We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Portland Dbl Tree”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Fine hotel, though the lighting in the event rooms is somewhat out of date and minimal. The hotel staff is attentive, the restaurant service quick and the food very good, over all a great place to stay and convenient to both the highway and Airport.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Timothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for staying with our property during your visit to Portland. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us, and will be sure to share your feedback on the lighting with the rest of our management team. Please think of us in the future when you visit the Portland area!

Best Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (997)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

879 - 885 of 998 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

This facility hosts a great event for us every year. We are one of the companies hosting our clients, the event draws about 600 people and everything is always smooth, oderly, well priced, and have never had an issue.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for choosing our property for your business event! Our hotel is always excited to host large business events and it is nice to hear from our guests that they run as smoothly as we think they do. Please think of us in the future for business or leisure travel.

Warm Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great clean place to stay. Rooms are very comfortable and they give you warm cookies on your arrival. Beds are comfortable and nicely dressed. It's right next to a Cracker Barrel and across from the mall.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Thank you for staying with our property during your visit to Portland, Maine. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and will be sure to pass along the feedback to our staff. Please feel free to contact me directly during your next visit to the area!

Best Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last weekend. It is in a very convenient location. Very clean, staff is very friendly. Overall a great place to stay. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Prices are very reasonable if booked advanced purchase.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mimmo_TessNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for staying at our property last weekend. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. I'll be sure to pass along your feedback to our staff. I look forward to you staying with us again the next time you are in the Portland area. Please feel free to contact me directly.

Warm Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I've wanted to stay here since it was built years ago and had the chance this year. The design is unique and attractive from the outside. The lobby area is very nice and the receptionists are efficient and very pleasant. Overall the room was good, but a little noisy. We could hear people talking and television from the adjacent rooms and were near the HVAC system for the restaurant.
The bath area was clean but small and the closet made it difficult to get the bell trolly into the room. This was a factor of the unique round shape of the hotel. Once in the room it was comfortable with a work area and an easy chair to watch the flat screen TV. The bed was firm and not lumpy. We did not use the restaurant because there was a Cracker Barrel next to the hotel. All in all it was a pleasant experience, but there are other hotels in the area that might be a better value. Not necessarily less expensive but more modern.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yankee_Biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit to the Portland area. While our hotel has its older charm, we are constantly looking to make improvements to our product. In the past few years the hotel has undergone millions of dollars in renovations and more are scheduled for the future. Within the next few years we will be updating our bathrooms amongst other things to give us an edge over the competition. Keeping this in mind will hopefully attract you back to our property in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly the next time you visit.

Best Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

old but very well maintained.Staff was great ,bed was nice,room size was large,and very clean.every thing I needed ws near by.gold lounge in morning was very nice.don't forget the cookie .will be back

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thedipman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for your recent visit to the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland, Maine. While our property may be older, we have done a lot of recent renovations which it sounds like you may have noticed. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay though. I will be sure to pass along your feedback to our staff.

Warm Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed here for the indoor pool. Carpets in lobby and hallways were dirty, beds very uncomfortable. Pool was unimpressive and crowded. Hotel staff not friendly or welcoming. The only plus was the location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for staying at our property during your recent visit to Portland. While the contents of your feedback are of great concern to me, I appreciate you taking the time to let us know what we can improve on.
In our near future we will be replacing some of the carpeting in our public space as well as doing some other renovations. We are constantly looking to improve!
Thank you again for staying with us.

Warmest Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
823 reviews
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#5 of 13 in South Portland
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#6 of 13 in South Portland
608 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland

Address: 363 Maine Mall Rd, South Portland, ME 04106-3214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range: $121 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated DoubleTree by Hilton® Portland Maine is ideally located just minutes from Portland's International Jetport, historic downtown Portland, and situated right next door to Maine's largest mall, The Maine Mall. Make yourself comfortable in our newly renovated guestrooms with thoughtful amenities including Sweet Dreams Beds, complimentary high-speed internet, and ergonomic workstations. Enjoy a dip in our refreshing indoor heated pool or get a great work out in our Fitness Room featuring Precor® exercise equipment. Stop by the Blue Wave Grille to enjoy a savory meal for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Unwind after a long day at our bar and lounge. Also, offering 10 versatile meeting spaces, on site catering, AV rental, and a devoted team, the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland Maine is the ideal space for your business meeting or event. We look forward to welcoming you to our property with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham South Portland
South Portland Wyndham
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Portland South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing