We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Jackson, MS
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Hotel is very close to the airport but that means it is a little further from town where the shopping and restaurants are. It was a $15-$20 cab ride to get to the commercial area. Check in was great. They do have free wireless internet in the room. They give you a code at check in. All they had left when I checked was a handicapped accessible room but it was fine. I had a nice big shower. The Bathroom could have been a little but cleaner. The Hotel Restaurant was very good. Order the Lobster Roll, delicious!! The bar/wait staff is very friendly. The seasonal Shipyard Pumpkin brew on tap was very good. The noise from staff in the hallway was on the loud side. There was a dropped mini-fridge that was causing all kinds of commotion and loud talking one morning. The staff door is constantly being open and slammed shut which echoes down the hallway. All doors seemed to shut very loudly and the walls were thin so you could hear everything. Another guest had a barking dog that barked everytime a door shut. I even sleep with a noise machine and it was still loud. Front desk recommended a trip to Fort Williams to see the lighthouse. It was a $30 cab ride but worth it. Beautiful scenery straight from a postcard. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krissa02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    225
    96
    43
    19
See reviews for
140
197
28
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

I stayed at the Marriott Sable Oaks for a weekend at the end of September for a business conference. The main areas of the hotel were very nice, the lobby, the bar area, the hallways and the conference rooms. They all looked to have been newly renovated. The guest rooms however were sub-par. The beds were only doubles where as I'm used to seeing queen beds. Besides the fact that they were smaller than usual they were hard as a rock. Some collegues of mine that were staying in a different room were so dissatisfied with the quality of the room that they complained and were moved to a different one. The food that was catered for our conference and meetings was good but when I ordered food from the bar it took a long time to get it and then it was cold. This hotel is very close to a mall and plenty of dining options though. I'd say most of the staff that I encountered was an 11 on scale of 1 to 10 in service, there was one particular fellow that was rude at best. All in all the hotel served it's purpose for the weekend and if I had a reason to come back to the area I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

We stayed here because the downtown hotels were just too pricey. This hotel is not inexpensive, but it is a god value for the area. Front desk staff very helpful. Waitstaff in restaurant could not have been nicer. The only down side is the airplanes landing and taking off at the nearby Jetport, But they start late enough to not run your night's sleep

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uncle Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

No major downside at this hotel. very good price for what is offered. concierge lounge is not great for size of this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank super66shazbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

What can I say, I get excited about this kind of stuff. :-) I've stayed in a number of Marriotts over the years, and although I really like the chain, one of my pet peeves is the lack of in-room wifi while the lower tier hotels do. This hotel surprisingly offered complimentary wifi in your room plus 4 desktops on their lobby if you didn't bring your laptop.

For $179/nt, 3 family members and I stayed here over the Labor Day weekend. I can't say if the rate is high or not, but we did get a lot of value out of it. Included in the rate were complimentary hot buffet breakfast for our group since I was a Marriott rewards member and their concierge lounge was closed over the weekend.

So the hotel isn't located in downtown Portland or in a charming fishing village. Big whoop. I didn't mind driving 10-15 minutes to Portland shops on Commercial Street or 30 minutes north to Freeport, or 30 minutes south to Kennebunkport. The weather was perfect, lobsters plentiful, and free-wifi at the Marriott. What else can a visitor ask for? Oh yeah, the folks at the Marriott were very nice and the beds super comfy as usual.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoubleD1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed here for two nights. The rooms were very nice, but they didn't have a mini-fridge. The drive to Old Port is really easy. I recommend staying here if you want to save a little money compared to staying in downtown Portland.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gameface23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americus, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Stayed here for business as I had an early morning flight from the Portland airport. Less than ten minutes from airport which was nice. Also close to a lot of restaurants, which made things easy.

I was a little surprised at how matter-of-fact and not friendly the front desk welcome was. At least she was prompt. When I was checking out at 4:30 AM, I had to go find the front desk gentleman (who was smoking outside and seemed inconvenienced by me).

The room was your standard Marriott room. Nothing special. They did offer free internet to me, rather than having me pay the $12.95 (or $13.95?) which was appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bienemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 13 in South Portland
438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
4.0 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Property: Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Address: 200 Sable Oaks Drive, South Portland, ME 04106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in South Portland
#4 Romantic Hotel in South Portland
#5 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our South Portland hotel's new and improved features include, newly renovated lobby complete with a business center, contemporary designed guest rooms with plush bedding, and new high speed in-room technology. We invite you to stay with us and enjoy swimming in our new heated indoor pool. Indulge all of your senses in our new restaurant and lounge. Meet, greet, and entertain in our spectacular grand ballrooms. Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is nestled on the hill of the scenic, yet modern, Sable Oaks community - just minutes from Portland Airport and historic downtown Portland. You will enjoy our location, including fine-dining and boutique shopping in the Old Port. Bring the family to the legendary Old Orchard Beach nearby and sight see at Portland Headlight historic lighthouse. Enjoy a sunset cruise on Casco Bay or visit Portland's own Museum of Art. Offering dynamic meeting space, business center, golf course, indoor pool, fitness center, and more, Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is the perfect location to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott At Sable Oaks Hotel South Portland
Marriott Hotel South Portland
Marriott South Portland
South Portland Marriott
Portland Marriott At Sable Oaks South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing