We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Airport(South Portland)(Great Value!)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Portland Airport(South Portland)(Great Value!)
$149
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(South Portland)
$130
$120
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$203
$194
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge Maine Mall(South Portland)
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Merry Manor Inn(South Portland)(Great Value!)
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Portland Airport(South Portland)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Motel(South Portland)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (645)
Filter reviews
645 results
Traveler rating
226
238
107
53
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
238
107
53
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe concierge loungefront deskhotel restaurantthe general managerbusiness parkold portclose to the airportbreakfast buffetfitness centerking bedbit datedminute driveconvenient locationcookiesindoor poolpalmerportland
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 645 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2016

This is a typical full service Marriott property of its vintage: Comfortable, good amenities, good service, with decor that's a bit dated but still clean and comfortable. Beds are comfortable (and not dated), hotel is quiet, location is in an office park close to the airport and the mall, but is surrounded by mature trees which give it a bit more tranquil setting than you might expect. Not my favorite place to stay in Portland (I prefer downtown), but I've stayed here several times when I've had an early flight or when rates downtown are too expensive. Service has been consistent and I've never had a bad experience.

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

I called asked to book a room and military also aaa discount. I had to have a badge not even my paperwork would help. My badge has been gone years ago !! So I said fine I'll put my brother on the room who is still active and is a 1st sargaent so I asked what that rate would be. She coped an attitude because I guess it was 2 much typing! I mentioned her attitude and apologized but I'm trying to get the best rate!! Her voice continued to be "putout" so I said nevermind I will look some where else and I would leave a note so nice comment
Booom hung up before I finished! Wow!!!! With there 4 star rating I'm flabbergasted!!!! Never never will recommend them ever again!!

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed_Palmer, General Manager at Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2016

Mark B., I am very sorry to hear of the issues that you experienced trying to make a reservation for this property. This handling of your reservation is not how this organization trains its reservation agents. It is not respectful to a war veteran, such as yourself. I will follow-up to the best of my ability to understand, who this agent was and follow-up with retraining. Thank you for your feedback. Best regards,
Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2016

The decor and rooms are on par with expectations you would have for a much lower end brand and certainly below expectations for the high price tag per night. Rooms are small and "musty". There is nothing but big box stores and chain restaurants in the area and getting to downtown portland takes about 20 minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goldper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed_Palmer, General Manager at Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2016

Goldper, Thank you for your feedback on your stay here at the Sable Oaks Marriott. I am very sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. I am also sorry that you felt we were over-priced. This is the time of year that our prices are elevated but guests find that this property has a lot of value for the price. Our room rate typically runs significantly lower than the downtown properties. We are located within one-half mile of the largest regional mall in the state of Maine. We have made arrangements with a local cab company to transport to Portland downtown for $15 each way. The ride typically is ten to fifteen minutes. We hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you again here in South Portland. Best regards, Ed Palmer general manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2016 via mobile

I didn't like this hotel. Very dated room, a low sealing gave it a dingy feel. However clean, which is most important ofcourse. There are double rooms, not queen sized, so take note. The receptionist was very helpful and offered us an extra bed, which helped. Breakfast was ok, rather pricey though. Nice and helpful staff.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank ferdalangur1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed_Palmer, General Manager at Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

ferdalangur1970, Thank you for your feedback on your impression of our property. Our ceiling height is a standard eight feet. I am sorry that made you feel that the room was dingy. I am happy to hear that you found your room clean and that our front desk staff were helpful and responsive to your needs. Our buffet breakfast is priced competitively to our local area. We hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you again in the future. Regards, Ed Palmer general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2016 via mobile

First construction is not complete. If the rooms have been renovated then they deteriorated quickly. Some of the staff were good. The good staff people did not make up for the other deficiencies. And no effort made for platinum members. Disappointing.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank MarylandMdtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed_Palmer, General Manager at Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

MarylandMdtravel, I am very sorry for your disappointment with our property. We are always in the process of improving our property. We had a complete renovation several years ago and since have done smaller projects on an as needed basis. I hope that you will give us an opportunity to serve you again in the future. Your Platinum loyalty to Marriott is greatly appreciated. Please call on me if I my assist you in the future. Regards, Ed Palmer general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews