We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place for a short stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“nice place for a short stop”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed only one night as a pit stop on our way further up the Maine coast. We didn't need anything extravagant - just a clean, comfortable room, some wifi and some room service. While a little pricey, we were satisfied with the hotel. It was easy to access from the interstate, the room was comfortable, the staff were very friendly.

While we did not use the pool or other amenities, the pool looked quite substantial. Even at 9pm there were lots of people, kids and adults, still using it. And despite the pool being located a short distance from our room's window, we could not hear anything.

The room service was quick and not too expensive. For those who want to eat away from the restaurant, there are a lot of restaurant options within a 5 minute drive.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    218
    90
    41
    19
See reviews for
134
185
28
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

I travel to Portland once every two months for the last several years. Have stayed at hotels in downtown Portland but service and price do not compete with this property just six miles away. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and quiet. Excellent breakfast. Lunch and Dinner are so-so. Easy access from nearby interstate to all Portland area attractions. Two miles from airport.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRAPE N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stayed here for a week as I was attending a meeting which was hosted at the hotel. The staff are friendly and the evening meals I had there were fine, breakfast was also ok. The hotel is dated and is due a refurbishment, i would expect more from a Marriott in terms of the standard of fittings etc.
The hotel is well located being close to the airport and the Maine Mall. Plenty of free parking outside.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed_Palmer, General Manager at Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
john a, Thank you for your feedback on your stay here with us here at Sable Oaks. Through comments from our best we hope to better serve our future guests. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our staff as they are our greatest asset. I am sorry to hear you felt the property was in need of renovation as we were completely renovated in 2009. I will share your thoughts with our ownership. We hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you here again sometime in the future. regards, Ed Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

The hotel was clean, well maintained and the staff was very friendly. Would definitely stay there again, easy on and off the hiway.

There is a charge for the wifi unless you are a Marriott member, but no charge for parking.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanukster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed_Palmer, General Manager at Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Kanukster, Thank you for your review. Your feedback is very important to us here at Sable Oaks. We are always looking for better ways to serve our current and future guests, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and our staff. We do offer two tiers of internet, one is free to guests and the other is charged a fee. We hope you will return to visit with us again in the very near future, Best regards, Ed Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Our stays have always been comfortable & satisfying. We've tried other hotels, but have come back to this property. The rooms are modern & comfortable, as is the facility. Tonight we discovered the restaurant is good (we have typically explored a number of Portland restaurants for lobster). Great alternative to downtown Portland.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth10024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Located about 10-15 minutes from downtown Portland, this hotel is a great deal if you don't need to be downtown. Our room was large, modern, and very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is right near shopping and restaurants, as well as close to the highway. For what you get for the price, it's a great deal close to Portland.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The hotel is located close to a major highway and is only about a 10 min drive to downtown Portland. So it's a very convenient location for anyone who is looking for a more affordable alternative to the hotels in downtown Portland but still want to experience what the downtown area has to offer. The room we had was decent but the a/c unit was very loud and the way the room was organized the a/c would blow directly in our faces when we are sleeping at night. We did have an issue one day when we returned from a day out. The door to our room was not closed all the way so we were able to push the door open without using the key card. The door does stick so the housekeeper probably didn't realize that the door didn't close all the way when he/she left the room. Thankfully all our belongings were still there but we were a little worried for about 10 mins while we carefully searched our room for any unwelcomed guests. We were going to leave a note for the housekeeper the next day to alert them of the door situation but the housekeepers were cleaning the rooms in the middle of the afternoon while we were in our room getting ready for dinner. They ended up leaving us a bag of towels and toiletries because we put up the privacy sign while we were were getting ready.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NOLAluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed_Palmer, General Manager at Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
NOLAluver NJ, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay with us here at Sable Oaks. It is through this type of feedback that we can provide better accommodations and service to our future guests. I am sorry that you found your door ajar upon returning to your guest room. At this time of year the humidity can cause the doors to swell slightly and not engage properly. We try to keep our staff cognizant of the clicking noise the lock will make when it engages properly. The bag of replacement supplies at your door is how we deliver these items when the do no disturb sign is present. I hope that these issues will not cause you to not visit us again here at Sable Oaks. Best regards, Ed Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#12 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Property: Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Address: 200 Sable Oaks Drive, South Portland, ME 04106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in South Portland
#4 Romantic Hotel in South Portland
#5 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our South Portland hotel's new and improved features include, newly renovated lobby complete with a business center, contemporary designed guest rooms with plush bedding, and new high speed in-room technology. We invite you to stay with us and enjoy swimming in our new heated indoor pool. Indulge all of your senses in our new restaurant and lounge. Meet, greet, and entertain in our spectacular grand ballrooms. Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is nestled on the hill of the scenic, yet modern, Sable Oaks community - just minutes from Portland Airport and historic downtown Portland. You will enjoy our location, including fine-dining and boutique shopping in the Old Port. Bring the family to the legendary Old Orchard Beach nearby and sight see at Portland Headlight historic lighthouse. Enjoy a sunset cruise on Casco Bay or visit Portland's own Museum of Art. Offering dynamic meeting space, business center, golf course, indoor pool, fitness center, and more, Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is the perfect location to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott At Sable Oaks Hotel South Portland
Marriott Hotel South Portland
Marriott South Portland
South Portland Marriott
Portland Marriott At Sable Oaks South Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing