We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average; a value for the price of the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We had actually made reservations at a different hotel only to find upon arrival that the pool was closed for renovations. We were thankful to find a room here even though we have stayed here before.

The lobby area is very welcoming and the staff quite cordial.

The room itself was on the small side, but cleaner than the last time we had visited. The bathroom very small. A larger person would have a difficult time moving around in there. (Literally would have to back up into the room and possibly step in the tub to close the door.) The bathroom was also quite clean.

The room got warm very quickly, as a matter of fact a little too warm so that even in a snow storm we had to open the window to circulate the air it was so stuffy sleeping was uncomfortable for that reason only.

The two beds were relatively firm for hotel mattresses and there were different types of pillows on each bed, fluffy puffy ones and some hypoallergenic ones. There were no stains on either of the mattresses.

The breakfast offered here is excellent. The room was always very clean, ample seating and a host/hostess attended to the food supply vigorously. The coffee was kept fresh. They provided little trays to carry items back and forth which was a helpful nice touch when trying to get breakfast for the kids could carry both at once. The fruit was very fresh and had a lot of choices to offer for both cereal and breads. A waffle center was also available.

The swimming pool is small and cold. The room is heated; not so sure about the pool :) The upside of the smaller pool, it only went to 5 feet depth and smaller children seemed more comfortable for that reason. The pool area was clean and an ample supply of towels.

The hotel itself is nicely located near the Maine Mall and Christmas tree shops not far in either direction. Lots of choices for dining. Chuckycheese is also located at the Maine Mall. Lots to do for all ages. Just not a first choice for us as a family of four for a multiple day stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jolimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,405 - 1,411 of 1,508 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2010

Not the first time we've stayed here. I reserved from Orbitz.com. I reserved a non-smoking room instead of smoking and they changed it for me, no problem. We went to see a friend playing in a band down town Portland and shopping for Christmas at the Mall. And just a suggestion, GEOCACHING locations are available in this area if you want something else to do with kids.

Oh continental breakfast includes customary breakfast beverages, cereal, bagels w/ cream cheese, english muffins, fruit and MAKE YOUR OWN WAFFLES, YUM.

Chilli's restaurant is right next to it. And there are many restaurants within half a mile.
Close to mall. You can't find more competitively priced lodging in this area. If you can find cheaper motels they're trashy.

Hi-speed Wi-Fi, TV+Remote, Ironing board+iron, hair dryer, shower w/ shower massage head with a dozen settings, and an in-room safe.. [VERY NICE]. Coffee maker with coffee and tea. Vending machines and ice machine. Bed was firm. Just nice. Has everything you need. So in theory you could travel with just your clothes w/o toiletries and they would have everything you need. (towels go without saying).

It was quiet the night we stayed. Sometimes if you stay (really anywhere) when the MDOT workers are in your motel you'll have to expect noise. But we've never had a problem with that here.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2010

We chose this hotel for the following reasons -
1) Park and Fly service. We were able to park our car here during a 3 day trip at a significant savings over airport parking rates. They took us to the airport for the flight out and picked us up when we returned. The Shuttle Service was prompt, friendly, and comfortable.
2) Reasonable Rates. Normally we choose more upscale accommodations. The length of our trip on this occasion made less expensive more attractive.
We found the room clean and the bed comfortable.
The staff was helpful and friendly.
The one complaint we had involved the breakfast.
The room included a breakfast which we weren't able to take advantage of due to the early hour of our flight. It would have been nice if there had been at least coffee, juice, and something simple (muffin, bagel, etc.) available before we left even though it was before usual breakfast service.
No frills but we thought overall it was a good value and met our needs well.
We'd stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKV123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Check in was simple and efficient. Our room was clean and neat. It was just a one night stay, but everything was excellent. The staff was knowledge and helpful. We had no issues during our stay at all. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moores630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

For starters the hotel is not worth more than US$ 40 a night (and we paid more than US$ 100!). Rooms are dark, old, dusty and moldy. Stains everywhere and the toilet is just disgusting. I´ m not sure if the beds had bed bugs because the room was too dark to see. I was felling ripped off already, but they work it out to provide me an even worse experience.

They just disrespected the most essential rule in business. You must deliver what you have sold! I paid more than a week in advance for a Queen bed NONsmoking room to make sure no matter what we would get one.

My wife is pregnant and the smell of many things, including cigarettes just make her sick and throw up. They put us in a smoking room! I went back immediately to the front desk requesting a room just like I paid for. There were four employees, including one in a suit that look like the manager, that were most rude and even aggressive. First they
started arguing the non smoking were not guaranteed. But I paid in advance I said. Then they said in a very rude way that I was making it up and that my purchase was of a smoking room. I immediately presented my printed receipt. They ignored it, took a 1 second look at the computer and told me that there was no more rooms and that´s it. I
kept complaining and they just told me to take the room and stop complaining.

Me and my wife were exhausted from driving all the way from Canada and we just gave up, slept with the windows open an awful night and left in the morning to never come back to this hotel or any other Days Inn.

Be aware. In half a mile range you have many other better hotels to choose from. Don´t settle for this place if it is not the LAST option available, and even so think twice!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gabcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

With shuttle service to PWM, a nice breakfast (waffles), and a convenience to the airport, this is a good stay for the start of a Maine vacation or if you are in South Portland.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Europhile62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We found ourselves in South Portland needing a room for the night. Went into Days Inn and the lobby looked renovated. Got a room for a good price. Wife and I went to the room and once we hit the hallway we knew trouble was coming. That musty smell in the hallway went right into the room. An old smoking room that had a musty, wet aire about it. The room had been renovated and looked OK including the bathroom but they probably needed to remove the ceiling tiles and rework the ventilation system too. Went back to front desk and they offered another room. We tried it and though it was not as strong an odor, we decided that a good night's sleep was unlikely. Went to the front desk again and requested a cancellation of our stay. The front desk people were gracious and friendly. Our credit card was not billed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ski&brew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
1.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 13 in South Portland
463 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in South Portland
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
849 reviews
2 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,418 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 21 in Portland
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall

Address: 461 Maine Mall Rd, Exit 45 I 95 Maine Mall Rd, South Portland, ME 04106-3214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Price Range: $67 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn South Portland Hotel South Portland
South Portland Days Inn
Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall South Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing