We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to a Hampton...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Portland, Me
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Horrible customer service....NO amenities.....you get a premium hotel price without any premium hotel services....seriously...go to a hampton....or even a Super 8...I will say the bed was VERY comfortable but otherwise this place falles well below other hotels

Room Tip: go anywhere but here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hiplain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,028)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

983 - 989 of 1,028 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

Hotel is in a great location for a work trip. Very close to restaurants and mall. The hotel staff were very nice, very helpful. I had trouble logging on to my Account to be credited for my stay and front desk staff helped. Also, front desk staff very accommodating for late checkout. The hotel room was adequate, air conditioning is loud. The bed was extremely comfortable. Stayed three nights and slept great. Also, hotel had HBO, a big plus in my book. A glass of wine at the bar was expensive, $9. But, there is a happy hour every day and prices are more reasonable for that.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farrell105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

this is a very old hotel. The bathroom was so small i had to leave the door open or i would have suffocated. i am not sure how i would have survived if i had been with another person. the room was tight, had no refrig or microwave for $200. i woud not go back here. The staff was nice and friendly they could not help that the hotel was old. The cleaning staff made up my bed and gave me new towels and left everything else a mess, no clean up nothing! i stay at hilton properities often and i would not go back here There was NO air condition in the hall ways so once you came out of the room with the small bathroom with no air vent or conditioner and loud small air conditioner that didn't cool the room sufficiently the hall way was brutual.
ugghhhhh never again at this hotel!

Room Tip: look around for a better hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gg7245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This hotel is a disgrace to the Doubletree and Hilton Brands. The website states that it has been modernized recently - what a joke. The rooms are horrible. You can barely walk into the bathroom - the toilet seat edge is about 6 inches from the door frame. The shower head is about five feet high if you can manage to even get into the shower. The air conditioning is noisy. The elevators are completely inadequate - you have to wait five minutes for them. They are also noisy and creeky. It hotel is also very expensive - stay at other nearby hotels.

Room Tip: not possible to choose a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The signature chocolate chip cookies were warm and tasty. The east tower room was much the same as the west tower room in which we stayed when the hotel was branded “Wyndham Portland Airport” except this time the door lock and coffee maker worked (although the entry area light did not). There were two queen beds with multiple pillows, a desk with chair, a small table with ice bucket, tongs, glasses, and a bottled water ($3.50 if you used it!), an upholstered chair and ottoman, and a dresser, the latter supporting a flat screen TV.
The hotel was switching over to hi def and we were advised (at check-in) that someone might need access to the room as part of the process, but we were never disturbed. There were cards on the desk to report an employee you caught doing a great job and a “report card” to rate your stay and make suggestions. The chain seems to have a genuine desire to provide superior service.
The bath was as small as we remembered but adequate and the usual soap, shampoo, conditioner and body lotion were found on the granite vanity. The room and bath were clean except for the grille on the exhaust fan, which had accumulated some dust. The A/C was set a little low but the in-room unit responded accurately to the wall-mounted thermostat, although it switched to heat briefly when we raised the temperature. Most of the time we were able to leave it off as the room only got morning sun.
The ice machine was three or four rooms away and worked fine. There was little noise except in the morning, after we had awakened, when we heard a conversation in the next room. The woman was apparently speaking on a cell phone and raising her voice to compensate for the connection. The in-room coffee (2 regular and 1 decaf) was OK but only non-dairy creamer was provided.
There are numerous stores (including the Maine Mall) and chain restaurants nearby. We didn’t eat in any of the latter, preferring to travel to the Old Port Tavern and Becky’s Diner (both excellent) for dinner and breakfast respectively.
We saw the hotel’s shuttle van (with cookie logo on the side) parked at the portico on a couple of occasions, and there were airline personnel waiting in the lobby at other times, so I believe a shuttle to airport (and perhaps other locations) is offered, but I’d check with the hotel directly to confirm if this amenity is important to you. We did not utilize the pool or exercise room.
Check-out was as smooth as check-in. The manager (or his assistant, I can’t remember which) was there in addition to the clerk, so when I turned in the “report card” from the room I also verbally told him about the light and the dusty grille. He seemed genuinely thankful to be informed of these easily remedied minor shortcomings and offered us additional chocolate chip cookies for the road.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gas_Geezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stopped at this great hotel for one night on a trip from Boston to Freeport, ME. While it's not the newest hotel in the chain, the rooms were comfy and the staff was great. Special kudos to Roland in the Executive Lounge who went out of his way to recommend restaurants, give directions and share his insights about the area. The two ladies who were there the next morning for breakfast were equally helpful. Gave us a great first impression of Maine.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This has to be one of the worst stays I have ever experienced in the Portland area. Check in was horrific the girl at the desk did the bare minimum. No friendly chitchat basically took my credit card and through the keys at me. We proceeded up to the room and opened the door to a thrown together room. The beds were made poorly, there was hair all over the bathroom floor, and one of the windows had a crack in it. Not very safe in my book that one of your floor to ceiling windows has a crack in it. Thank goodness I wasn't traveling with my three year old son. Anyways to sum up this rant, you can clearly see that I was very dissatisfied with my stay. Extremely poor service all around.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KRL0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
868 reviews
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0 mi away
Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area
Tru by Hilton Portland Airport A...
#9 of 13 in South Portland
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#7 of 13 in South Portland
617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Portland Airport
Courtyard Portland Airport
#4 of 13 in South Portland
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Portland, Me? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Portland, Me

Address: 363 Maine Mall Rd, South Portland, ME 04106-3214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range: $104 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Portland, Me 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated DoubleTree by Hilton® Portland Maine is ideally located just minutes from Portland's International Jetport, historic downtown Portland, and situated right next door to Maine's largest mall, The Maine Mall. Make yourself comfortable in our newly renovated guestrooms with thoughtful amenities including Sweet Dreams Beds, complimentary high-speed internet, and ergonomic workstations. Enjoy a dip in our refreshing indoor heated pool or get a great work out in our Fitness Room featuring Precor® exercise equipment. Stop by the Blue Wave Grille to enjoy a savory meal for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Unwind after a long day at our bar and lounge. Also, offering 10 versatile meeting spaces, on site catering, AV rental, and a devoted team, the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland Maine is the ideal space for your business meeting or event. We look forward to welcoming you to our property with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Portland, Me reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham South Portland
South Portland Wyndham
DoubleTree By Hilton Portland, Me South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing