We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leisure trip to Portland, ME”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Overall quality was average. The location was across the street from the mall and convenient to target for anything you need. Only a couple of minutes from downtown Portland, and approx 15 minutes to Freeport where LLBean is. Staff is friendly, but the housekeeping was poor. Free internet access is limited. The walls to the room are thin, so you can hear whoever is next to you well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. While it is nice to hear that the service overall was pleasant, it was also alarming to hear that you did not receive proper housekeeping service. It is important to me that cleanliness and service are of the highest quality and I truly apologize for a lack in the housekeeping area. Feel free to contact me further to discuss more in detail. Thank you again for choosing our hotel. I look forward to hearing from you someday soon.

Warm Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

880 - 886 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a decent stay, check in was very fast and they gave us cookies which was cool. I went to the front desk for spoons and glasses and they were very prompt and helpful. Only issue was no free wifi, otherwise had a pleasant stay for a night being there for a wedding.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Ariana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Portland, Maine. I hope everything went well for all involved with the wedding that you were here for. I'm happy to hear that overall your stay was pleasant. I also wanted to inform you for future visits, our internet is complimentary. We have an option for turbo speed internet that we charge for, but all other internet is free, including wireless and in our business center! Thank you once again for staying with us.

Best Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The staff checking us in was cheerful and expressed a desire to be helpful and at our service.

The room was quiet and roomy with a comfortable king bed with a nice view of the area. The bathroom was OK with a very good shower over the tub.

We choose the hotel due to the location being very close to the Portland airport yet quiet away from the noise of the planes.

The hotel is located close the a very large shopping mall surrounded by strip centers with manr restaurants to choose from.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albertm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for staying with us during your trip to Portland, Maine. I'm very happy to hear that you chose our hotel as your destination close to the airport. It is also very nice to hear that the service level was up to the standards that we set forth for our staff. Thank you once again for staying with us. Please think of us again in the future!

Warm Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We arrived mid-afternoon and were greeted with warm cookies upon check-in. Rooms are relatively spacious and clean. The bath products smelled nice. There was a sign in the bathroom (as there are in all hotels) to throw towels on floor if need refreshing and keep on rack if OK. We kept leaving our towels on the hooks/ racks, yet they were refreshed every day. Felt very un-environmentally-friendly, despite our efforts to be green.
We left our blackberry charger at home and the front desk receptionist was able to get one for us quickly, which saved us a trip to BestBuy.
The hotel itself is about a 10min drive from downtown, but close to the highway. There was free parking but no free wifi.
There is also a pool at the hotel but we didn't get a chance to check it out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoratheExplorer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with our hotel on your visit to Portland, Maine. It is nice to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and that the service and cleanliness were to your liking. While we can never change our location, it is in a spot that has easy access to downtown and a lot of local attractions. I also wanted you to be aware that yes the hotel provides free parking and internet is also complimentary! There is an option for a turbo speed internet that costs money, but the rest of the internet is free. Thank you once again for staying with us. Please feel free to contact me directly the next time you are in the area.

Best Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

On our way to portland we grabbed one of those coupon books you get at rest stop. We never use them but this time we called hotel and asked if we could get room for 99 special. The clerk said there were only a few rooms available at that price but she did check and was able to give it to us for that price. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Room was clean, check out was at noon which is better than 11. Our coffee we ordered in the morning was late but the gentleman apologized. We did eat at the Blue Wave restaurant found the dinner to be reasonably priced and the steaks were good, staff friendly also. Thought this hotel was by the water but is not. We would stay there again for the price but normally it is over priced.

Room Tip: The 99 special is double beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drrWarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with our property during your trip to Portland, Maine. The coupon book is a great resource to find heavily discounted rates for same day bookings if the rate is available. It is nice to hear that this worked well for you and that you had an enjoyable visit.
While we can't change our location, we do have a lot of great things to offer nearby. The other great thing is that Portland is less than 10 minutes away!
Thank you again for staying with us!

Best Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I booked this hotel with priceline and I was very happy to discover it was a Doubletree. It was pretty affordable compared to other hotels in the area. Service was great. The rooms were just like you expect from a Doubletree hotel, very good, comfortable beds, nice bathroom. Our room was very clean! If you stay in Doubletrees you know breakfast is not included but they did have options which we found pretty expensive. Internet is slow unless you want to pay for an upgrade (free for at&t and hilton diamond members). Parking is free which is not the case in a lot of the hotels closer to downtown portland... so I was very happy. Pretty close to the main attractions but not walking distance. Across from the mall, who doesn't love the mall unless you are my husband! Overall very good stay. Love doubletrees, gotta love those cookies!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors have a good city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank partytravelexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for your feedback from your recent visit to the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland, Maine. It is very nice to hear that you enjoyed your visit, especially important to hear that the service was outstanding!
Please think of us during your future travels to the Portland area. Please feel free to contact me directly.

Warm Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Horrible!!! The hotel looked run down, but that's not my only complaint. Loud dogs may be in the room next to you even though you are paying for an executive suite! The breakfast was not all that great either. The executive lounge is well stocked if the front desk actually gives you the appropriate key card. My husband and I will not return to this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with our property during your visit to Portland, Maine.
I completely understand your frustration in regards to being next to a room with a pet, and please know that your feedback will be looked at directly by management team. As I'm sure you may be aware our pet policy states that under no circumstances can you leave the pet alone unattended in the room. Enforcing this policy is important to the hotel and in this case the hotel had to ask the guest to leave our property because the procedures that we laid out in advance were not followed.
It is also important to note that while the hotel can never have full control over a situation like this, we did compensate you for the inconvenience that it caused you.
Thank you once again for staying with our property.

Warm Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
851 reviews
2 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,419 reviews
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#6 of 13 in South Portland
613 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Portland Airport
Courtyard Portland Airport
#4 of 13 in South Portland
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland

Address: 363 Maine Mall Rd, South Portland, ME 04106-3214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range: $97 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated DoubleTree by Hilton® Portland Maine is ideally located just minutes from Portland's International Jetport, historic downtown Portland, and situated right next door to Maine's largest mall, The Maine Mall. Make yourself comfortable in our newly renovated guestrooms with thoughtful amenities including Sweet Dreams Beds, complimentary high-speed internet, and ergonomic workstations. Enjoy a dip in our refreshing indoor heated pool or get a great work out in our Fitness Room featuring Precor® exercise equipment. Stop by the Blue Wave Grille to enjoy a savory meal for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Unwind after a long day at our bar and lounge. Also, offering 10 versatile meeting spaces, on site catering, AV rental, and a devoted team, the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland Maine is the ideal space for your business meeting or event. We look forward to welcoming you to our property with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham South Portland
South Portland Wyndham
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Portland South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing