recent visit to our property. While it is alarming for me to hear the feedback you have given, I appreciate you letting me know where we can improve.

Please allow me to apologize for any lack of cleanliness or service while you were here. Those areas are of the highest expectation for us, and hearing that we had difficulties in those areas is always challenging.

Please feel free to contact me directly to give me any more feedback. Thank you again for staying with us.

Warm Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Meets all the expectations of a three star hotel. The rooms are angled due to the circular shape of the buildings. This cuts down on bathroom space. We enjoyed the Hilton Honors breakfast and evening snacks and drinks. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. There are not many moderately priced hotels in South Portland this time of year so this is a bargain compared to the hotels in Old Port and Downtown Portland. If you need just a place to sleep - this is your hotel.

Room Tip: Any room is good. No noise penetrates the walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SacramentoJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for choosing our property during your visit to Portland, Maine. I'm happy to hear that your stay was a pleasant one, and that you found the hotel to be nice, comfortable and clean! Please think of us again during a future trip to this area.

Best Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Nice hotel and great staff. I like to stay in Doubletree's that have an executive lounge, as this one did. The lounge was open 24 hours for drinks, water, soda and juice - nice selection. The dinner was surprisingly good, sausage ravioli. The room was nicely appointed and bed comfortable, but I could hear the couple next door to me anytime they had a conversation. Luckily they went to bed early, but I can imagine it could get a little noisy. If in the area again I'd definitely stay here.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback from your recent visit. I appreciate you letting us know what went well, and also what can be improved upon.

I will be certain to pass along your feedback to our management team. We are making strides to reduce noise levels between our guest rooms.

All the best,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The walls in this hotel are paper thin. An individual was on the phone in the next room, and it was like he was in our room. While the hotel is clean and staff are friendly, I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback from your most recent stay with us. While the content of your feedback concerns me, I appreciate you letting me know so that I can know where we can improve.

I'm very sorry that you had that experience while you were here. I can assure you as a management team, the quietness and comfort of each guest is our priority. We will discuss your feedback in our upcoming meeting to see if we can find a solution to making it better for the future.

Thank you again for staying with us. I hope someday we see you again.

Best,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
849 reviews
2 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,418 reviews
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#6 of 13 in South Portland
612 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Portland Airport
Courtyard Portland Airport
#4 of 13 in South Portland
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland

Address: 363 Maine Mall Rd, South Portland, ME 04106-3214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range: $99 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated DoubleTree by Hilton® Portland Maine is ideally located just minutes from Portland's International Jetport, historic downtown Portland, and situated right next door to Maine's largest mall, The Maine Mall. Make yourself comfortable in our newly renovated guestrooms with thoughtful amenities including Sweet Dreams Beds, complimentary high-speed internet, and ergonomic workstations. Enjoy a dip in our refreshing indoor heated pool or get a great work out in our Fitness Room featuring Precor® exercise equipment. Stop by the Blue Wave Grille to enjoy a savory meal for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Unwind after a long day at our bar and lounge. Also, offering 10 versatile meeting spaces, on site catering, AV rental, and a devoted team, the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland Maine is the ideal space for your business meeting or event. We look forward to welcoming you to our property with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham South Portland
South Portland Wyndham
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Portland South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing