We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel on the edge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A hotel on the edge”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a decent hotel near the airport and convenient to the interstate. The staff was friendly and helpful. Why "on the edge"? The age and condition of the facilities and amenities may be on that edge where additional attention to maintenance is required. In our room, the coffee maker was defective and the hair drier intake was nearly clogged with lint. The shower curtain was mounted backwards. The TV channel guide was damaged and unreadable. All minor things, but a warning flag should go up for management.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jaydee46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your most recent visit to our property. Your feedback is extremely important to me in evaluating what we do well and more importantly what we can improve on.

I'd like to let you know that there are many future renovations planned both to the exterior of the building and the interior (bathrooms, carpets etc.). All of what you mentioned are easily correctible things, but certainly things that you the guest shouldn't have to deal with.

Please think of us again during a future visit to Portland, Maine. I can assure you that our property is continuously looking to improve. I hope the next time your experience will be even better!

Best,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    301
    190
    86
    41
See reviews for
267
267
59
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyrone, Georgia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

If you're looking to be close the the city, this is not the spot for you. It's a 15 minute ride in but I have to admit there never seems to be any traffic so it wasn't a big deal. Warm cookie on check in was a nice touch after a long trip. Unfortunately our room was on the highway side and that was pretty noisy. If you're a light sleeper ask for a room in the tower away from traffic noise. No safe in the room was a big surprise, we had to lock our laptops in our trunk each time we left. The room was clean, well serviced and the staff very responsive. This is more of a convention type hotel. If you're looking for romance, keep looking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts from your recent visit to our property. Feedback is essential from our guests in evaluating what we do well and more importantly what we need to improve on.
Our location isn't downtown, but we are centrally located to a lot of what this area has to offer and as you mentioned it is a very short trip to downtown Portland. While we don't have safes in every guest room, we do offer safety deposit boxes at our front desk. Something to think about for future visits!
Thank you once again for choosing our property. I look forward to seeing you again someday soon.

Warm Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spent seven nights traveling in Maine and this is the only hotel that disappointed us. It felt dated and in need of renovation. The bathroom was tiny and the bedding uncomfortable. The only thing good about it was it was next to Cracker Barrel where we could get an early breakfast and be on our way. We were sorry we did not stay in Old Portland.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Settled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with our property while you were in Portland, Maine. I'm very sorry to hear that your stay wasn't entirely pleasant. I will say that our hotel has many future renovations planned. Some of those include work to the exterior and grounds and in the near future there will be work to our bathrooms! Please think of us again the next time you are in the area and feel free to contact me directly.

Warm Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland ME, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My check in was for 3 pm. I arrived at 3 and was told there were no rooms available to come back in about 30 minutes. No sorry for the delay, can i hold your bags, nothing. There were a few other people in line waiting but two other people behind the counter were too involved with someone on the phone to assist. The room I did receive overlooked the highway and the it was all I could hear during the night. Great way to treat your Gold members.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Let me start by saying that I appreciate your loyalty to the Hilton brand and I truly apologize for the issues that arose during your last visit. Obviously your feedback is of great concern to me and as a member of our management team I will be addressing this with our front desk staff, I thank you for giving me the opportunity to hear your feedback and to make sure that I can address our staff on what we need to improve on. Thank you once again for choosing our property. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss anything further.

Best Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed here four nights in September 2013 on business. The hotel is a classic blend of airport/interstate interchange (and mall!) but does a pretty good job of keeping customers happy. I really enjoyed the catered food provided for our meetings (not sure if in house, or not). The hotel is standard for flight crews. My only gripe is the sound proofing of the windows and being at front of building got to enjoy the conversations of the smokers leaving the bar/lounge after midnight to revel in their intoxicated pontifications. So, ask for a room at the 'back' if you can, and higher up if possible. The hotel is 'double round' double tree, so rooms are 'pie shaped' and if near elevator hear a bit of noise. I wasn't bothered too much, but being in a wheelchair room, it can be annoying waiting for the door to open and close by itself.

Room Tip: Go high and at 'back of main building' to avoid elevator noise, as well as smoker conversati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLLtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing our property during your trip to Portland, Maine. It is always nice to hear what our hotel does well and it also helps to hear what we can improve on. I will be sure to pass along your feedback to our management team. Please think of us again during future trips to this area!

Best Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owls Head, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Poor security, poor attitude of front desk staff, noisy, parking facilities are bad, unable to get their act together for guest arrival. In general, a poorly run, tired old building that is a poor value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Retired0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback from your most recent visit. Your feedback is obviously greatly concerning to me, and I would love if you could follow up with me to give me more. Please know that we value all of our guests, especially our repeat ones! If there is anything further that I can do please don't hesitate to reach out to me.

Best,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Could hear everything through wall of adjoining room. Bathroom was tiny. Room was very tired and bed was rock hard. Good location next to mall. For 200.00 a night, I was hoping for more from doubletree. Had to move after one night to the Embassy.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjnang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our property from your last visit. I'm very sorry to hear that you had issues with your guestroom, and I have passed all of your feedback along to our management team. I have also reached out to you directly to let you know how I handled your guest bill for the issues that arose.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us.

Warm Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
793 reviews
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
2.0 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#6 of 13 in South Portland
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#4 of 13 in South Portland
599 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 20 in Portland
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Address: 363 Maine Mall Rd, South Portland, ME 04106-3214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated DoubleTree by Hilton® Portland Maine is ideally located just minutes from Portland's International Jetport, historic downtown Portland, and situated right next door to Maine's largest mall, The Maine Mall. Make yourself comfortable in our newly renovated guestrooms with thoughtful amenities including Sweet Dreams Beds, complimentary high-speed internet, and ergonomic workstations. Enjoy a dip in our refreshing indoor heated pool or get a great work out in our Fitness Room featuring Precor® exercise equipment. Stop by the Blue Wave Grille to enjoy a savory meal for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Unwind after a long day at our bar and lounge. Also, offering 10 versatile meeting spaces, on site catering, AV rental, and a devoted team, the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland Maine is the ideal space for your business meeting or event. We look forward to welcoming you to our property with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham South Portland
South Portland Wyndham
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Portland South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing