We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
MA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Ended up getting a great rate through hotwire. Location is great, not to far from beaches, plenty of restaurants around, and a huge mall across the street for rainy days. Room was spacious though could use updating. Wallpaper was peeling. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tennisplyr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    284
    178
    83
    40
See reviews for
244
250
51
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
172 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Arrived just as the power went down on the whole block. This was a true test of the professionalism of the staff, and they did a great job. Kept their cool, were as helpful as possible, and still got us checked in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeMfromWashDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I needed to go to Auburn, ME for business, and I scouted out the hotels near PWM. The hotel is a short drive from the Portland Jetport. The rooms are spacious and clean. I ordered room service and it was a very nice meal.

If I need to come up here again, I will hang my hat at the Doubletree.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miamiair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I don't like taking the time to write reviews but sometimes my experience with a hotel or restaurant is so overwhelmingly positive that I feel compelled to say something. This is the case with this property.

My husband and I were bumped from a flight and Delta put us up in this hotel overnight and gave us $60 in food vouchers that we could use at the hotel restaurant. The staff at the front desk was very courteous and professional. Our room was spacious and clean. It was updated with modern furniture and new carpeting and had a nice flat panel TV.

The most surprising and best part though was the food and service in the restaurant and bar where we used our food and beverage vouchers. The bartender, Paul, took our orders. He was prompt and really friendly. He made some good suggestions on wine that we followed and felt that he had steered us in the right direction. A little later a supervisor came over to our table to introduce herself. I wish that I could remember her name. She mentioned that she was new to the hotel and just wanted to make sure that we were doing okay. She was really friendly. My husband ordered a kind of seafood stew while I ordered the twin lobster tails. Both meals were delicious but my husband went further and said that it was the best meal that he had eaten on our 8 day vacation in Maine and Quebec. We ate at some great restaurants on this vacation so this was a huge compliment to the chef. We flagged him down as he was walking through the restaurant to let him know how much we enjoyed the meal and he was also very friendly (and modest). I know that I have used the word friendly a lot to describe the staff, but they really were friendly and when you are tired and have just been bumped from a flight it means a lot to have people treat you well.
The next morning the free shuttle left right on time and we headed back to the airport and home to Atlanta.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveljones7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed 3 nights end of July, and everything was just fine. This hotel is well situated in south Portland, close to shoppping,restaurants and about 10-15 minutes to the beach. In need of some updating sure why not, but it's not so dramatic. Find a good rate and it's a whole lot better than other places I've stayed in the area. The cookies are pretty good;

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
261 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Our assigned room had an antiseptic smell. We were told that there were no other rooms available. We were promised assistance, but unfortunately nothing happened. This hotel seemed very tired, and when we checked in late in the evening, there was minimal assistance, and not even one of the famous cookies (which are our favorites) usually offered to guests at the time of check-in.

Room Tip: Check in early if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thefriedlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Our first visit to Portland. Reqested room away from freeway.....where did they put us? In a room facing freeway and it smells musty and old!. Called front desk, told nothing else available. Then the a/c wasn't working. Sent someone to look at....able to get it running....NOISY TO SAY THE LEAST. Front desk told me it's because it's "energy efficient". My hubby and I are having a good laugh over that one! Oh well, it does drown out the car noise from the freeway! Cancelling the rest of our 4 day reservation and going to a Marriott property. For $236 a night I expect better service and a nicer room.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hornets1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#4 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Address: 363 Maine Mall Road, South Portland, ME 04106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated DoubleTree by Hilton® Portland Maine is ideally located just minutes from Portland's International Jetport, historic downtown Portland, and situated right next door to Maine's largest mall, The Maine Mall. Make yourself comfortable in our newly renovated guestrooms with thoughtful amenities including Sweet Dreams Beds, complimentary high-speed internet, and ergonomic workstations. Enjoy a dip in our refreshing indoor heated pool or get a great work out in our Fitness Room featuring Precor® exercise equipment. Stop by the Blue Wave Grille to enjoy a savory meal for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Unwind after a long day at our bar and lounge. Also, offering 10 versatile meeting spaces, on site catering, AV rental, and a devoted team, the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland Maine is the ideal space for your business meeting or event. We look forward to welcoming you to our property with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham South Portland
South Portland Wyndham
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Portland South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing