We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Denver,CO
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Satisfactory stay”
Reviewed June 1, 2010

The big plus for us was that they had an airport shuttle that ran at all hours. This is a budget property, but it was quite satisfactory. The room was clean and comfortable. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    408
    413
    208
    134
See reviews for
506
425
111
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2010

Those of us who travel a lot have a certain level of expectation when it comes to how we are treated when arriving to check in at a hotel. I was therefore shocked when I was treated more rudely by the young man at the front desk of the Days Inn in South Portland than I had ever been treated at any hotel. "Can I help you?" was the only complete sentence I got from this young man during my entire interaction with him, and even that was said while he was looking at a computer screen. From that point on, he simply mumbled one or two-word responses only - "Name?" "I.D.?" "Credit card?" He never looked at me, never welcomed me, never seemed even remotely interested in my business. When I asked about AAA, he simply took my card without even looking up or acknowledging me. Finally, after I got a sullen "sign here" and "license plate number here" from him, I said - "Do mean to say please?", to which he replied "You can give me orders all you want, I'm just doing my job."

Needless to say, I said a few choice words, tore up the sheet I was supposed to sign, and left. The Hampton Inn down the street was far more welcoming.

A complaint to Wyndham Hotel Group, which owns Days Inn, got a cursory email in response assuring me I'd get a call from the manager of the Day's inn in South Portland, but I have heard nothing. It is quite clear to me that neither the Days Inn, nor Wyndham Hotels are particularly interested in my business, so they will get none from me. I would recommend you avoid this hotel, especially with much better options available in South Portland.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stheemka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Portland hotels

Gander, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Stayed there while on a shopping trip with my sister and neice. We didn't pay much for the hotel so my expectations weren't very high. I was in for a pleasant surprise. It was a very clean place, the staff were very nice, complimentary breakfast was great and convenient. I always inspect beds at hotels and this was very clean. The mattresses actually looked new. You know how you never lie on bedspreads in a hotel? Well, every morning we saw the cleaners cleaning the rooms and they put all the bedspreads in a hamper for washing. They stripped everything off the beds. We were very impressed with the cleanliness. Also, location was perfect, just across the street from Maine Mall. Many shopping areas close by.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Sandy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2010

The Days inn was great for an extended stay. It is quite close to Maine Mall (practically across the street) and to many food/shopping places. We were there for 7 days and had no real issues. The staff was friendly, rooms were pretty clean, continental breakfast was great, and the shuttle to the airport was SUPER convenient, especially since it runs 24 hours a day. The price was not too bad and definitely worth the service. High chance I'll stay here again next visit.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermon, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Stayed at the Days Inn on our way to Boston, the price was $59 which was a great price! The rooms were a little dingy but okay, better than some i've stayed in! The pool was extremely small and pretty cold while we were there! The hot tub was nice though! The highlight is their breakfast which was great! They have a nice breakfast room upstairs and just about anything you would want for breakfast, waffles, cereal, bagels, toast, fruit, etc. Overall a good stay and we would stay there again without having to question it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aj21allstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2010

The accommodations were mediocre at best. Especially considering the $120 room rate

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howlandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skowhegan maine
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2010

I have stayed here several times during the year ...I live in maine and when i want to go to portland to shop or hang out i go here...It has a pool and a hot tub ...a great breakfast ..rooms are a little on the dated side but the beds are comfy enough .. can just walk over to chilis if you dont want to drive anywhere ...price is usually under 60...so cant complain about the price ...grandkids love the pool ...

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breingan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#6 of 13 in South Portland
422 reviews
1.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#12 of 19 in Portland
1,551 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,259 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall

Property: Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall
Address: 461 Maine Mall Rd, Exit 45 I 95 Maine Mall Rd, South Portland, ME 04106-3214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn South Portland Hotel South Portland
South Portland Days Inn
Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall South Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing