We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I used to like this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I used to stay in this hotel 6 or 8 nights a year. I always felt like I got a real value. Cheapest hotel in Souh Portland, and a fairly nice hotel. Not this time. The dumpster in the parking lot was overflowing. The hallway by the door I came in smelled of urine, of the 4 ice machines, 3 of them were out of order. The bed was like a rock, and the hallways were noisy. Breakfast is good and there is lots of room to sit up there, The staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldfriend36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,363 - 1,369 of 1,508 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2012

My husband & I stayed at the Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall on April 26, 2012. The hotel was clean and appeared to be well taken care of. The front desk staff was friendly and accommodating. My husband actually went to the front desk at 4:30am with a splitting head ache and the individual at the desk went through the first aid kit to find him pain reliever.
The continental breakfast was the typical continental breakfast you would expect, toast, cereal, coffee and juice. It would have been nice to see fresh fruit and an option for eggs or other protein items.
There were a couple of items that should be updated or upgraded at this specific location. 1) the TVs really should be updated like the majority of hotels. This establishment is still using analog televisions. 2) the gap at the bottom of the door let it quite a bit of light. My husband actually had to put a towel at the door because so much light was coming in 3) the blinds did not block out all the light from the parking lot. 3) the plumbing was not function well and the commode did not flush without having to hold down the handle.
Overall, I felt that considering what we paid for the hotel, it exceeded our expectations. I would not pay the advertised price on the door of $270/night.

Room Tip: ask for first floor, no nasty smoky smell like the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I stay here a few times a year. I have noticed that it is becoming alittle run down, but thats to be expected.. I like this hotel as it is close to everyting.. the mall, walmart, target, lots of resturants and easy access to the 95 and 295.. I will continue to stay here.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the rooms close to the front desk. Top or bottom. People are TOO loud when going to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

The hotel is not well maintained. Not only was our room dirty, with stuff dried on the walls, but the sheets were threadbare and the rooms had an oder. It is really loud and the beds are really uncomfortable. While the cost is low, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToddandTamaraP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Great location!! Rooms are clean, but very outdated and in need of renovations. Continental breakfast is not bad!! The staff were very nice!! We stayed here on the Easter weekend. We booked online and paid about $60.00. The room is not worth much more than that though!! You get what you pay for.

Canada

Room Tip: The king sized beds are very comfortable!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed on a Sunday night, and the room and hotel were very quiet. While it's wasn't the most elegant hotel we've ever stayed at, for the price we paid (Roomsaver coupon rate), it was fine. The beds were comfortable and clean, lots of hot water, and friendly staff. We didn't use the pool. I was a little disappointed in the breakfast, as everything was full of carbs - waffles, toast, bagels, cereal. There were no hard boiled eggs or yogurt, though there were several fresh fruit offerings. We'd stay at this hotel again, esp as a place to just sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Nice employees but after you check in everything goes down hill. This place needs to close and be decorated and cleaned including the parking lot.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gopaul66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
1.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 13 in South Portland
463 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in South Portland
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
849 reviews
2 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,418 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 21 in Portland
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall

Address: 461 Maine Mall Rd, Exit 45 I 95 Maine Mall Rd, South Portland, ME 04106-3214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Price Range: $67 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn South Portland Hotel South Portland
South Portland Days Inn
Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall South Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing