We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
175 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Central location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Very Good nights sleep- very comfortable beds and modern feeling.
Location is very good and the Mall is basically right acrossed the street along with a Tim Hortons, McDonalds and Weathervane seafood restaurant

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickamc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    285
    178
    83
    41
See reviews for
245
253
52
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
238 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

From the phone to the check-in and our room, we were more than satisfied...we were delighted!
The front desk was very hospitable, receiving a hello from more than one person. We felt so welcomed. Warm cookies are absolutely delicious and over-the-top! The room was spacious, clean and comfortable! Towels were thick and plush!
Thank you, to all the staff (including behind the scenes, housekeeping, baker and maintainence) for a wonderful stay. We will return whenever our travels takes us there.

Room Tip: We booked our room through Travelocity's Top Secret Hotels! Terrific Value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fitz49525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Moderate hotel. Small rooms. Old bathrooms. Well out of downtown. And an amazing lack of room service. No food after 11pm and no take out delivery options.
There is a Starbucks within the building but I waited for 10min at an empty counter and no body came to serve me. I had to go to reception ad ask for help.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbburfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel and dining outlets. We've reviewed your feedback regarding our hours of service with our mangement team. Your input is greatly appreciated as we are continuing to try and improve on our product. Unfortunately due to somewhat limited demand, we haven't decided to change our dining hours. With your input, that could someday change. Thanks again for choosing our hotel. We look forward to another visit someday soon.

Best,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Hotel was comfortable (those beds! wow!!) and quite reasonably priced for the area.
Would recommend to anyone looking for a convenient place before flying out of Portland ~
Would have liked a continental breakfast, but that probably kept the price down compared to others in the area. Speaking of the area ~ although convenient to the airport ..... congested with malls, restaurants etc. Not my first choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uk4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel was not our first choice in Portland but it turned out as a really positive surprise.
We definitely would come back! People are very friendly, breakfast is yummi and the rooms are nice and very clean.
The round shape of the building is special.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annineu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just an average 2-1/2 to 3 star hotel. Not as good as a Hampton. No refrigerator. Very small bathroom. Clean. On check-in, front desk failed to tell us the room was in a different building. After we unloaded our luggage, we found out. Overall, not bad, just "meh".

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

THE PRO

I just want to start off by saying the staff was adequate. And the cookies the staff gave us was good.

THE CONS

The hotel room was another thing. The AC had a mind of it own. You can never set it on one temp and it was always going hot and cold. I just turned it off.

For a Hotel that is suppose to be high quality, it lack a Fridg, Microwave, and we had to call to remind that hotel staff to send a fridg that we paid for.

The Bathroom was small and a bit of joke. You could barely go to the bathroom without kicking your feet with the door.

I got this room on priceline.com for 83 dollars but if i had paid full price for this hotel I would have blasted this place from here to hell.

I think for the price they orginally advertising, you can easily do better with some one star hotels that are available. I am not joking. At least in some of these one star hotels you can get microwave, fridge, controlled AC, and you can buy yourself some good cookies with the savings in the process.

If you can get this hotel on Priceline or hotwire for 45 dollars than you are in business.

Room Tip: Anything but this place for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Landy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#4 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 12 in South Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Address: 363 Maine Mall Rd, South Portland, ME 04106-3214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated DoubleTree by Hilton® Portland Maine is ideally located just minutes from Portland's International Jetport, historic downtown Portland, and situated right next door to Maine's largest mall, The Maine Mall. Make yourself comfortable in our newly renovated guestrooms with thoughtful amenities including Sweet Dreams Beds, complimentary high-speed internet, and ergonomic workstations. Enjoy a dip in our refreshing indoor heated pool or get a great work out in our Fitness Room featuring Precor® exercise equipment. Stop by the Blue Wave Grille to enjoy a savory meal for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Unwind after a long day at our bar and lounge. Also, offering 10 versatile meeting spaces, on site catering, AV rental, and a devoted team, the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland Maine is the ideal space for your business meeting or event. We look forward to welcoming you to our property with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham South Portland
South Portland Wyndham
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Portland South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing